We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Comfortable room with all the basic requirements. Ok, no facilities to create a three course meal, but breakfast and snacks could be prepared easily. Good location for the village and springs, about 1K stroll. Mine hosts were very friendly and helpful. ( thanks for bringing in my washing when it rained! ) They also provide free use of towels to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikeymush
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

thanks for your great review More 

Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Very basic room but was clean and bathroom was clean with fresh linen. Hotel situated just as you come into main town area, walking distance of about 20 mins maybe. Helpful man at front desk. Not much room to move around in.

Helpful?
Thank chivo37
Canowindra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We were so disappointed with our stay. When paying $144 a night, you expect a certain level of accommodation. We had two single beds, and the room was very small. On booking the room through booking.com, I thought we had booked a Queen Studio however when we got to the motel they told us it was two single beds so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dannielle J
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your your stay but please do not blame us for your mistake, you did book a twin studio and as we had no rooms available to shift you to as we had no vacancies, Also you never mentioned anything to us re your room being the wrong type. This is the notification we... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Nice motel located about 1km to town and a short walk to bar/restaurant. Motelier was friendly & hospitable. Room was comfortable, nice and spacious. They also provide towels for the hot pools which is great. Strange thing was the fridge had been turned right down (must have been by the people before us) and it wasn't till a few hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nat A
Castle Hill, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This is our 4th or 5th stay in this motel. This motel is less than a minute from the bustling main centre of Hanmer Springs. It is on the main road in, but due to the slower traffic speed past the entrance - there is no noticeable traffic noise. We always choose this place because it is quiet away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank 88snowdragon
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thanks again, great to see you again and we look forward to your next visit More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

And that's really important as our dogs go everywhere with us. Good standard all around and this one even has a tennis court and grassed area. Very comfortable and hosts very obliging. Towels to take to the hot pools are available from reception. Nothing to fault :)

Helpful?
Thank missliz2015
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback look forward to you coming to stay with us again More 

Te Awamutu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2015

As usual as we have found this Bella Vista was no different in terms of cleanliness, comfort and great bathrooms. All good. This one is a little distance from town centre, too far for us to walk but fitter folk may find it a breeze. Check in man was very friendy. Sky decoder in the room is great. We thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank TeAwamutuJones_s
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thank you that's what we are all striving for . Consist-antsy across the network cheers More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We were told to check out Bella Vista Motel Hanmer. Steve & Julie were just awesome People and the Place was Fantastic. Spotless clean. Comfy bed. It was a A1 stay. Highly recommend. They offered great ideas with activities and Restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Flacon12341
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Cheers Always good to get positive feedback More 

Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Booked on the day spoke to a lovely man who made us feel welcome before we got there. They lady on reception was warm.amd welcoming when we arrived. Such a lovely we break from our busy time of year look foward to.returning in the future ☺☺

Helpful?
Thank Alice W
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback Look forward to seeing you next time your in Hanmer Springs More 

Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2015

The cafes are very good and bella vista was comfortable, clean and provided me a quiet retreat from my hard days mountain biking around the many trails. I especially enjoyed relaxing in the hot pools and the easy walk back to Bella Vista after dining in town. The Bella Vista hosts were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Wayneaxe852
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback . It is always nice to get positive comments. Thanks More 

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.3 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
560 reviews
0.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
259 reviews
1.4 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
119 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs NZ has 16 studio units and 2 x 1 bedroom family units along with an onsite tennis court . We have great views of the local mountains and free onsite parking. We cater for wheel chair bound and mobility restricted guests with 2 Access Studios with parking outside the door. Easy 8-10 minute walk to the Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Spa and the Local Cafes and Bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs

Address: Cnr of Main Road & Tarndale Place, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: ₹ 6,149 - ₹ 7,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no suggestions”
 of 5 bubbles Narnee, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just be mindful of when you book to be sure you have booked the correct room. It's not that clear on booking.com”
 of 5 bubbles danniellej2014, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We always choose an upper story room if one is available.”
 of 5 bubbles 88snowdragon, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“if you want space go for a studio”
 of 5 bubbles Wayneaxe852, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just ask the friendly staff”
 of 5 bubbles clairelskegg, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay