We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Having stayed at this campground many times before and enjoyed our experience we went to make a booking via directly ringing them to book 3 nights we were told they were to charge one night straight away to secure our booking. This is not stated on their website. I said well no I do not agree to that. She said... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindauear
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry you were offended by my asking for a booking deposit, but as I said if you book through phone or online the booking is the same. You must secure your booking with a credit card or pay a deposit, especially when you want to book during the Christmas busy season. We need security if, you don't show... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were looking for a budget night's accomodation and what we found completely exceeded our expectations. After a very warm welcome we settled into our apartment. This was a spacious room with a comfortable double bed, bunks and a kitchen, including cooking equipment. Also available was free use of a BBQ (no charge for the LPG) and seating in front... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellenphillipscollis
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and a lovely one at that. It is always a pleasure to see reviews from people who have enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to give everyone an enjoyable time whilst staying with us, and yes,we are very fortunate to have the Bellbirds, Tuis and Kereru, around,... More 

Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Basic cabins a bit difficult to sort where to go to specially if you arrive late. However the staff is by far the best customer service I ever experienced in New Zealand. The lady from reception was kind enough to call and organise everything for us as we were driving from Greymouth late at night. Upon check out the following... More 

Helpful?
Thank JosePablin
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As to the winter her, yes it can get very cold, so we give out additional heaters to warm the rooms. Again thank you for taking the time to post a review. Lee More 

1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We have stayed here a couple of times & we think it's a great place to stay for Adults & kids alike. It's close to all amanities & you have the Forrest right on your doorstep, great walking trails & mountain bike tracks, there is a small playground for kids & plenty of BBQ's around for your use. They have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind remarks on your review. It is rewarding for us to hear people enjoyed their stay, and yes the forest and mountains are a great asset to us. Thanks again. Cheers Lee & Greg More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We were very lucky to get in last minute due to a cancellation. It was beautifully snowy when we arrived and we were given extra heaters at no extra cost so we felt well looked after. The location is stunning and was very magical in the snow. The room had everything we needed and the owners were so amazingly kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank LRN16
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It is fantastic to read reviews from people who enjoyed their stay with us. We wish many happy travels for you. cheers Lee and Greg More 

Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The Smithy was a welcome respite from the cold with its fireplace and lofty cabin atmosphere... The private BBQ patio was another welcome perk. The owners were the loveliest people I've met I New Zealand - they will surely take care of you!

Helpful?
Thank a5hess1
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind response. It is always a pleasure to know when people have enjoyed their stay with us. We wish you Many happy times in your travels. Cheers Lee and Greg More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

I've stayed at this campground a few times over the past decade or so and it fills that niche between basic DoC sites and fully manicured holiday parks. It has a reasonable selection of powered sites dotted among the trees and access is easy with a campervan or caravan. The showers are good (and included in the price) and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Docdubyer
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is so important for us to try to gauge how to help people during their stay with us. Happy travels. Lee and Greg More 

Knysna South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Just back in South Africa having spent 2 weeks in March touring South Island. We stayed at many holiday parks but Alpine Holiday Apartments in Hamner springs was one of the nicest we stayed in. Cabins well furnished and comfortable, surroundings beautiful with lovely walks in the forest across the road. Well run, very welcoming and friendly managers.

Helpful?
Thank Derick C
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to comment, after a long journey, it is easy to get home and get on with life, so I find it wonderful when people like you take the time to write a review. May you have many more travels. Cheers Lee More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Needing a one-night stopover between Lake Taupo and Motueka, we booked a stay in an 'apartment/cabin' at the Alpine Holiday Apartments and Campground. After checking-in and collecting our bedding we went and found our apartment and were very disappointed. The interior was like something from an ancient Butlins holiday park, it was quite dark and was very old and tired... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Toby S
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Yes the buildings are from the original forest camp, built a long time ago, but we have painted them and put in light coloured bedding to give it a lift. As to the lack of power points, what a shame you didn't come to the office and ask, there are power points... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Beautiful location and nice and quiet at night. I wished we had booked for more than one night but I've already rebooked whilst there to return after Xmas. Very friendly staff, this place has everything we needed and we were more than happy with our 2 bedroom family room using the shared facilities. Very family friendly place and I felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank tash_nigel
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Greg and I think this place is special too. We are fortunate to have the friendly horses in the paddock beside us, as the children love them. Hope they stay. It makes up for the plain playground facilities. We look forward to your next journey to Hanmer and stay with us. Cheers Lee... More 

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
2.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
259 reviews
1.9 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
560 reviews
2.0 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
3.5 km away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#10 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
42 reviews
2.1 km away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Address: 200 Jollies Pass Road | 9 Fowlers Lane, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: ₹ 2,727 - ₹ 3,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The apartments have stunning views of the snowcapped mountains and surrounding forest.”
 of 5 bubbles ellenphillipscollis, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the cabins are well furnished and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 456derickc, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Family room with shared bathroom is good value if on tight budget with kids”
 of 5 bubbles tash_nigel, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pick a unit on the end if you can get one.”
 of 5 bubbles K2655KTjohnt, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Camp spaces near the neighboring field are cosy and have a beautiful view (and nearer to the horses!)”
  • Our spot
  • View from our spot
  • Horses + Scenic view
 of 5 bubbles Merubiko, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay