We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,209: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Let's start with the good points great location and room was clean and pleasant Service was hit and miss as hotel was busy felt staff on reception and in dining room were under pressure and no attention to detail or real care for each customer The tasting menu and paired wine was definitely overpriced £100 per head and was style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0yh0lmes
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I am very sorry that some elements of the stay were not to your satisfaction. I have passed on your comments regarding the food and service to the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef for discussion. I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities, particularly the outdoor heated pool. I...

Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had another fabulous stay at the Feversham, it's one of our favourite places in the country but unfortunately this time we didn't sleep at all, we did the spa stay & sleep deal which was lovely, the spa is great and our treatments were excellent. however the room we were given (11) was right next to the door into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank char719
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear char719, Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on the hotel. I am terribly sorry that you experienced a poor night's sleep as I understand how crucial this is when you have the chance to get away. If you feel able to return please ask for the reservations manager when you are booking, who will oversee...

manchester uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel but be wary of the food and drink . Imaginative food, little of it, but please £38.75 for a small steak and chips, not even cooked as asked..please wine at £10 a glass for cheap Italian .. Oh dear. Won't be going again except to sleep as the hotel is wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fentimans
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear fentimans, Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food and beverage element of your stay and I have passed your comments on to the Chef and the General Manager. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a spa weekend package at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary, I'm also 31 weeks pregnant and it is our last little break before baby arrives so I wanted some spa facilities that I could use and the outdoor pool won it for me. The week before we arrived I had a call to say they had made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ren832016
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and your comments. Thank you also for taking the time to discuss your stay with me at the hotel and allow me to offer suitable apologies and adjustments for you. I also mentioned at the time due to annual holiday leave, a written response would be forthcoming, upon my return to the property. I...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From start to finish we cannot fault this hotel. We have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world & would return to the Feversham arms at the drop of a hat!! We stayed on a Friday night for 2 nights in a spa suite room and took full advantage of everything the hotel offered. Champagne afternoon tea on arrival,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank-you so much for your kind words and such a fantastic review of the hotel. We're thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to sample all the hotel has to offer. Hopefully it won't be too long before you're able to come back for a return visit. Kind Regards,

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booking by telephone was an absolute joy so helpful. I explained I was booking a night away for my husband to celebrate his retirement. Upon arrival Ian looked after our luggage and our car wonderfully whilst Beth booked us in. She told us we had been upgraded how fantastic. She explained all we needed to know and showed us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katharine w
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katharine. Thank-you for your wonderful comments about the hotel and in particular your mention of Beth and the reservations process. Please be assured that this lovely feedback has been passed on. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Feversham when you next have the opportunity. Kind Regards,

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice friendly staff. Nice ambience. Real fires. Nice interior design - mixture of old and new. Super small town. Without being picky the bathroom in our room could have been cleaner and the piped music in the Weathercock dining room was just the loud side of intrusive morning and night (we aren't old fogeys- it was just a tad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on the hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed you stay throughout and I have passed on your comments regarding the cleanliness and the music. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards,

Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited in Oct 2016, a Birthday treat in an executive suite. One night only including use of Verbena Spa, dinner and breakfast on day 2. Enjoyed the outdoor pool in the Autumn sunshine very much, pool is heated. Relaxation lounge disappointed, ice water was tepid, and iced tea disgusting. Dinner also, (£45 allowance) disapointed too, tried to be al a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Barry, Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on the hotel. I am very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and enjoyed the outdoor pool. I do apologise that you were disappointed with other elements of your stay and have passed your comments on. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a Spa Suite for three nights in October. The room was spacious and the view over the pool area was lovely. Our teenage daughter was sleeping in the sofa bed in the lounge area of the suite (there are sliding doors between the 2 rooms) and we had to ask for a mattress topper because the sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OJ
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear OJ, Thank-you so much for posting such a thorough review of the hotel. I'm pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your comments regarding the spa, food and swimming pool to the relevant heads of department. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future....

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed with my partner on the me and you time offer we loved it spa was fantastic room was great and the staff were brilliant. Only thing we found was the evening meal which was included in our package was limited choice and not what we wanted but sure food was fab just not to our choice we told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delveclan

554 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,295 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
524 reviews
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 5 in Helmsley
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: ₹ 9,863 - ₹ 31,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Teeside
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spa rooms face inwards over the pool area and are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles OJ, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior executive room is quite basic for a special occasion - choose a suite for a bit of extra luxury”
 of 5 bubbles John121999, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Spa suites are very clean no dirt found”
 of 5 bubbles O1519IZannab, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I'd go for a pool suite again”
 of 5 bubbles A&MLeeds, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe Suite 33 has only one neighbouring balcony and is very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 500Mark, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay