We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
300 Mts Sureste de la Escuela de Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
$88
View deal
eDreams
Priceline
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (261)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (18)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Santa Elena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Car hire
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
639Reviews10Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 235
  • 163
  • 74
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Estrella wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
This hotel has a lovely mountain lodge style to it. The rooms are simply decorated with wood furniture and a small tv. The shower is quite big and the bathroom had a small window for ventilation, which is needed being in the rainforest. The breakfast was very good with lots of different options and amongst the best breakfast we've had in Costa Rica. I would recommend their banana bread! We didn't stay for lunch or dinner in their restaurant as it was a bit expensive for what they were offering and there are great restaurants in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great area for a night walk Good and affordable restaurants in the area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast! We think is just the best way to start a day full of adventure in Monteverde. About our price rates, we usually never receive comments like this, in fact we offer several menu items for all our guests tastes, we use the best quality and most fresh ingredients in order to provide our guests the best culinary experience possible! Again, thank you, we hope you have a wonderful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elsa C wrote a review Jan 2023
9 contributions
The lodge is very well equiped and very charming, with beautiful little leisure areas integrated within the architecture. Breakfast is really good, buffet with lots of variety. Well located, just a walk to the center of Monteverde. The staff is very nice and helpfull, special thanks to Lidieth for the great tips on what to do, where to go to eat tradicional food and craft beer. We had lots of fun!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast! We think is just the best way to start a day full of adventure in Monteverde. You're right! Our hotel has just the perfect location! We are pretty close to several restaurants, souvenirs, tours, supermarkets and pharmacies. Also, we truly appreciate your good comments about our staff. Our highest priority is to provide the best service to all our guests. We hope you have a wonderful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R_B2022 wrote a review Dec 2022
San Jose, California3 contributions
We stayed here for a night and had a good experience. The property is clean and quiet. The verandahs are a great place to hang out and take the view / enjoy the weather. We particularly commend the service we received - Maria in the front office was very helpful in sorting out the couple of issue that we brought up. I recommend this property and staff to anyone visiting this area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 26 Dec 2022
We appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main objective is to make our guests feel relaxed and completely satisfied, while enjoying the beauty that Monteverde provides. Again, thank you for your time, we hope you have a wonderful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle P wrote a review Oct 2022
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina75 contributions58 helpful votes
Location is very relaxing and calm mountainous area. Approx a 20min walk to town for restaurants. Lodge has a restaurant and bar area, and a smokers area. All the gardens clean and well kept. Lodge is a older eco friendly lodge, rooms feel a cabin, rustic feel inside. Kinda reminded me of a motel due to the noise, thin walls, noise from other rooms. No heat or air condition in rooms, a good size. Our coffee pot outlet didn't work. We did have a small bag of coffee in a paper bag. Also I had ask for clean blankets due to someone else's hair being on them. Room is very damp, moldy smelling the entire stay, no dehumidifier, no ceiling fans, no air vent in any of rooms- bathroom. We kept windows cracked for air circulation. So far all my hotel rooms have been very expensive in a low cost area. You will pay USA prices. Im ok with that if the business is going to deliver awesome service and cleanliness. Choose wisely if your traveling in a touristy area. This room was booked by Gate 1 travel agency. Not a place I would choose for my family. Tip: bring warm clothes Food Happy Hour was decent, drinks where tasteful for price. USA prices for food, portions are a good size. They of course messed my order up, put mayonnaise on my chicken and beef nachos. When I complained about it took forever to come back to table to fix my meal. Breakfast- more beans rice, hotdogs, eggs, shredded chicken, veggies. Tips: take a taxi or walk downtown for food. Conclusion: I would not stay here again on my own terms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 28 Oct 2022
We are sorry you did not had the experience you expected. Most of our guests enjoy our cozy rooms, surrounded by gorgeous gardens, and spaces were you can relax after a day full of adrenaline in Monteverde. Also, about our restaurant, we never receive comments like these. Again, we are sorry, we would have been more than happy to help solve all of your inconveniences if told.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LadySanta wrote a review Sep 2022
Boston, Massachusetts16 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
I booked a tour with Globus and got stuck in room 24. Do you like being bombarded with Times-Square levels of noise? Do you appreciate stained linen and filthy floors? Is it important to you to avoid the most basic amenities, like a USB port for your phone? Do you want to spend time in a courtyard that reeks of cigars and marijuana? This is the place! Room 24 is right next to the extremely crowded and raucous restaurant, which has the worst acoustics imaginable. People stay there and shriek for hours. (There's a bar.) If, like me, you get splitting migraines, rest assured that you'll have one here. I asked the hotel clerk if I could change rooms, but the hotel was full. Why it was full, God only knows. The room is devoid of the basic things you'll get elsewhere in Costa Rica -- cleanliness, a place to plug in your phone, a comfortable bed. And definitely don't expect the things you get in nice hotels: a fridge, a pool, decor that's been updated in living memory. The bed seems to be the same tiny, cramped one I had as a college student decades ago. I avoided dinner because of the frankly jaw-dropping levels of noise coming from the restaurant. I might try the local restaurant De Lucia tomorrow night. This is the worst hotel I've been to since I got bedbugs in Toulon in 1988. If there were a public bus back to San José, I would take it, but there isn't, so I'm stuck here until Globus moves on. If I had a sleeping bag here, I'd go sleep in the jungle.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If somebody offers you room 24 or 25, RUN.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 30 Sep 2022
We appreciate you took the time to let us know about your stay. We are sorry you did not have a positive experience regarding your room, we usually never receive comments like this. We made it clearly in our webpage, we do not include a/c, mini refrigerator or a pool area. About the smoke, we always take care of situations like that, since we don't allow smoking in any of our rooms, shared areas or else. Maybe there was someone smoking outside our property. It's also crucial to mention that we constantly provide good maintenance of our rooms, spaces, in order to provide our guests the best experience possible while visiting us. We are sorry you did not see it that way. Again, thank you for your feedback, this helps us grow and provide a better service to our nexts guests. We hope you have a nice day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley Montgomery-Yates wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions
This is a lodge, small rooms, no air conditioning, no fridge, no microwave, lots of mistier and nothing has been upgraded lately. The grounds are lovely, but the rooms are very out dated. The breakfast included hot food every morning and the staff were very friendly. This hotel is also a little off the beaten path in Monteverde,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 5 Sep 2022
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you letting us know about your stay. It's important to know that we do not include air conditioning, fridge or microwave in our amenities, we made that clear in our website, we are sorry you did not see that. Usually we never receive comments like this, we actually keep a great maintenance in all our hotel rooms, we even changed all of our mattresses these couple last days, all of this in order to provide the best experience possible to our guests. Also, we appreciate your good comments about our garden areas, breakfast and staff! Have a wonderful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reign68 wrote a review Aug 2022
Rancho Cucamonga, California412 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
Stayed for 2 nights and it was a great place, location, quaint and quiet area . Love the mountain lodge effect of the woods around the hotel. The staff were really nice . The bed was comfortable but there was certain smell I can’t get off my nose in the room. Wet wood. It rains in area since it’s the cloud forest but overall it was a nice place. I hope they could elevate their breakfast menu like fresh omelet , waffles . Didn’t like the sausage it was bland .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had a great stay! We also love our warm ambience, surrounded by woods and a natural aura. We are sorry you had that inconvenience in your room, we will definitely check that out so it won't happen again. We hope you will come back soon, greetings from the Treebū Hotels family.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fossilprep wrote a review May 2022
Kissimmee, Florida135 contributions55 helpful votes
This was not my first choice hotel for Monteverdi, but I am very glad I stayed here! There are multiple buildings, I think all were 2 stories. The property is beautifully groomed with fountains and flowers. It is off the main drag, so there was less traffic noise. I am a hiker, and I discovered that this made a perfect starting point for many Monteverdi hikes. Local day and night tours are available. The hotel has a very good restaurant, the food was excellent, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Every morning, there was a raucous flock of keel billed toucans that made sure everybody was awake! This is a hidden gem that I was glad to discover.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try to avoid the buildings along the back of the property, there are homes with dogs tied up...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 31 May 2022
Good Morning fossilprep, we really appreciate your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed our natural open areas, were you can relax and truly connect with nature that Monteverde provides, including toucans! You're right! Our hotel has just the perfect location! We are pretty close to several restaurants, souvenirs, tours, supermarkets and pharmacies. We are pleased that you had a great time while visiting our restaurant. We offer different dishes in order to impart the best service and have a variety of options for all our guests, including vegetarian and vegan diets. Our highest priority is to provide the best service to all our guests! Again, thank you for taking your time telling us how your experience went! We definitely hope you will visit us again someday! Greetings from the family of Treebū Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norie S wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
The people were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfy, the food in the restaurant was delicious, the grounds were impecable, wifi worked all the time….what more could you want? We would surely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Hello nories2022, thank you for your feedback! Our main goal is to make sure you have the best experience possible while visiting Monteverde We are glad to be part of your vacation, and truly hope you'll visit us again soon! Greetings from Treebū Hotels family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thepostie2010 wrote a review Mar 2022
Barnstaple, United Kingdom872 contributions308 helpful votes
If you travel here crossing Lake Arenal you are in for real treat. The journey is amazing on this scenic stretch of massive water enroute to Monteverde and the Country Lodge. On arrival the lodge has a motel feel about it with its two storey buildings in the pleasing gardens. There are 36 classic rooms and 24 superior rooms. The superior rooms are nice enough but sadly have poor sound insulations qualities which a night can be real pain if you have noisy neighbours (and we did!). I assume the applies to the classic rooms too but the rooms were clean and had a very comfortable bed. On the up side the staff in the reception and restaurant were delightful. However, use of the pool and facilities at the sister hotel, Poca a Poca, just didn't happen! We were eventually informed that the other hotel was too busy to accommodate us. Our's was a breakfast only deal which was the high point of the stay here. Good food and service. But as we eat early we had choice of tables and enjoyed prompt service. However, with the breakfast rush the staff found it hard to cope. Given the range of other accommodation on offer in the vicinity the lodge lacks real character or atmosphere unlike the nearby cloud forest, which it has a backdrop, and is totally amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Hello thepostie2010, thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay! We are truly sorry for your inconvenience, we would have loved for you to tell us your concerns so we could do something about it. We are glad our service was delightful, we focus on providing the best experience possible while your visiting Monteverde. About the use of Poco a Poco's pool, we are sorry, sometimes our hotel is completely booked, and because of COVID-19 and our safety policies sometime, depending on our occupancy we can not allow our guests to use it as well, or it would be crowded. Our main objective is to make our guests feel relaxed and completely satisfied, while enjoying the beauty that Monteverde provides. Again, thank you for your time, we hope you have a wonderful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverdeSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MONTEVERDE COUNTRY LODGE (Costa Rica - Santa Elena) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Monteverde Country Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Monteverde Country Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas) (0.3 km), Valle Escondido Nature Reserve (0.3 km), and Ecological Sanctuary (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monteverde Country Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Monteverde Country Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Monteverde Country Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monteverde Country Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Sapo Restaurant & Bar, Farm to Table Escondido, and Choco Cafe Restaurant and Coffee Shop.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Monteverde Country Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Monteverde Country Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.