We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
 Click to rate
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has 2 parts. One is called Tartaruga Hotel and the other one Tartaruga resort. I stayed at the Tartaruga Resort which is supposed to be the nicer one. The customer service was nice the first day, the food at the restaurant was good as well but I was not happy with my room. I booked a triple room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anca T
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review we have noted down you were pleased our team has given you good customer service and we have noted down you have met several issues while your stay with us.We do extremely apologize the room booking.How ever when you apply through web site such as b.com the hotel...

Biarritz, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has A good location with A small pool but Nice...We had A room in the main building : It was Nice, clean but A little bit small without balcony. In majority the staff is kind with the smile (not easy To find in Sri Lanka!). We had A room in the first floor and during the night We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomadfamily64
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest ,Thank for your valuable time to write us a review first of all that we are extremely apologize about your clothes getting some pink stains as you requested by us on that day fast service by requested us there fore we have given your clothes to another laundry but they usually make the clothes return after wash...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, helpful and very nice people at the hotel, excellent pool, beautiful beach, nice food and fine rooms for the price. Food is good too. I would recommend getting a room in the main building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fyrsten76
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,Thank you for the feedback .We are happy to note that you have pleasant stay at Tartaruga Resort.your valuable is actualy encourage us to build up day by day to be on ranked number one at Unawatuna .Hope to see you on next visit with your family.Best wishes & Regards.Lucky-manager

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 6 February 2017

My wife and I arrived here as "walk-in" guests and were lucky to get a sea view room number 35 on the second floor for the first 3 nights. As we were on a wait list for the other 5 nights we managed to extend but had to change to room 25 on the first floor for 1 night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gold_keys_63
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review .We are extremely sorry to hear about your wife was sick due to food but we cannot accept at once this is due to food poison from hotel .We always trying to serve you best cuisine foods with delightful service by staff.Hope to see on your next...

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Overall, for the price the positives only just outweigh the negatives. Note: booking.com only has standard rooms available for booking and for $100usd p night they are deplorable. Small shacks, dirty and mouldy bathrooms, aircon sticky taped together, no amenities. We immediately upgraded to a deluxe room for an additional $35 usd a night...funny we saw many other parties doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
Lima, Peru
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The grilled fish was fine . The steak was lousy.Prawn cocktail was soso. , chicken soup ok Service efficient . A bit pricey for what you get. The food fills a hole but its nothing to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank you for the review .We are extremely sorry the prices the bit expensive as you think .The management will look in to focus about foods specially prawns and cocktails as you mentioned on the review.Hope to see on your next visit.Thanks & Regards.Lucky.Manager

UK
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Went tonight for a meal, owner needs to interview his chef, my wife's rice was served Cold and the chichen curry was luke warm, one of her pomperdoms was very greasy possible the first one in the oil I order a pizza neopolatain, which was particularly oily and soggy. Never should the chef have allowed either of our meals to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mockaji
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Classy , clean , well appointed. Our family made a last minute booking and we were delighted and what a great hotel it was. We loved the pool , the easy access to the ocean and the lovely bar and dinning on the beach. Added to our enjoyment of this area in SriLanka

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadee P
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank yo for the review we are glad to hear that you have pleasant holiday with us with your last minute booking.Hope to see you on next visit at Tataruga Hotel.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Clean and cosy room with great AC. The hotel is located directly on the beach which is a great plus. Nice breakfast, especially the bananapancakes with coconut. Very friendly staff. A good place to stay for a longer period of time. We stayed at the topfloot and the wifi did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Sofie L
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for the comment certainly our staff will like to hear your comment.Glad to note you enjoyed our breakfast with varieties of foods and beverages Hope to see you on your next visit.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Yummy food Been hear only for lunch and dinner Amazing setup Perfect Quality place and food Good location Friendly staff Relaxing environment Beach view awesome Good place to enjoy an evening Decent place

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrishelle G
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest ,Thank you for the review .We are glad to note you enjoyed delightful at Restaurant and the amazing set up by the Tartaruga Team .Suerely they will happy to hear your wonderful comment.Thank you.Lucky.Manager

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.6 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
792 reviews
0.0 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
848 reviews
0.4 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
642 reviews
0.8 km away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#16 of 29 in Unawatuna
358 reviews
1.1 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla Road | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: ₹ 2,160 - ₹ 6,545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seaview rooms 33, 34, 35”
  • our room before changing
  • our room after changing
  • sea view room 33...the best for a couple
  • seaview room35...the best for couples
  • this hotel is only 2 years old...keep it up !
  • side view from room 25
  • from room 33
 of 5 bubbles Gold_keys_63, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is right at the pool which is good for families, right in the path of all traffic from hotel to beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 885pennyd, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Although while booking, the rooms only state 'with balcony', insist on a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles EshaJaggi, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room on the 1st floor... ask for a room on the front (not on the side) with ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Scuba971, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on ground floor opposite restaurant area.”
 of 5 bubbles Suri221151, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5