We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Sky Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Sky Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Sky Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small beach front private property and it's a two minutes walk to the best and safest beach in the area. Staff is really helpful and you will get the basic amenities for a outdoor beach lover. Please be mindful as they might not provide lunch and dinner on off season, but staff is kind enough to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VichyJay
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exceptional location.kind staff.the property is on the beach.There is plenty restaurants .in the corner the is a lagoon with protect by reef.the snorkeling is great.people can see tourtles in the lagoon. Recommend for the beach lovers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank senehaguna
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Stayed for 2 days and had such lovely evenings.This hotel is right at the beach shore and 5 minutes walking on sand we reached at a lagoon type area where everyone was enjoying a beach bath. Lots and lots of restaurants which one could hop on whenever want a bite.We had breakfast here and it was lovely. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rashmi R
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

It's a small hotel right on the main road. Had booked the place after reading reviews that it has a lovely beach but we had a disappointing experience. Yes it is right on the beach but people forgot to mention that the beach is dirty. After a couple of minutes walk you can access a lagoon but that is generally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krpravesh
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello first of all thanks for the comment.if you read the reviews you should know about the property.we have put some photos also in the TripAdvisor.yes we are close to beach and road too.it is how we located.if you check it in map you can see it.i think you saw it before you booking.the beach is not dirty and it...

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

The resort is simple and quaint for the reasonably low price. The place needs a little restoration in a few areas, but the plus side is that it's next to the beach. The staff is very friendly and will make effort to make your stay comfortable. Food isn't spectacular but acceptable for the price. Rooms are comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry and Susan S
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The place is not a resort, its a big house right by the beach. The location is superb. The rooms are big. The staff is decent and helpful. The food options are limited. The feel of the place is more like a homestay. Overall we had a comfortable stay although we were somehat misled by the name.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivekananda N
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Positives: The view is great! Staff are amazing and very friendly Negatives: Weird smell in the rooms The view is only seen on the porch. Room had a dirty mosquito net No natural light in the room, you open your windows into a wall Hardly had hot water Shower pressure was a trickle Breakfast was 2 eggs and 2 small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Neil Thanks for the review.thanks for the positives. I write the response to clear our potential guest misunderstanding. first of all the first thing is you booked the lowest price room and you complaining about you didn't have highest room facilities.if you want all this facilities you have to book a high price room.the rooms have natural lights because...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

First off, this is a nice hotel and the staff are really friendly and incredibly helpful. Whether this is telling off tuk-tuk drivers who try to overcharge you or helping to plot the best way to get to your next destination. Any problems you observe are dealt with quickly. At times though, the staff can be hard to find. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmarts993
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thanks for the review. We welcome you any time in the resort.We appreciate very much your applause and sentiments given based on the stay. We warmly invite you all to visit us again for superior services and facilities Many Thanks

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We're staying for longer than intended. There's two beach side seating areas perfect for writing in peace with a pot of tea and just the sounds of the ocean. Around the point is a perfect swimming lagoon, with shallows safe for children, often with several turtles to keep you company.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks For the Comment. See you again !

uk
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Please find somewhere else much nicer places around for same or less money. Bit disappointed when I arrived room big enough. Nowhere to hang my clothes booked for 11 nights so needed some hanging space. Towels old and thin bed sheet had hole in it. 6 bed 12 person property only 4 sunbeds with paper thin cushions. No beach outside...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sarahbwhiting

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.4 km away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
437 reviews
0.4 km away
Mihiripenna Beach Resort
0.2 km away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#8 of 144 in Unawatuna
96 reviews
0.0 km away
Footprints Villa
Footprints Villa
#3 of 12 in Talpe
40 reviews
0.3 km away
Galawatta Beach Villa & Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Sky Resort is a newly built resort located on the long stretched elegant and gorgeous beach of UNAWATUNA Mihiripenna, Sri Lanka. Hotel Blue Sky is located just 6 Km south of the historical ancient city of Galle, the beach at Unawatuna - Mihiripenna is secluded and offers its visitors a calmful relaxing swimming and sunbathing atmosphere at the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. You can get there by a TUKTUK (three wheeler), it is about a 5 minute drive and cost around 1 Euro for 2-3 people, ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Sky Beach Resort

Address: Matara Road | Mihiripenna, Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: ₹ 2,658 - ₹ 4,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sky Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sky Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Sky Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Sky Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view room”
senehaguna, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one of the Superior rooms. It is well worth the extra cost.”
AndrewF413, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“choose a room on the side of the ocean as the other side is near the road”
E_lina132013, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get a room upstairs, closest to the sea as possible as the Galle road is very noisy”
annabel_1956, 23 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The train line is close to the front of the hotel so you do get train horns blowing from time to time but the sound from the surf drowns out the majority of road and train noises. B3 and C3 are the rooms with windows facing out to sea.”
Llewellyn53, 19 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5