We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The beds are steady, the shower is hot and the rooms are clean. Breakfast is included, and the price is good for what you get and the WiFi is working good. Gaby was very helpfull. Booked a few tours through this hostel and everything was arranged very well. Best hostel I had so far in Costa Rica!

Helpful?
Thank Nanda S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend in the 4 person dorm. Was nice and roomy, had a place to lock up your stuff if desired and had comfortable bedding. The shower I tried to have was not hot (ice cold) but we were only there for a night so that did not bug me. Wifi worked great and the breakfast that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Horselover F
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I have really mixed feelings about this place. The accommodations are fine, showers are great, good wifi and you get free coffee and tea all day plus the kitchen is very neat. On the other hand the place has zero vibe, so if you are going by yourself I would not recommend this place. I know it's low season but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Talyballentine
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had a booking at Sloth for 2 nights, 4 people, and called on our way there to find out about the latest check in time, as we were driving through inclement weather. We were told it was 10pm the latest, and when the receptionist looked up our reservation, she told us that she did not even have our rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Endri H
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello We are sorry for all the inconvenience on this matter, however we waited for you untill pass 11 pm and you never show up. we kept your reservation for all the nights and you never show up. your reservation as booking.com says on the web, was a none refundable rate. all reservations made through an extranet, must be cancel... More 

QLD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Right in the centre, for $45 a night you can go wrong. We arrived late and the staff stayed up and helped us book activities for the next day! Comfortable room, few English speaking tv channels which is a nice comfort when you just want to switch off and relax, first hot shower I had in 5 weeks was here... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashelise703
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! pura Vida More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The crews treatment was ugly The crew use my groceries that I put in the public refrigerator for them self.. so poor There is no free breakfast , they just lay about it. For better trip, don't get near to this hostel Monteverda however is amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Yinonnishry
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello do not understand how a traveler thinks put things in the refrigerator without the name, which has no name in the refrigerator can be used by other guests, it's your fault not ours. Now your reservation is of a very low cost, you were the one who made your reservation without breakfast. Thank you More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The sloth Hostel is Amazing! Rooms are nice and clean. I loved the details with little sloths all over the place :) there is a kitchen that can be used which is really nice an clean! The staff was really helpful with tours and restaurants in the area. They also helped us for our further journey. Thanks so much! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jose P
HotelSloth5, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! when you want to return this is your home... :) Pura Vida More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had a really nice room and a nourishing breakfast. A really good environment away from the party atmosphere of other places. They were helpful about booking tours and also helped us figure out how to get on the bus we needed towards Nicaragua when the people at the actual bus station gave us incorrect information. I would've liked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank dustinaaronscharlach
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you as always we are glad to help in everything we can. we are willing to provide with the best service and a nice and quite atmosphere More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

A friend and I chose to stay here because of the other positive reviews and we are beyond pleased with our choice. We had paid for a private double, but the room had enough beds for 4 travelers. The room was clean, well lit and everything worked. The free breakfast in the morning is home made comida tipica. Muy delicioso.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tori S
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello hello Thank you for your review we are glad to know you have enjoy your stay with us More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The owner of the hostel really made our stay at Monteverde enjoyable. She helped us choose tours and create an itinerary since we only had one full day. My friend and I stayed in a private room with a bath and the room was impeccably clean with hot water. The room was also nicely decorated, which created a warm place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Burley333
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello there thank you for this nice review we are glad to know we are doing our job here More 

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
155 reviews
1.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.7 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
934 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
1,159 reviews
0.4 km away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: ₹ 1,439 - ₹ 4,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have 2 bunk beds so you have more space specially you're traveling with 4 single people”
 of 5 bubbles _ligayaginsburg, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the best rooms are in another hostel/hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 961kierann, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in a private triple room, it was great and very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Cy_roar, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 10 & 11 are the farthest away from the road. They have private baths. We were able to get wifi in room 10”
 of 5 bubbles DarDarTheRockStar, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Prefer to stay on first floor. Less traffic and they placed and extra router for wifi which works great now”
 of 5 bubbles 475stephana, 13 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay