We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oakwood Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 381: English reviews
Madoc, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Oakwood for a hockey tournament in January of 2017. Our team has stayed here many, many times over the years. This time we were separated as a team, we were not near each other at all, all in different buildings, this makes for very poor team building. Two families were given breakfast coupons but the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heather19672017
Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great resort, we went for New Years! Beautiful grounds, went for a walk on the beach, children were Tobaganing, skating, adults were relaxed. Great New Years brunch, not just for golfing in summer, had a real rustic feel❤Staff were excellent. Thanks for a great mini Getaway😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for yor review, we're glad you enjoyed your mini-getaway with us and we hope to ave a chance to host you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night NYE 2016 - First time staying here - The hotel is pretty large, with a few separate wings - not attached to the main entrance. We stayed in the wing that had the pool and sauna - Kids loved the pool!! The rooms are a bit dated but very clean - I believe they are upgrading...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob S
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay.

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent NYE at the Oakwood resort in a Jacuzzi room. We had no hot water for a shower after being in the hot tub. The outside hot tub wasn't open and the main doors didn't lock on our building. For the price we paid for the room it wasn't a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie V
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, I will forward your concerns to our Maintenance Manager so they can review and ensure these issues are addressed.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice location and because it was Christmas, they went out of their way to ensure they could accommodate us. All we needed was beds to sleep in (heavenly) however they did call me twice to ask our needs and to let me know what would and would not be open. Great spot, beautiful location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreicate the great feedback.

Toronto
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great stay over the long weekend. We haven't been back to Grand Bend in a long time and really enjoyed our stay. The private beach was great and a short walk. Oakwood is a quick drive to the main street, so we ended up driving into town for breakfast in the mornings. We would go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TorontoRam
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreicate you choosing Oakwood for your stay in Grand Bend and look forward to having you back again!

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Room was very nice with fireplace. Unfortunately there were children playing floor hockey in the hallways making tons of noise against our door the whole weekend. Complained multiple times but staff did nothing to stop them. Extremely rude kids and idiotic parents. It would have been nice to sleep in and not gotten woken up every morning at 7am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotelQualityControl
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, I'm sorry to hear that there were some rowdy guests in your area. I will be sure to inform our duty managers to be more vigilant.

London, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Booked through Booking.com. The description said that the room would have a fireplace. Since my partner and I were staying to celebrate our anniversary we were looking forward to having a nice room. Our room was located in the Lakeside Lodge. To get to there we had to drive through the maintenance building area. The room was very dated and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaMDK
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, unfortunately we do not have control over the descriptions that booking.com uses for our rooms and although most of our rooms do have fireplaces not all do and third party sites don't always post all the details we want them to. I do hope you reconsider and give us another...

Detroit, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Was a great place to stay at. Had a beautiful golf course, indoor pool, dry sauna, mini indoor hot tub and a larger outdoor hot tub. Our room had an indoor Jacuzzi tub. Nice and spacious with a microwave, mini bar fridge, sink and sitting area with the bed in a separate section. The breakfast was alright but the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lbubbles2011
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 5 November 2016

Booked Cottage 80 for two nights, left after one. It was dingy, had waterstained ceilings and far too many spiders in the bathroom. We booked online for 5 people and understood buffet breakfast was included (and for the price it should be). They only gave us tickets for 2 adult breakfasts and when we asked about it they apologized that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback is quite timely as we are currently looking at options for renovations in Cottage 80 and hope to have these started in the near future.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
12.0 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
61 reviews
1.5 km away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
68 reviews
1.6 km away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#6 of 8 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
342 reviews
40.1 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
131 reviews
16.8 km away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Price Range: ₹ 5,685 - ₹ 14,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakwood Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oakwood Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else :)”
 of 5 bubbles X7192LGaudreym, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in Pine Lodge are dated and beds are old. Request the Oak Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles jesssmart, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I personally like the cabins/cottages but usually they are booked far ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles georgekM2626SU, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay at pine lodge if you're going to use hotel amenities. That way you don't have to walk far to get back to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles vijaib, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“request a balcony room facing the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 736sethn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay