We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I am so sad to be sitting in England talking about it rather than being in the hotel! I visited this hotel initially in March 2016 and returned in January 2016. The hotel is stunning with the most serene picture perfect beach on either side. In March we were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
london
Reviewed 1 week ago

First off I must thank Imran, the general manager. Before arriving, we had a few questions which we sent by email and if we hadn’t had a response in a few hours, he would chase on our behalf. We weren’t even in a rush, but Sri Lankan hotels have a mixed reputation for customer service, so this reassured us that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robsaw
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we had the aqua chic room with the jacuzzi facing the ocean. the views were incredible and going to sleep with the sound of waves is just so peaceful. The staff were excellent and so accommodating. Their sister hotel about 10 mins away near unawatuna called cantaloupe levels is also worth checking out, especially if you are planning on visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meow1991
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located right on the beach, you could relax the whole day just by gazing at the beautiful sea. It also features a plunge pool, which is right on the edge of the hotel. The staff was fabulous attending to all our needs, they were always there when we needed them. They even arranged a special table for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nishan K
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very nice hotel with a fantastic ocean view. The Aqua Zen Room is great. This hotel has "the little extra" with the most friendly service. I want to mention Sandun, our waiter who was unique!We want to say thank you,as he made us a perfect holiday!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinara38
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was very nice. There Is no Beach Access - but its just one Minute away. The view Is stunning and the staff (especially Sandun - our Morning Sunshine :)) Is great. We have rented a tuktuk and Visited mirissa and weligama dir surfing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ra D
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Everything about this place is just great. From the view of the Unawatuna beach, to the food, service to the beautiful rooms. A tad bit expensive but totally worth the deal. The rooms are excellent in terms of design, and maintenance. The hospitality makes the hotel and on those lines, this hotel has got to be a great place, because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huda09
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Huda, Your great review was great for our soul! Thank you for your kind comments on our team and service as well as the rooms and food. We would love to see you back at Aqua soon since you are a short flight away! do keep in touch Cheers!

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

The style of this place is modern contemporary. Bright colours offset the pure white finishes. Make it a good night out. Eat here. Our salad for starters kept us happy til our main arrived. Superb seafood. We had a massive platter for only LKR 1200.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Wally, thanks very much for the glowing review of our food. The fresh seafood platter is one of our favorites at our Restraunt Coconut, of course washed down with a few cocktails. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! All the best

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Aqua for 5 days and absolutely enjoyed ourselves! The hotel is beautiful, has a lovely spa, the food was really good and the staff was the sweetest, what more can you ask for? The staff is very helpful to organise tours and go sightseeing. They got us really good offers. Will definitely come again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakmini J
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Lakmini, It was our pleasure to have you and help organise outings and sightseeing. We are based in a great location to do both beach activities such as whale watching and surfing or more culture vulture inclined ones like the Unesco world heritage Galle Fort. Our team sends their best wishes!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Just had 3 nights there and the location is amazing, right on the water. Unfortunately the private beach wasn't there as the water was right against the rocks. Apparently this happens every year for 2 months around this time. So any beach access required a walk or tuktuk. The rooms, food and service were all nice but the outside needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigvanschalkwyk
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for the review and you have got some lovely pictures. We appreciate the feedback and as you have mentioned the beach is not directly accessible at the moment due to the high tide. We are hoping it will be in the next few weeks! many of our guests do enjoy the private beach which you have to...

551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (280)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Other (108)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
352 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
602 reviews
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
761 reviews
5.4 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
390 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#13 of 29 in Unawatuna
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for 2014. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. A further attraction of AQUA is that it features a private beach in one of Sri Lanka's most upmarket beach strips, Talpe. Through the year Aqua changes it's character from Up-beat to relaxation based on events and promotions taking place at the hotel. During the peak season (Dec-Jan, Mar-Apr, July-Aug) Cantaloupe AQUA hosts numerous sun set cocktails and Brunch Parties with an upbeat atmosphere. In keeping with our relaxing weekdays and Upbeat week ends. The parties however do not go on much later than mid night. All guests are given free access pass to the eventDuring quieter months of the year Cantaloupe is the prefect retreat for families with kids and Guests looking for ultimate relaxation. Please confirm with front desk on dates of events coinciding with your arrival to make sure if alternative accommodation needs to be arranged on the day/night of the event. AQUA cuisine just like aqua is inspired! Our inspiration created a menu, which is a combination of Thai Fusion, Japanese, Western and Sri Lankan. From fresh seafood platters with tamarind sauce to Prime Imported Steaks COCONUT will provide you with an exquisite culinary experience. The restaurant area is a veranda, which opens out to the Jacuzzi area. The theme is euro chic with white taking prominence with feature art adding color and character."Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! Nandana, Cantaloupe AQUA's Executive Chef, who has recently returned after completing a culinary course at the world famous, Blue Elephant Cooking School, is always busily preparing some delectable dish for the Coconut Restaurant guests. Nandana's food philosophy and culinary style is extremely simple but never fails to impress, any one of his dishes will have sentiments from at least two nations of the world. Fusion is his greatest skill. When describing his technique, the characteristically shy Chef, becomes vividly animated by his passion. His guests are constantly in an exciting state of anticipation, awaiting the next surprise Nandana will turnout. He prides himself in stocking the kitchen with the finest and freshest local produce and ingredients. His latest culinary conquest is Coconut's new Tapas Menu, which he has painstakingly crafted to weave in elements of Sri Lanka's tantilising flavors. He also just finalized the Thai-Fusion menu and it has already racked up rave reviews. The dining experience Cantaloupe AQUA plate up is easily one of the best in the south! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle 80630, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: ₹ 9,284 - ₹ 27,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Think they will all be good.”
 of 5 bubbles robsaw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best view is from ultra chic room as its a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles meow1991, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This place doesn't offer driver accommodation, so you'll have to keep that in mind and check with the staff before hand.”
 of 5 bubbles Huda09, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fabulous for solo women travellers. The Aqua Zen suites are the ones with the best view”
 of 5 bubbles Stardust2605, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try out the Aqua Play Ocean Suite”
 of 5 bubbles ShalindriC_12, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay