We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Artist Loft B&B

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Artist Loft B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of The Artist Loft B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We holiday in porthleven 4 times a year and every time is amazes us! The accommodation was clean, beautiful bed sheets and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and gave detailed information on local attractions. Very good price for a 4!day stay. Local restaurants always give a beautiful meal! The whole area is peaceful and just an all round lovely place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed in the Loe Bar room, marketed as a "quiet room" at the rear. It was nice, clean and spacious, but that's the end of the good points. A humid day, but the fan didn't work, so the room was incredibly stuffy. Fortunately we could open the window, but then we discovered that the main entrance is not only immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
Corkers18, Manager at The Artist Loft B&B, responded to this review

Dear Rob J We are most disappointed that you did not find your stay satisfactory and we are sorry that you felt unable to report this to us directly. We were unable to locate your booking as it would appear it is not in your name so we were not able to identify when you stayed. Loe Bar Room is...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Trying to find any form of accommodation in Cornwall in August is hard, so I was delighted that the Artists Loft had an available room. All the rooms are very modern and comfortable and appear to have been refurbished quite recently. Bed very comfortable and roomy, modern bathroom with shower. Each room is accessed via a main front door at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here when we were making our wedding rings in Porthleven. We were a little worried about the reviews that the rooms would be stuffy but discovered you can open the windows and so it was no problem at all. The shower was amazing, the room was clean and had everything you needed. The location is ideal and Porthleven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen856
England
Reviewed 10 September 2016

First impressions were very good, the fridge with fresh milk a nice touch and the room was well furnished. However, like previous reviewers state, the windows in our room (Tregonning) were painted shut and couldn't be opened (I'm no weakling!). I see they claim to have fixed this but not for our room anyway. There is a large fan but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WestDevonCouple
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We called in to Porthleven Holiday Cottages on the off chance they had a room and were in luck as we hadn't booked anything. We were shown Looe Bar room and it was perfect. Bright, modern, perfect bed linen and a fabulous shower. There is an outside decked seating area too. The location was great, just around the corner from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nic&Ade
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Lovely experience. I stayed in the 'Harbour View' room which, as the name would suggest, had a beautiful view of the whole harbour which could be seen from the bed. Perfect. Room was spotless and there was enough storage for the two nights that I stayed. The bathroom was modern and clean, with a nice powerful shower. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a spacious Salt cellar room with a comfortable king sized bed. The bathroom was nice and the room clean. It's A moments walk from everything the town has to offer and very close to the coastal path. Compared to other places similarly priced this was better. The down side is that the doors bang and the room lets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

this was our second stay at the Artist Loft, we stayed again because of the location and price. During our first stay we stayed in Looe Bar on this visit it was Tregonning. Positives Excellent location Clean and modern with nice decor Not having to get up at 7am for breakfast Free parking Nice outside area for sitting and enjoying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
Jo B, Guest Relations Manager at The Artist Loft B&B, responded to this review

Thank-you for review and we are very sorry that you found the rooms so hot. We had recently undertaken external decorations and this had caused an issue with the windows not opening. The spell of very good weather meant that the rooms were hotter than they usually would be at this time of year. As you pointed oit - each...

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We stayed in Tregonning and couldn't fault the room which was very clean and well maintained with a large modern bathroom with lovely shower. It was nice to have a fridge in the room which was stocked with fresh milk for our arrival. The only downside is that there was no ventilation in the room. The bathroom window isn't one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debs053

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
8.2 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
763 reviews
8.7 km away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
199 reviews
18.2 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
40 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Artist's Loft B&B offers beautifully appointed en-suite rooms in the heart of Porthleven village, south west Cornwall. All rooms have en-suite shower facilities, flat screen TV with DVD, free Wifi, mini fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and a communal outside terrace. Breakfast vouchers are included in the price so guests can have breakfast at their leisure at a select number of cafe's in the village. The B&B is located close to the harbour and we offer free parking in our dedicated car park, just 2 minutes from the Artist Loft. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Artist Loft B&B

Address: 10 Fore Street, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Artist Loft B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“'Harbour View' rooms views are just stunning - although twin room (not double)”
clairet328, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Harbour View room has a view of the harbor from the side window. This is a twin room.”
Petapickle, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
“The Salt Cellar was the quieter of our 3 rooms as The Harbour View and Tregonning were on the main street and the through traffic was a little noisy but it didn't spoil our stay.”
Plymouthian_9, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Penrose is good if you like baths rather than showers. Tregonning is great if you like large beds. My friend stayed in Harbour View, which had the best view and the most light owing to having two windows.”
31jennifern, 27 May 2014 | Read review
“Harbour View has the best view of the town and is quiet at night times.”
234emilyf, 22 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5