We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rusinga Island Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rusinga Island Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

came to spend the new-year at rusinga , the receptionists seemed to be unwelcoming, in that you are not allowed in unless you pay ksh 3000 for a meal which was not to the standard. I think she needs urgent training on guest relations skills , unlike me who is also a customer service staff elsewhere, I could compare her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshua k
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For what the lodge was charging over New Year Buffet, it was downright robbery. The food was limited in choices, soup was tasteless, barbecue meat too hard. We were very disappointed. It was a clear waste of money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 302Rose
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rose, Very Very sorry for your experience. As a hotel, we learn from our mistakes and have a strong believe that there is always room for improvement. Thank you for highlighting this. We have taken necessary measures and improved on the same. Do not shy away your next visit is going to be perfect.

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were blessed to have our wedding venue at the Lodge. From the planning and meeting up with Mr Young he assured us the day would go us planned and he kept his word The day was even more than I expected, the staff were warm and the chef did a remarkable job. All our guests are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahmigale
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

A big thumps up to Sarah & Ken for choosing Rusinga Island Lodge as their wedding venue. From the the word go, it was certain that the choice was perfect. On behalf our my team I congratulate you and wish you well. Looking forward to seeing you back on your first anniversary (October 28th 2017) to be precise.

Reviewed 2 September 2016

i visited with my partner , we were given some how a rude reception by the receptionists who seemed to be rude asking what we wanted to do and that if we do not have anything to do were not welcomed. this is not what to expect in a place of such a calibre and high end. we s expected...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank victor l
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Jambo Victor, Thank you for taking your time to visit Rusinga Lodge, the management is grateful for your patronage, however we are saddened by what you experienced. We strongly condemn this staff behavior and have acted accordingly. Once again thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. Accept our apologizes and do not hesitate to come back again.

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Exquisite gardens overlooking Lake Victoria. To get there you have an option of flying from Wilson airport straight to the airstrip next to the Lodge or you can as well charter a flight from JKIA. Alternatively you can fly 540 to Homabay then take a drive to the lodge in Rusinga through Mbita. I must warn you that the drive...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eric A
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Thank you for choosing to stay at Rusinga Island Lodge, nice to read your insight on your experience, we have noted your advice on certain areas. It is true we have had a busy season all the way from June and have not been able to close the pool or the few cottages for maintenance, we will be...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This was my second time in the hotel, staff at the reception were rude to us. They need to learn to speak to potential clients with a little more respect and act professionally. I expected better from a hotel of this caliber.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wkoima
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wkoima, Thank you for your continued support and patronage, we appreciate your loyalty to Rusinga Lodge. Kindly accept my apology on behalf of the Lodge for having been angered by our staff, Action has been taken and promise this will never happen again. Feel free to visit again.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 June 2016

This place was definitely a lovely surprise for me, worth the trouble. It took me a bit of time to get there from Kisumu town but once i arrived i was glad i went. It has a fantastic view of Lake Victoria and the staff are pretty friendly. If you're looking for a place to unwind this is perfect. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank faith_kioko
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Halo Faith, It is indeed great to read your personal review pertaining to your recent stay with us. On behalf of Rusinga Island Lodge, I am grateful for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 5 June 2016

An truly amazing place where you can totally wind down and relax. The staff were friendly and service wonderful. We stayed for two nights and would have loved to stay for longer. Swimming in the lake from the shore and from the boat was great fun as was kayaking on the lake and fishing for the elusive Nile Perch. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve R
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eve, Thank you very much for having taken your precious time to pay homage to Rusinga Island Lodge. We truly value your visit and hope that you will think of coming back again to experience the array of activities and tranquility. Wishing you well.

Mwanza
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Went in for the day just to relax and have lunch. Really beautiful. Water is warm and clean. Food was amazing and staff friendly and efficient. Dirt road leading up to the place so if you've opted for a car (instead of the ferry) prepare for a bumpy ride.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliyah A
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much Aliyah A for taking your time to visit Rusinga Lodge, we are grateful having you as our guest and hope you will come again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Beauty beyond compare! this lodge is located in a picturesque setting absolutely stunning. Too bad it was overshadowed by the poorest service I have ever experienced! Arrived at the lodge in a large party of extended family to be served by waiters who had no clue what orders were made or served. Orders showing up that were never made. Rude...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana O
Charles O, Director of Sales at Rusinga Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Thank you for your review, I understand what you went through. Our policy is to maintain the highest standards of service at all times regardless. Your experience is an isolated case which the management has investigated and rectified. Once again accept our apologies. Make a note when you come back next time we have something in store for...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusinga Island
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Rusinga Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Mbita
1 reviews
28.8 km away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
134 reviews
40.0 km away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Island Camp Baringo
Island Camp Baringo
#1 of 11 in Baringo District
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Hippo Buck
Hotel Hippo Buck
#2 of 4 in Homa Bay
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Rusinga Island Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rusinga exudes an atmosphere of serene tranquility. The manicured, velvet lawns stretch to the water’s edge and the grounds, with its exotic trees, are a haven for a myriad of bird species – many of which are unique to this area of Kenya. Rusinga’s renowned hospitality, delicious home-grown, home-cooked food and indulgent accommodation combine to offer an ideal base from which to explore other areas of Kenya and the perfect mid-safari break. The Lodge is open all year round ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rusinga Island Lodge

Address: Ring Road | Mbita, Rusinga Island 40327, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Rusinga Island
Price Range: ₹ 17,123 - ₹ 47,411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rusinga Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Rusinga Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusinga Island Hotel Rusinga Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rusinga Island Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rusinga Island Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“has best view”
 of 5 bubbles 742joshuak, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You can take a boat trip from Rusinga to all the other surrounding islands. if you can you must”
 of 5 bubbles faith_kioko, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms have a lake view and are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles PontusM_13, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The rooms (cottages) at the ends have less foot traffic”
 of 5 bubbles 245briana, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room with a view of the lake - breathtaking!”
  • Room
  • Bed
  • Sunset on the lake
 of 5 bubbles WanguiG, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay