We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alma Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 230: English reviews
Start your review of The Alma Inn
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with friends to this restaurant in a Saturday night. Restaurant very busy but sat in the conservatory at a lovely table. All had starters and mains, my haddock on bubble and squeak with a mustard sauce finished with a poached egg was to die for. Haven't been before since this restaurant changed to the seafood company but we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen l
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for joining us at The Alma Inn and many thanks for taking time to write us this lovely review... We are really proud that we have lived to your expectation and look forward to welcome you back. Once again thank you kindly...from myself and the TEAM Best wishes Mihai T

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for my sisters wedding in April. Only one night but wish it had been more. Great room , well decorated, good size and facilities, excellent views. Lovely pub downstairs. The wedding was well organised, facilities good, food good. Breakfast excellent. Very competitive prices!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbuchanan53
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jim, We are really happy that you have enjoyed your time with us at The Alma Inn... From the Alma TEAM we will like to thank you kindly for your lovely review, and please come again...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were booked in for two nights at Alma for business, and across the board it was an excellent stay. The staff were fantastic, extremely attentive and enthusiastic, the breakfasts were a great spread and as my colleague said 'the best scrambled egg he's ever eaten!', and the evening menu was broadly sampled and didn't disappoint one bit. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellis R
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ellis, It gives me/us great pride and pleasure to read your kind words. It was a privilege and a pleasure to have had you and your friends staying with us at The Alma... Please do not be a stranger, as we always like to welcome you good people back to set more ''things'' on fire :0) with kindest regards...

Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Attended a wedding at The Alma Inn last year and had a fabulous time . It was very organised , everything went to plan and the food was delicious . A excellent day was had by all . We didn't stay in the rooms as we live close by but everyone commented how nice the rooms were .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan b
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you kindly for taking time to write us this lovely review... We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time while at The Alma, and we look forward welcoming you again in near future. With kindest regards Mihai T

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Great ambience,lovely food,good beer.The new General Manager was friendly,charming,witty,helpful and very hands-on.The waitress was lovely.Plenty of comfortable sofas in front of fires to sit on before having your meal.We,ll be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matkinson5
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mr Matkinson, Thank you a kindly for your lovely review... we are very happy that you have enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to have you back at Alma. :) Kindest regards Mihai T

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

I won a competition to attend a fish demonstration followed by a 3 course fish inspired meal. Food was superb & service excellent we had a really great night & will visit again soon. Highly recommended for anybody looking for a special night out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenettedavies
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jenette and Davies, Thank you very much for your king words, they are really appreciated ... As we share our constructive comments with the team we are equally sharing the good one as everybody deserve a recognition for their effort and good work. We look forward having you as our guests in the near future Kind regards Mihai

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Now, while reading this review remember "the lobster broth" was very good. Sadly that's where it ends. We booked a table of four on a night, we were seated 40 minutes late, not because it was busy, they simple forgot we were eating. The starters were average, but not the broth that was good, told you! Two of us ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Marknvic2015
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marknvic, Thank you very much for taking time to write the above review... I am really sorry that I have been missed understood, I was just trying to apologise for not being up to the quality that we are normally, not realising that I may came across as arguing. If I may, I can reassure you that this wasn't...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We have visited this inn many times, and have also stayed there. We drove 15 miles to have Saturday lunch there and were told that the place had been booked exclusively for a wedding and that we would have to leave. We asked to speak to the manager, but he had mysteriously disappeared, we left our phone no. for him...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kate720
ManagerSPC, Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kate, We are really sorry that we have let you down this time...as you mentioned we had the pleasure to have you as our guests many time and you have never been disappointed. We did put notes of media ( e.g. Facebook, tweeter and our wed site ) and also we had a stand stating that it is a...

Barrowford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful evening we had! The Alma was very busy on our arrival (always a good sign) yet we were greeted warmly and attended to. Joe, the manager, was extremely attentive and so helpful throughout the evening even though the restaurant was full, he ensured the diners were happy and enjoying their experience. The meal was lovely- roast lamb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmichelle46
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your stay... It means a lot to us as a ''TEAM'' to hear that we enhance you evening, more so our colleagues Joe Lacey and Jordan Hadfield. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future....:) Kind regards Mihai

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Like most of our experiences, it is the kitchen not the front of house which lets The Seafood Company down. The roast lamb was diabolical ... all fat !! I felt sick . I felt I couldn't complain as we were with friends although afterwards they felt the same about the meal but never said because they felt awkward ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annie792
ManagerSPC, General Manager at The Alma Inn, responded to this review

Dear Annie, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience while at The Alma Inn, and I assure you that your comments are very much valued... Only through honest feed back we can look to improve our offering. I would like to personally apologise for the quality of your meal experienced during your dinning with us. It give...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colne
3.3 km away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
241 reviews
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
10.3 km away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
318 reviews
14.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
15.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Alma Inn

Address: Emmott Lane | Laneshawbridge, Colne BB8 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Colne
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel Colne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alma Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Alma Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don,t bother, room 3 looks out on to roofs.”
kate720, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As far as I know,all rooms are very good”
292martinj, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 9! is the best but all the rooms nice, even numbers best view. 6 and 8 both nice.”
CatherineK211, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not really applicable at there are only 9 rooms one of which (room9) is a large / honeymoon type room.”
MarkyMark-Burnley, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“when visiting ask for a table in the garden room”
Lancashiretogger, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5