We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monteverde Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Monteverde Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Nice clean rooms and the breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices. Stayed here as part of our tour and it was nice and basic. A 15 min walk to the main town all down hill getting there but a big trek coming back. Nice location for seeing the sunset and was surprised on how many people went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teulu_o_5
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Teulu_o_5, your comments about your stay at Monteverde Country lodge are well appreciated. As you mentioned in your review provinding great, friendly service and nice, clean accommodations are our top priorities here. Monteverde Country Lodge is located in a privileged area in which you can access everything (we are just a few minutes from town) but at the same... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Excellent location and services. The staff was very nice and quick to help since we arrive at the front desk. It was quiet and it had an amazing view. The facilities are well maintained, the restaurant offered a lot of options.

Helpful?
Thank AriCoto
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AriCoto, thank you so much for posting a positive review regarding your recent stay at Monteverde Country Lodge. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our location, restaurant and services. Monteverde Country Lodge maintains a traditional, cozy and quiet style. We are near town, accesible to entertainment, yet from our location you can breathe tranquility in a rural environment... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff were accommodating, polite, and very friendly. We arrived in mid morning and had arranged to do some sight seeing. The hotel staff allowed us to check in early so that we would be unpacked when we arrived back. The room was very clean. The hotel is eco-friendly and takes it serious. Glass cups to drink from etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yendani
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yendani, thank you so much for your kind comments and for sharing them with others, we understand a satisfied customer is the best business strategy, we try really hard to provide the best experience for our guests. We are so happy to hear that you were well taken care of by our friendly staff and that you enjoyed the... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We were late in making our reservations for our end of the year Costa Rica vacation and we had to book this hotel. After reading the reviews I was kind of prepared for the worst. But my husband and me were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was quite good, and surpassed our meagre expectations by a mile. We got a room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vaidehist
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear vaidehist, thank you so much for posting a positive review regarding your recent stay at Monteverde Country Lodge. As you mentioned in your comment we offer clean, comfortable rooms and beautiful well-kept gardens. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, we make sure it is healthy, fresh and delicious. We offer a good environment to... More 

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

While the room are not that great, felt a bit dated, the restaurant and staff were very helpful. I think the hotel needs to upgrade the rooms and amenities, restaurant, location, staff etc us all very good. All in all, a pleasant stay, we stayed for two nights and were satisfied with our stay here.

Helpful?
Thank summidada
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear summidada, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about Monteverde Country Lodge. We are glad to hear our staff took great care of you and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Monteverde Country Lodge is the one of the best hotels within the 3 star hotels in the area: our open areas, beautiful gardens and rooms... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The rooms were small and dated but very clean. I found this hotel a good base for the activities we planned. We ate a couple meals at the hotel and they were good. I had a filet mingon steak for 17.00 that was excellent. If you are going to spend the day in... More 

Helpful?
Thank debra957
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear debra957, your feedback about our hotel is highly appreciated. You are right when you mention our location is a good base for exploring the Rain Forest. It is a pleasure for our staff to help our guests organize excursions and tours around the area. Our menu is another one of our highlights, it features typical food and local ingredients,... More 

Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, the hotel has no noise barriers whatsoever. The first night we endured the thuds from the movement of the people (esp kids) in the room above. The hotel staff, who are very friendly and efficient, moved us thoughtfully to a section where couples stay. As our luck had it, the guy next door spent a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rvittal
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rvittal, thank you very much for your insight about Monteverde Country Lodge. We are glad our staff provided an efficient service, we will make sure to pass your compliments along to Karla. We apologize for the discomfort you may have felt regarding noise, we have been working in isolation issues and other details around the property, most of our... More 

Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2015

the room was boring. The garden was nice and the staff was kindly. If you want to walk to the village you have a large accliverty on your way back. If I would travel to Santa Elena again I would chose a hotel closer to the village.

Helpful?
Thank sydsverige
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sydsverige, thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay in Monteverde Country Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities. We cater for a relaxed, cozy, classic Monteverde ambience, spacious corridors, and comfortable rooms, gardens, fountains and lounge areas. Our staff is another one of our highlights, they are truly dedicated to provide exceptional service. We agree, our... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2015

My wife and I stayed in a standard lodge for 3 days with G Adventures on our Costa Rican explorer tour. The room was very basic and small without any of the usual creature comforts. We had a ground floor lodge and could hear every footstep from the people in the lodge above! the room was quite dark even with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Madapple13
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madapple13, thank you for taking your time to share your insight about your stay at Monteverde Country Lodge. We apologize for the discomfort the noise may have caused you, as you noted in your review, we have been working on some improvements all around our property, most of the isolation issues have been fixed. You are right about our... More 

Danville, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Tiny bath ,slippery shower, no soap, shampoo, hair dryer, thin towels and just one hand towel. No internet other than in the small reception area. The room feels like a cell. The window was above eve level so could not look out. Smelly pillows. Not impressed. It is plain and simpli a three star place, giving it more would be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Charan L
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charan L, thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We feel like there is a lot we could have done to make your experience better, please remember that waiting until you leave our premises or until you get home to complain is in no way beneficial or effective. It leaves us with no choice but to offer... More 

Travellers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
154 reviews
0.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
934 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.3 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: ₹ 4,867 - ₹ 8,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“as for a room closer to reception for good WiFi.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingmonkey89, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best to try somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles martingY4002VA, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second level are great. Nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles TeacherFreddie, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Any room will be fine...they are all in a cluster”
 of 5 bubbles donlewis1985, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is not in the rooms, but downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles musicsunset, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay