We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Oak Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$ 119*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July. The room was very clean and comfortable and well decorated apart from the windows.Unfortunately they dont serve food on Monday evenings and we were directed to The Drax Arms up the road where we had a lovely meal. Had we have known beforehand we would have eaten on the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN403
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Royal Oak and found the room extremely spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. We enjoyed some lovely meals and the full English breakfast was well presented using good quality products. I would certainly recommend and plan to revisit later in the year

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjaphillips16
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed in room No 1 very large room with large shower 5 mins lovely breakfast home cook wiyh local produce,in the car to Monkey World and the Tank Museum. Also there is a lovely large beer garden in the back, this hotel is set in a lovely quite villiage

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Parc123
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were all pleased to here you had a nice stay and that you liked the room. I shall let my husband know that you enjoyed the garden also as that is his domain. Again many thanks for reviewing us Janette & the Team

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Arrived late Tuesday evening not booked in but ask the young lady behind the bar if they had a room for a couple of nights she was very helpful she spoke to the owner they had one room left the young lady Then showed us the room we were very impressed very large white and clean lovey bathroom walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with the curry and wish you had said something at the time. We were all pleased to hear that you were happy with the room and location and that you got to see the local attractions. You are welcome back...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Okay ... hmm... any place with British flag bunting all over the bar makes me feel slightly wary. Indeed there were some quite rude militant types hanging at the bar .. didnt really need their opinion on 'foreigners' thankyou very much. The barmaid, who saw us in, wasnt very welcoming. Saturday night drinks were a crappy collection of Carling and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kylie s
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not like the bunting in the bar it was there for the Queen's Street Party weekend here in the village and because of the football. As for the customers at the bar I am unable to comment on their opinions as it is just that, theirs not mine. I have...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Recently stayed here for a few nights and was very pleased with the recently renovated accommodation. Large, well appointed rooms. Excellent king sized bed. Limited but very well executed menu available for dinner. Superb full English breakfast (recommended). Very convenient for monkey world, Lulworth, Poole etc. Made most welcome by Jeanette and her staff (lovely people). We would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the food. Kind Regards Janette & the Team

Birmingham
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Recently visited The Royal Oak Hotel and stayed for two nights, What a fantastic place the whole place is spotless. the rooms are beautiful and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food was very nice. This hotel is set in the small but beautiful village of Bere Regis, A great base to explore 20 miles from Bournmouth.Weymouth and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andipallett
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and was able to go and see all that this area has to offer. Kind Regards Janette & the Team

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The rooms at the Royal Oak are excellent! Very large and spacious and very clean too. The shower room was sparkling and with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. Extras included a bathrobe, slippers, bottled water and home-made biscuits in addition to tea, coffee etc. Although the window frames had seen better days there was nothing to detract from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris P
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are absolutely right about the windows and you will be pleased to know they are part of the renovation jobs this year that we have started. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. Kind Regards Janette & the Team

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely stay before visiting a local Monkey Sanctuary. Would love to stay again. Cooked breakfast was perfect, top quality. The stay was worth every penny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IronShadow86
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed Monkey World. Thank you for taking the time to write a review Kind Regards Janette & the Team

Walsall
Reviewed 10 May 2016

A group of us stopped off for a quick bite to eat as we headed to Bournemouth for a weekend break. Staff were very accommodating and served up a dozen meals in record time. Food was good with decent sized portions. Fairly basic décor with a small beer garden to the rear. Only a flying visit but would go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diner, Thank you for writing your review and we are pleased you were happy with your food and look forward to welcoming you all back if your in the area again Kind Regards Janette & the Team

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
11.7 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
10.5 km away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
63 reviews
14.4 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
10.9 km away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
327 reviews
15.7 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We an Old Coaching Inn with 3 fully refurbished King Size Rooms with en-suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Price Range: ₹ 7,153 - ₹ 7,797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bere Regis, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Estes Park, United States
3 months ago
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one on the front, slight traffic noise from main road”
1RebeccaB93, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is in the back”
Parc123, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms all good.”
330anneg, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are well equiped Large king size beds double shower ensuite.”
andipallett, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent!”
ChrisP289, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 119* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates