Hotel El Sueño

Hotel El Sueño

Santa Elena Center 25 Meters Rast From Vitosi Pharmacy, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica
Traveller (18)
Bedroom with Queen bed and single bed
Room & Suite (43)
View from the lounge
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#8 of 9 hotels in Santa Elena
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel El Sueño is a family owned hotel in the center of Santa Elena, a small town next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Hotel el Sueño since April 2022 has been taken over a new administration improving the grounds and service . The new Spectacolar Cantina restaurant now serving from guests and visitors right in the heart of town. Competetive rates, amazing food and professional tour planning options on site. Travel experts with experience in Arenal and Tortuguero as well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Santa Elena Center 25 Meters Rast From Vitosi Pharmacy, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport
Tambor Airport
68.3 km
See all flights
185Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 63
  • 52
  • 15
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Arnaud M wrote a review Feb 2017
22 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
i went there twice for breakfast and got my omelet fix. the food isn't amazing but for the price it's more than decent and the staff is super friendly.

conveniently located in the center of town it's easy to walk or drive to and quiet in the morning if you are like me and want your breakfast undisturbed by other people.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: restaurant is a decent and very well priced soda.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connor S wrote a review Nov 2016
Detroit, Michigan13 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Traveled here with a few friends passing through Monteverde in November. The rooms were clean and the location was right in the middle of town, which we liked. We were on motorcycles and they had a secure, convenient place to park the bikes. Breakfast was good and it was across the street from a FANTASTIC coffee place (Beso Espresso).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If traveling on motorcycles, there is a great place to keep your bikes on the first floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StineMilla wrote a review May 2016
Drammen, Norway160 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in the center of this little pueblo, and the room we had had quite a lot of space, and good beds. The bathroom was so-so, but we had hot water, so we managed. There are no lockers to store your things in, which is a shame. And the noise from the street and the kitchen carried far, so for light sleepers it might be a problem.

There are several choices for breakfast, and we liked the food. Nothing extraordinary, but the price for the room and breakfast was really cheap, so I was happy.

The guy working in the reception spoke ok english, and was very helpful with booking tours, and giving us advise.
I would reccomend the place if you are looking for something cheap and convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isah wrote a review Jan 2023
El Paso, Texas21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean room, FANTASTIC staff, comfortable beds.
I will come here everytime; the staff were so patient, friendly, knowledgeable and kind hearted plus our rooms were clean.
There isn’t much fluff to the hotel, which helps keep the price low. I like that a lot.
Breakfast is included downstairs at Spectacolur.

For those new to Costa Rica this hotel does use the electric water heater for the shower so if you aren’t familiar you may have a cold shower the first day (or ask for assistance)
Also, please don’t flush your tissue in the toilet. Don’t worry, the staff empties the waste baskets daily
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No A/C here bc it’s not needed due to the cool mountain air that flows through the windows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LLL654321 wrote a review Mar 2014
Sudbury, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were travelling with a group of students and while one of the students was showering, the showerhead caught fire and filled the bathroom with smoke and then the room with smoke. No smoke detectors or alarms went off in the room or in the halls. Once the front desk was advised, they instructed us to time the water use to avoid the fire hazard. AFTER the thing caught fire!!!
The floors are warped, there is no hot water (so don't risk it), the wind noise was an issue, the only saving grace was the breakfast. I hope our tour organiser removes this hotel from their itinerary. Even on the cheap, you should have the basics covered.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Itravelight9 wrote a review Apr 2013
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Took a group of high school students from the United States on an educational tour of Costa Rica and this was one of our scheduled hotels, the location was close to our planned activities and they were reasonably priced. Upon arrival our rooms, the bathroom particularly was filthy and had a lingering septic smell, not a huge deal if you kept the door to the bathroom closed, woke up the next day to crying teenagers, five of the rooms had been broken into (including our tour directors room) sometime in the early morning while the kids were sleeping in the room!! and no signs of forced entry; strange... Passports, cell phones, money, cameras, etc. were taken. While I understand this could happen anywhere the owners couldn't have been more defensive- direct quote "how do we know you brought these things with you?" Last time I checked you cant get from America to Costa Rica without a passport, nor can you get a teen out of a house without a cellphone, by far the most ridiculous experience of my life, we had to call the police, on our phone and begin the investigation while the owners accused us of making it up (yes I spent all night plotting how to delay a day filled with zip lining and horseback riding to fill out police reports and go to the embassy with 35 hot, exhausted and now terrified teenagers) at the request of the owners all 40 of our suitcases were searched in the middle of the street! We immediately switched hotels, for your own safety, avoid this place like the plague!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueño
Responded 19 Apr 2013
Dear Itravelight9 we are sorry for all the trouble caused however after you and your group came back late a night from the bar, how can you blame us from your acts, doors were not forced, we have never had this issues here we dont want to say or mean to say is your fault for whatever you did that night but is hard to believe after a night of party and drinking you came up with this history thank you for your comments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sasha V wrote a review Feb 2017
ottawa, ontario21 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you have read some of my reviews, you know I'm not a picky traveller. This place gets 1 star for location and 1 star for the breakfast that is included. Other then that... Yikes!
Parking is included but it's impossible to get in and out of there. There are walls between rooms but there's might as well not be! They are paper thin and you hear everything. The floor is wood and it feels like you will fall through when you walk. The wind is sooooo strong there ( bring hot clothes) and it feels like the room is going to blow away. We were in room 17-18 and it's was bad. Anyways, it's cheap and Central. Cold showers and it's freezing out. The front desk guy was nice. Booked our excursions And sent our laundry that was promptly made for like 5 usd per grocery bag of clothes.
Enjoy your stay! ;)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Room 18 has a view but you won't sleep when it's windy. No joke.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heatherheather N wrote a review Jun 2016
Santa Ana, Costa Rica76 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Paper thin walls, noise from the restaurant below, snowy tv reception, no wifi in the room, lackluster breakfast. No milk for coffee and the waitress seemed put out when I asked for jelly for the bread. And the cute little bed bug sealed our disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexandre F wrote a review Feb 2015
Lausanne, Switzerland94 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is not very good, and I would also say bad value for money!

With a double insuite bedroom for 40 USD, you get a big room that fits 3, but when it's windy the whole wooden room moves and makes a terrible noise (same when people just wlak next to the room, TV does not work properly, and no hot water in the shower (even though it was supposed to be hot).

Find another hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Worldtraveler781 wrote a review Apr 2013
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to Costa Rica with a group of students from my school and a few other schools, and also chaperones. I was with the group mentioned in the comment below. Upon arrival, I immediately disliked the hotel. It was completely open to anyone. Also, the smell was absolutely horrible. After sleeping the night there, I woke up to my roommate telling us that our door was open and her belongings were open in the bathroom. After telling everyone, we found out we weren't the only ones who had been robbed. It was the worst experience I ever went through. Someone broke into our room while we were sleeping. It was absolutely disturbing. To the manager's response to the comment below: we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. There was no possible way for us to have made this up, or be the cause of this. Even the chaperones who are old enough to drink aren't that irresponsible to have been under the influence. Whoever did this had to know the hotel. The floors are extremely squeaky, and the doors couldn't be quietly forced open. Out of all hotels I've ever stayed at in other countries, this was the absolute worst. If anyone is planning to take a trip to Costa Rica, I would not recommend this hotel whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from rafa t, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Sueño
Responded 22 Apr 2013
thank you for your comments now I wonder this ( we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. ) I hope you were prying at the bar, and not driking doors were not forced and you claim you were robed early in the morning so the only way if you were robbed is that you left the doors open or there was nobody in the rooms and even so, we have never have this issues here. the hotel have been in business for over 15 years without having this troubles before thank you for your comments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from dariason
Rome, Italy2 contributions
Ciao !!!! Noi abbiamo organizzato le gite a Monteverde direttamente dall'hotel ....non dista più di 15 min . Per le altre puoi informarti tramite il proprietario dell'hotel, è un ragazzo molto disponibile e che usa internet. Per quanto riguarda gli spostamenti sono il grande neo del Costa Rica..... noi comunque abbiamo fatto lo stesso percorso al contrario dal Monteverde abbiamo preso un autobus che ci ha lasciato sull'interamericana , poi da lì un altro fino a Liberia e alla fine a Liberia una sorta di taxi fino a Tamarindo...( c'è anche la possibilità di prendere un altro bus anziché il taxi ma nel mio caso non c'erano coincidenze).
Isah wrote a tip Jan 2023
El Paso, Texas21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No A/C here bc it’s not needed due to the cool mountain air that flows through the windows"
Read full review
MrHistory1964 wrote a tip Apr 2018
Linden, New Jersey22 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotels great location is its best feature"
Read full review
lorinman wrote a tip Apr 2017
San Diego, California4 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the bed before you accept the room."
Read full review
Arnaud M wrote a tip Feb 2017
22 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"restaurant is a decent and very well priced soda."
Read full review
Sasha V wrote a tip Feb 2017
ottawa, ontario21 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 18 has a view but you won't sleep when it's windy. No joke."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Elena area.
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverdeSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL EL SUEÑO (Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena) - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel El Sueño
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel El Sueño?
Nearby attractions include Ferlander Arguedas Studio & Art Gallery (0.1 km), Monteverde Orchid Garden (0.1 km), and Ranario Monteverde Frog Pond (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel El Sueño?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel El Sueño?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel El Sueño?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel El Sueño?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rest. La Soda Coati, Mar y Tierra, and The Green Restaurant.
Is Hotel El Sueño located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Santa Elena.
Are pets allowed at Hotel El Sueño?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel El Sueño?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Santa Elena HotelsSanta Elena Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa ElenaHotels near Hotel El Sueño
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire