We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,287: English reviews
Start your review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
 Click to rate
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

A lovely mini holiday. The heated outside pool was a great treat. The staff were friendly, though scarce at times. The room was pleasant, the bed very comfortable but the bathroom was a disappointment for the standard of hotel. Would definitely return-maybe to a different room!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GooseL740
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had an amazing stay in this hotel which blends the historic coaching inn with the modern spa. An interesting mix but one the hotel carries off with style. The hotel is located in a central location in an historic market town. As such it is not a Premier Inn (as other reviewers seem to expect). It has creaky floors, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharpie111
Ilkley
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel and spa provided a wonderful experience and would highly recommend to anyone wanting something a little special for their stay in Helmsley. The rooms were lovely and simply the location was perfect for everything we wanted to do. We've stayed here a few times and also used the venue for my niece's hen night! Absolutely fabulous and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lowes_of_Ilkley
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a night at the Feversham Arms on the Suite Deal package and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay. Having seen previous reviews on TripAdvisor I was slightly concerned that it might not be as good as promised, but I needn't have worried as the hotel itself was lovely and my only criticism would be the attire of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larryfran
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed. Booked for a birthday visit on their Friday Fizz package after a previous great stay we had a few years ago. Key difference this time was that last time we were in the Spa room, which is a lot more modern than what we were given this time. Room we had was in old building and on top...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lee-in-Newcastle
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lee-in-Newcastle, Thank-you for posting your comments on your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent stay. If you do feel able to return to the hotel in the future please make reference to this review when booking. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall we had an excellent and very relaxing stay at the Faversham arms to celebrate my 50th birthday. First of all the positives; the spa was excellent we booked a package which included spa treatments. I had a hot stone massage which was excellent and highly recommended. We were lucky with the weather in March and managed to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for a night in this lovely hotel and spa. We booked on the 'Fizz Friday' deal and we're both extremely pleased with our stay. Our room was overlooking the pool, with a separate living area, sizeable bathroom and lovely big bedroom. The only downside was the sofa in the living room (which was also a sofa bed) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeanneP29
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Leanne, Thank-you for your thorough review of the hotel. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Feversham Arms Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards,

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't get me wrong...this is a great hotel. In a village setting in rural Yorkshire, this significantly expanded proposition offers charm and sophistication. The standout feature is the spa with outdoor pool. I'd question how well appointed it is however...as a quiet April day still had us queuing for sauna, steam room and jacuzzi facilities. You find yourself depressingly driven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twistinmymelons
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear twistinmymelons, Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay at the Feversham Arms. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of the spa and outdoor pool. I do apologise that you had to wait for some of the facilities as we do endeavour to monitor this and ask guests to be considerate...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Feversham Arms for one night for a special occasion. What a disappointment! Our room was small and very hot. We had to remove the duvet as there was no air-conditioning and we could not open the window. It was overlooking the road so was very noisy during the afternoon so not a good place to relax....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary O
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The majority of our standard and executive rooms are at the front of the hotel and as such are street side facing. Unfortunately we can not control the noise from the street but do apologise that the room was hot. If you...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited as couples, over priced, staff rude and think they are better than paying guest. This is understandable as the manager is also ignorant. We complained at our visit and later in a letter and the response was disgusting. Spend your money elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheTravellingTrio3
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravellingTrio3, Thank-you for posting your thoughts on your stay. As this has been discussed internally I can not add anything and hope that you have a more enjoyable stay at the next hotel you visit. Kind Regards,

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (275)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,461 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
643 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: ₹ 9,378 - ₹ 31,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
1 month ago
Yorkshire
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid 3 and 5 (and some others) - traffic noise.”
ItalianLakesRus, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front not worth the price”
karenalana, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great some with balconies.”
Whiteball, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“south side rooms are peaceful”
colleen246879, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“In new rooms around the pool”
rapton, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5