We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Park View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
833Reviews
533Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 269
  • 213
  • 81
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
People who work here are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Dinner at the hotel’s restaurant was amazing. The hotel is well located in the village, close to shops and restaurants.

Our room had smell of mold. It was pretty cold there and they don’t have heaters.

Ove
Read more
Made out way from San Jose to Monteverde, booked rooms at this hotel and spa. Staff was friendly, rooms were basic but very clean, just what we needed for a stay that was busy. Checked in and was greeted with a refreshing drink and moist towel after a dusty last 10 mile drive.
Read more
Response from GuidoM1528, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Responded 2 days ago
we wish to thank you for your comments. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our services and the quality of stay we provide. We are always trying to find new ways to improve and with each renovation we become a better hotel. We hope your review will be helpful to other readers and we encourage them to contact us if they need to make a special request or if they have any hesitation about our property. We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest. Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food. After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour. Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed. We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments. Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica. Best regards and happy travels.
Read more
The drive to this hotel was insane, the roads were terrible.
Once we arrived, the front desk clerk was very kind and informative.
We had the room near the pool which had a small terrace and jacuzzi. Unfortunately after the first day, the jacuzzi stopped functioning. We called an
Read more
Response from GuidoM1528, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr/ Mrs. SS. Thank you for your review. Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco is a modern, well equipped place, being a down town hotel, we had choose to create a more dynamic, more outgoing facility, most of our guests enjoy the fact that they can easily access down town, bars, restaurants, shops, markets and more. Our added values: pool, garden, Jacuzzi, spa, etc create a more complete facility. We were working just before high season on some renovations: spa, rooms, restaurant, we are actually building a fire pit in our garden. It’s going to be a great place and guests will definitely enjoy to gather around that new area.. we have a small trail, lots of agriculture, places to seat and enjoy etc.. Our team always delivers the best service possible, we have great reviews about the quality of our service, the information provide and the warmth of our personnel. Costa Ricans are outgoing, friendly people and here in Monteverde we have been working for tourism for over 40 years. Let us be part of your next visit to CR.
Read more
I certainly don't feel that there was a sense of value offered: for 145 USD in Costa Rica I was definitely expecting more. The hotel is a betong complex and the room as a consequence, without any genuine detail to other comfort than a bed and a warm shower. There is no delight of
Read more
Response from GuidoM1528, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Lejina. Thank you for your words, our staff is indeed one of the most qualified and most attentative in Monteverde. We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments on this regard but really wish you could be a bit more objetive in terms of our services and facilities. Most of our former guests say totally different things abiut rooms, added values, food and more. Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco is the fist hotel with a/c, we have one of the only 3 pools available in Monteverde, jacuzzi, in-grouds spa, ( only 3 hotels have this) smart tvs, We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest. Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food. Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed. Best regards and happy travels.
Read more
Can't fault this hotel, rooms were beautiful and clean. Pool area and hot tub is lovely and covered so you can watch the rain while your in the hot tub. Staff are just so friendly and helpful and the breackfast was amazing. We were only here a couple of nights but would have stay
Read more
Response from GuidoM1528, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Mrs. Calicouk. we wish to thank you for your comments. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our services and the quality of stay we provide. We are always trying to find new ways to improve and with each renovation we become a better hotel. We hope your review will be helpful to other readers and we encourage them to contact us if they need to make a special request or if they have any hesitation about our property. We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest. Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food. After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour. Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed. We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments. Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica. Best regards and happy travels.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
The Quetzal King at the Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
The Quetzal Double Bed at the Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
The Bromelia at the Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View from deck at Poco a Poco
Photo provided by managementHotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Garden Family Room
Previous
When will the current construction works be finished.
Is the hotel still under construction?
Dear Mrs Paula. We are currently working on mainteniece, we have one area of the hptel with works, no front desk,or parking lot or pool involved, yet, works are being carried out...
0 votes
I've heard that there is no air conditioning here. Is that true?
Dear Christina, that is correct, Monteverde is located up 1.500 metres above sea level right at the continental divide. Its windy, much cooler and for years, there hasnt been a real need for A/C in rooms. Yet, let me tell you that due to global warming and climate change, it has gotten much more hotter up here,, ( sometimes of the year ) Hotel Poco a Poco is the first hotel with two deluxe rooms with air conditioned. Please send us an email with dates and number of guests.. and we´ll let you know rates and availability!!
0 votes
Show all answers
Do they have a fitness center? Does it have a bike?
No. Although they have signs of a fitness center posted throughout the hotel, there is no fitness center. They really need to remove that from the amenities because it’s false advertisement.
0 votes
Do you have an exercise bike in your fitness center? wendy
Previous
12
"Rooms are fine, common areas are much nicer but we could have WiFi from the room so we were ok. "
"view of the forest is great"
"Get as far away from the common areas as possible."
"we had the villa room facing the patio, it was quite spacious, with three beds, a lovely garden bathroom and beautiful views, it was worth the upgrade. Room had a safe and mini fridge, which was nice we picked up supplies at the local grocery; fruit, beer, snacks. Most excursions pick up right from this hotel; however we did not use since we had a car. "
"Don;t overlook rooves and the kitchen extraction unit"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 132 - US$ 289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel poco apoco a monteverde
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverdeSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing