We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,287: English reviews
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My wife had booked this stay for us as we could not get away at Valentines. We have stayed here many times over the years and we were just here for one night this time. Absolutely amazing from pulling up into the carpark and being greeted at the door through to driving back out again! We always ask for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jon S, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and for the lovely comments mentioned. We are pleased to hear you are regular guests and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Loved it. The hotel, spa & restaurant are all great. It's also a brilliant location for exploring especially for walking. Make sure you book spa treatments ahead and take your muddy boots. Helmsley is also a lovely village - plenty of pubs, a castle, a micro brewery and on the doorstep of the moors. Fab location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joannapage
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joannapage, Thank you for such a lovely review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay not only with us but in Helmsley. We hope to welcome you back, Kind Regards

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

After a run of bad experiences at 'Feversham Arms' I am willing to stick my neck out, hold my hands up and say 'Well Done' to the management and staff for seemingly turning things round. My last review was not very flattering re certain aspects mainly to do with breakfast service/food however these have been rectified to a standard which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andyfxtn
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear andyfxtn. Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for the generous comments that you have mentioned they are really welcomed and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards

Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely place, very relaxing. Facial and massage were really good and the staff are friendly and attentive. Very Disappointed that I couldn't use the outdoor pool as it one of the main reasons I choose to visit this spa.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine S
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing day and a lovely facial and massage. I am sorry that you weren't able to use the outdoor pool on this occasion but hope to welcome you back. Kind Regards

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely couple of nights stay at Feversham Arms, room was large with decent bathroom, bed very comfy, very uneven floors but probably due to age of main hotel building, just be ready to catch sliding cups/glasses etc. We had an evening meal on the first night with a lovely waitress called Laura who served us, we sampled the chateaubriand which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Angela H, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate the comments with regards to the food and have passed these comments on to the relevant managers. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future, Kind Regards

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Had a lovely break. Took advantage of the Sunday Clu offer (even though I stayed on a Monday) which mean a deluxe suite with separate living space and a 1pm checkout on Tuesday. This meant we could enjoy the facilities twice, once arrival before our treatments (quite expensive but worth it) and again after breakfast on Tuesday, before leaving from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath M
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kath M, Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be back to visit us again. Kind Regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We've visited Helmsley on many occasions and previously stayed at the Black Swan for a gourmet break. For a change we decided to stay at the Feversham and while there were positives to the stay there were also negatives. Let's start with the positives. The deluxe suite we stayed in was lovely, spacious and clean with a comfy large bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am glad in the main that you enjoyed your stay and apologise that some aspects didn't meet all of your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind Regards

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Mrs High-Maintenance and I had just enough time for a one night escape for some proper R&R and chose the Feversham as we're great lovers of the area but had never stayed there before. First thing to stay is that the staff are mostly excellent and very well trained - welcoming and pleasant at all times. Our first day included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_from_DCR
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Anthony_from_DCR, Many thanks for taking the time to review us, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed your treatments in the Verbena Spa. I have passed all of your comments on to the relevant management team who will look into the aspects that didn't quite meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with friends after their recommendation, beautiful hotel perfectly situated position in a beautiful town. Warm welcome on arrival and shown to our deluxe suite which was a good room for size and facilities but like quite a few areas of the hotel in need of a bit of tlc especially at the prices charged, no excuse for it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kyliedoo
Feversham A, Public Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kyliedoo, Many thanks for your detailed review. I am sorry on this occasion that we did not meet all of your expectations and I have passed on your comments to the relevant members of the management team. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

The staff of this hotel were very nice and helpful from the start, and this started off with the valet parking service . The room was very nice with a lovey view over the pool and nice extras . The breakfast was very nice as well . Not to impressed over the spa. I think I expecting a bit more....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fattystratty
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fattystratty, Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I am really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and very much liked your room. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon, Kind Regards

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (275)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,461 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
643 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: ₹ 9,378 - ₹ 31,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
1 month ago
Yorkshire
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid 3 and 5 (and some others) - traffic noise.”
ItalianLakesRus, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front not worth the price”
karenalana, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great some with balconies.”
Whiteball, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“south side rooms are peaceful”
colleen246879, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“In new rooms around the pool”
rapton, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5