We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wayando Beach Eco Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rusinga Island
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Wayando Beach Eco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of Wayando Beach Eco Lodge
 Click to rate
Belmont, California
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

If you end up on Lake Victoria you must stay with Linda and her amazing staff. We had no idea where to stay and by luck found Wayando. We were traveling with our 4 sons, 17, 16, 11, & 8 and stayed on a half board basis. It is right on the lake with lovely gardens and spectacular views. You...

Thank somewives
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Spending two nights at Wayando Beach Eco Lodge was the highlight of out trip to Kenya. Arriving at Rusinga Island by ferry was wonderful - watching the sun set over the lake and seeing the fisherman turning on the lamps on their boats to encourage fish glistening in the distance. When we got to the Lodge we received a very...

Thank Pop414
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We ended up in Wayando Beach totally by chance in fact, after our original camping plan backfired. And what a surprising back up plan this was! The relaxing atmosphere, nice and clean amenities, super friendly staff makes this place a great destination for those who want to enjoy and visit Rusinga island and neighbour islands. We came back later for...

Thank didier j
Linda M, Owner at Wayando Beach Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. If there is anything we need to improve please let us know so we can work on it.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

This is hands down my favorite place to stay in Western Kenya. The Eco Lodge has 5 cottages and is surrounded by gardens, birds, nature, and beautiful Lake Victoria. There is a focus on conservation and so the rooms contain composting toilets, plastic bottles are not allowed, recycled glass was used in the design, and solar panels are incorporated. Owner,...

Thank KellsAbroad
Linda M, Owner at Wayando Beach Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the nice words. We love to hear from happy customers. They inspire us to keep working to make things even better.

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Eco lodge was simple and relaxing. Sam and Blasto were excellent hosts, making wonderful choma, chapati and signature Wayabdo pancakes for us. The food was all great and very fresh. They allowed us to request what we wanted, within reason of course. Sam took us on a boat trip on the lake and Blasto took us...

1Thank Melissa A
Linda M, Owner at Wayando Beach Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Melissa for your feedback and some great ideas. I had a plan for a couple chaise longues but haven't found the right ones yet. I am still looking and may have to have them made locally. I apologize about the hot instant shower. We have replaced it several times but it seems the water pressure is too low to...

Oadby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016

This is a little piece of heaven. Its situated right on the lake and the accommodation is in simple Bandas. Comfortable beds with nets and 'eco' facilities. Very reasonably priced and the food is exceptional. Linda is a great host and nothing is too much trouble for her and her team. For somewhere off the beaten track this is perfect....

Thank Steven P
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Wayando Beach resort makes home the place to be. Just next to my village I always go there to unwind, relax and have a chat with Linda. Hospitable host, and affordable charges. I will recommend this any day to anyone.

Thank Daido A
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Meant to stay for 5 days from 29th but almost left on the first day,did not meet our specifications but even so noone really empathized. We had to cook in the open air with very little help from the staff,children started having stomach complaints .we had to cut our holiday short coz there was no real value for money.The showers...

Thank Sarah W
Linda M, Owner at Wayando Beach Eco Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize for any negative experiences during you recent stay. We cannot however control hippos behavior and we always warn people to leave the gate open and come inside when they are spotted. They are rare on our beach. ..Children should never be left unattended at the beach. We will contact kenya wildlife services as they are in charge of...

Reviewed 3 October 2015

Wonderful little lodge on Lake Victoria. Owner Linda was so gracious and a great cook. We hung out for two nights, very comfortable accommodations. Quiet, beautiful scenery, isolated. Laid in the hammocks, drank & read in the banda, took hikes into the hills, great small boat tour of Ngodha Island with Sam. Just what we needed, sandwiched between two busy...

Thank James C
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I would second all the recent 4* and 5* reviews of this place. Myself and my brother kicked back here for some R+R during a road trip around Western Kenya in Jan 2015. It is very laid back, relaxing and very pretty. And good value! We didn’t leave the place for 3 days although it is very small! But don’t...

Thank FaridLittleproud
Linda M, Owner at Wayando Beach Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Gosh I am so sorry to hear you were down with Bilharzia. I try to always tell my guests that they are a hazard in Lake Victoria. In fact they are in all the African inland lakes. I have had it myself at least two times though was never really sick. As the symptoms are usually hardly noticeable people are...

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (21)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
View from Room (2)
Bathroom (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (94)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (8)
Other (79)


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wayando Beach Eco Lodge is a Friendly and Intimate Eco Resort on the shores of Lake Victoria. Come rest under the trees or swing in a hammock. We are practicing permaculture and organic gardening and serving our guests wholesome and local meals. Often it is eclectic. Boat tours are easy with our new boat and engine. Guests enjoy bird watching, hiking and cultural exploration. We can organize guided boat excursions for day fishing or night fishing for Omena or to other islands and around Rusinga to look for Hippos. Currently we have four self contained bandas available for guests. In total there are four doubles with large bed each and one single with twin beds for those who want to share a room. An extra bed can be added to two of the bandas for an third person or child.The new banda has a second room with bed. Total of 7 private or semi rooms. Max of 10 to 12 guests. Camping is also available if you want to bring your own tent. We do have several two man tents and available bedding etc. There is room to run so children are welcome. We are relaxed and welcome small groups and families who just want to hang out with the trees and the birds. The water level in the lake has risen incredibly recently so the beach is much eroded. We are hoping the situation on the lake changes back to the way it has been in the past. The bar accommodates about 30 people or more and meals are served buffet or family style. Music is played in the bar but kept low and we have no TV to spoil the tranquility. You are free to chat, dance a bit or play cards or other games that we can supply or you may bring your own. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wayando Beach Eco Lodge

Address: Wanyama Kaswanga Road | Between Luando Rhombo and Wayando fishing village, Rusinga Island 40327, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Rusinga Island
Price Range: ₹ 2,586 - ₹ 3,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wayando Beach Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wayando Beach Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The new huts have much better showers.”
FaridLittleproud, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“On ne peut pas se baigner dans le lac, par contre, Linda offre des tours en bateau qui compensent largement.”
achorton, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
“First banda as you come into the site is probably the best one”
Hugo_Corripio_Lopez, 13 Dec 2013 | Read review
“any room is a good bet.”
KirstenE504, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
“New Cottages!”
JakonyangoN, 30 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5