We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,264: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This was to be a short break away prior to our daughter departing for Japan, so we paid a little over the odds for something we expected to be a bit special. In the end we came away disappointed. Firstly whilst the room was comfortable, it was relatively small and didn't benefit from any form of A/C. As we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank smarley1
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa for your recent visit to Helmsley. We were delighted to read that you found the service and Poolside area “excellent”. We were sorry to read that you expected more from your stay as this is the quite the opposite to how we hope guests feel when they leave. Please...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here for a special overnight trip. We choose the Feversham as we were looking for something a bit "extra special" but we certainly didn't get that. For the price you would expect a wow factor and to be looked after by the staff. The room we had was tiny, hot and shabby and as it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank beaniesmum
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Was expecting a luxury day/night at this hotel. We paid £320 for a Pool side suite. First of all asked for an early check in two weeks in advance due to young child. It did not happen. Poolside restaurant waiter young grumpy not clued up on menu. Room not up to standard of price. Overall a terrible experience. Wish had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil M
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just got back from a one night stay here. We had two rooms for our family 28 & 29 and both were dated and felt quite small and shabby. Both rooms had tv's that were so old fashioned I hadn't seen one so big in years! I felt like the whole place was shabby, all of the sofas in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Novatron
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Fantastic spa facilities with great treatments. Spa friendly and professional. Lovely outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, good lunch. Hotel was also great, room was luxurious and a pleasure to stay in.....so much so that I ordered room service and the food was first class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for this lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. With kind regards, For all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Went for afternoon tea as always looked a nice hotel and wanted to try it before staying longer. There was valet parking and the gentleman who parked the car was really nice and friendly and showed us into the lounge. This was quite shabby and not in a chic way. Young man brought out food with tea but we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Feversham Arms Hotel for Afternoon Tea and for taking the time to write a 4/5 review. We are pleased to read that you found our team to be helpful and friendly but we were sorry that you don’t feel that you would like to visit us again. With kind regards, For all the team at...

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely spa break in this hotel again - our fourth visit. Last time we got a very poor room (11) but this time we got a beautiful room (35) and had a lovely time. Spa was great (although if have a treatment ask for room away from jacuzzi area as can get noisy there and hardly relaxing). Meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichardWeddell
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us once again, it is always lovely to hear from regular guests! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Spa Suite for this visit and hope that you choose to make a fifth visit! With kind regards, For all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Wetherby
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a one night stop and from the car Valet service to all the hotel facilities including the Spa we found the hotel very good. Unfortunately due to our dining experiences we were disappointed the hotel did not realise all our expectations which was a shame. We had the 6 course “Taster Dinner” which took 2.5 hours to complete...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frequentravellers16
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review, we do hope to exceed expectations, but if on occasion we do not, we appreciate fair feedback such as yours and welcome the many positive comments in your review, specifically with regards to the valet parking, Verbena Spa and Head Waiter. When we do receive feedback we always make every effort to improve and...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This Hotel is let down by poor customer service I think the problem is they don't have to try too hard to get people in - one of only 2 hotels of any size in this picture postcard little town. We arrived around noon and understandably were told rooms would not be available until 3 or maybe a little earlier....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 391Paul
London
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Feversham Arms is a nice hotel, but for £280 a night I expected something with more of a wow factor. The Delux suite we booked was nice-ish (very dated twee decor), but as it overlooked the pool, we had very little privacy. There was a TV in the bedroom and another in the living room, but they were 20...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LondonCityHopper
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were sorry to read your comments which we have also received in letter format. We do endeavour to exceed all guest expectations and are always disappointed when a guest leaves feeling that this has not happened. With kind regards, For all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel &...

560 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,422 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
611 reviews
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
331 reviews
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: ₹ 9,328 - ₹ 31,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Yorkshire
cleveland
21 days ago
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the back rather than the main road”
 of 5 bubbles flo5050, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the best you can afford. It's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles KathM272, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for upper floor in the main building overlooking the outdoor pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony_from_DCR, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a suite with a pool view”
 of 5 bubbles willp144, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not at the front if you want the window open.”
 of 5 bubbles christine_bedford55, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5