We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Eleftherios Venizelos, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500 Greece
E-mail hotel
14 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$346
Hotels.com$346
Travelocity$346
Priceline$350
Orbitz.com$346
Prestigia.com$359
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1931)
Pool & Beach (562)
Videos (1)

About

#12 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled among a vast and verdant private peninsula, Out of the Blue Resort introduces guests to a stunning sanctuary of luxury, family-friendly entertainment and inspiring Cretan hospitality. The splendid resort looks out to endless azure vistas and offers accommodation to suit every need. From family bungalows to luxury suites and 3 villas with their own private pools, every stay is tailor-made to make your vacation your favourite summertime memory. Delicious gastronomy promises to take you on a trip through incredible flavours, numerous swimming pools offer endless fun while water sports cater to adrenaline lovers. Children can roam safely and play to their hearts’ content as they come face to face with the island’s dazzling history in the Minoan Amusement Park. Out of the Blue Resort’s exceptional spa services are also available, promising to rejuvenate you from the inside out while the endless evening entertainment options initiate you in a sensational vacation tinged with Crete’s indisputable allure.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Waterslide
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 2 more

Location

Full view
73Somewhat walkable
Grade: 73 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
4Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1592Reviews87Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 760
  • 399
  • 194
  • 132
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mateusz W wrote a review 19 Jun
1 contribution
+1
Hotel is wonderfull...beautifull view with many hidden places like beach or view platforms,gardens..but what makes me back to this hotel in first place ? Is staff...so wonderfull people especially miss Georgia and Stella from beach bar and miss Elena from main bar....you make our holiday a true heaven on earth for two weeks...we will never forget you ;* Out of the Blue Hotel ...you may be proud of your Staff....see u in feature 🏖️
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Clara M wrote a review 17 Jun
1 contribution
Positives: lovely staff, food fairly good and varied, restaurant location beautiful overlooking private bay, absolutely stunning location and botanical gardens (amazing work from the grounds team), both beaches lovely and relaxing. Great to have free loungers even on public beach. Water crystal clear. Town itself lovely with a good range of eateries along the waterfront. Mobility issues: the hotel is on a very hilly peninsula and not suitable for those with any mobility issues. The classic rooms are either in the main hotel with a shower over bath which many can't access, or what is called a 'bungalow'. Be aware that this does not mean the same as in UK.. The bungalows seem to be over two levels. You enter on top floor to lounge then have to go down marble steps no handrail to bedroom and bathroom. Various pools either have ladder access or steps but again no handrail. As a result my family member was unable to shower or use any pool. Hotel has lots of steps around and rarely with handrails. They do have lots of golf buggies to ferry people around and this was much needed. Room for improvement: hotel looks a bit tired in places and is in need of some improvement. Looks like they are doing this but it's a huge site so will take time. I would say current standard feels more 3* at present. Loud music and entertainment from French tui team at classic pool and on main terrace early evenings. Lack of information on booking as to what all inclusive involved. It only includes a la carte restaurant one night per week and when we went to 'seasalt and rosemary' only certain menu items were included which was disappointing. Not that we needed snacks, but didn't seem to be much available just some small rolls, whereas at 5*all Inc you expect a wide range of offerings. Poor signage throughout the whole resort. No clear advertising of entertainment e.g.we missed most of a traditional dancing event. I would consider returning if I found a cheap enough deal and didn't have anyone with mobility issues with us. But I'd be careful about the room I book.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
gedomagala wrote a review Sep 2021
Warsaw, Poland27 contributions14 helpful votes
The only positive I could write is the location - really amazing. Beautiful views, the area with lots of plants and trees. All the rest - very poor. Food in the restaurant - some dishes looked like being prepared from frozen food. Poor quality of "juices" - tasted like being diluted from concentrates. Cocktails at the bar served in plastic cups with local alcohol and local soft drinks (poured from big PET bottles). For 5-star hotel this service is unacceptable. Despite having all-inclusive option, we have been eating dinners outside at local restaurants, where we could have real greek food. On their website they informed that due to COVID some amenities could be closed, but in reality out of 7 pools only 2 (1 regular and 1 small) were open. And they did not offer any other attractions except for extra paid gaming room. In the offer they claimed you get minibar filled with soft drinks - true BUT to get it you had to go to the bar and ask them for those soft drinks. And then you get 1L PET bottles of local cola and orange carbonated drinks that-surprisingly- did not fit the size of mini-cooler shelves in the room. Overall - would not recommend going there unless they changed their approach and improve service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Teraz Y wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
It was the best holiday we ever had as a family thanks to incredibly helpful and fiendly people from the resort and such a beautiful place with amazing plants, flowers, gardens and sea view from the clifs. We love Crete and Agia Pelagia, which is so calm, quiet and charming village, ideal for families and people who want to relax and stay close to the nature. It is also perfect spot for visiting the other parts of the island by rental car: mountains, archeological sites, sweet villages. The hotel is located in amazing and breathtaking penisula where you can walk for hours. The bay & beach are safe and ideal for kids. Sea water so clean and calm. Tatiana, great and proffesional menager, make all our whish come true. All staff was so helpful and friendly that we highly reccomend to stay in the resort. Our two weeks were to less. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: It is not a place for people looking for nightlife, fun with loud musuc and alcohol. It is a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Hugo wrote a review Sep 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands7 contributions
We came here last August and liked it so much we decided to book again for September. That was a good decision! Beautiful resort with stunning views. Staff in the whole hotel is very friendly and helpful. Food is good, fresh and varied : we very much enjoy our meals. We have a room on the 2nd floor in the main building with a breathtaking view over Agia Pelagia, the sea and the hotel garden. Rooms are cleaned well and every day. Balcony is large. Private beach is also lovely, there is a nice bar, clean bathrooms and the sea water is crystal clear: bring your snorkel glasses! We also used the gym a lot. All in all Capsis Out of the Blue is a great venue with a very friendly staff: relaxing and comfortable holidays guaranteed! Photos: balcony view by day, by night & the private beach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Dimitra-Dave Netherlands wrote a review Aug 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
We had a great time in the hotel. All personnel along with management team were super helpful and super kind and friendly. The premises are super nice especially for families with children. We highly recommend this resort for the excellent service and luxurious rooms. Nice food , relax atmosphere..nice cocktails.. We surely will visit again soon..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Lucie K wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Unfortunately half of the resort is not open, including restaurants and swimming pools.. The privat beach is quit small and there is not enough sunbeds for all guests.. Despite the fact that privat area for exclusive collection is all the time almost empty and guests from other rooms can't use them. Crazy. It´s a big game and you have to wake up very early if you don't want to lay on the ground all day, every day. The same for pools! You have no chance during the day move from the beach to the pool and get some sunbeds and that was the most annoying thing during our holiday... On the other side we got a very nice room with a cleaning servise every day. Food and drinks are good. Very similar every day, but you can always choose. Another unpleasant experience was when we wanted to make a reservation for dinner in A La Carte Restaurant 4 days before our leave and apparently was too late and fully booked, but restaurant really doesn't seem that. There is a lot of thing and places to improve so that the hotel deserves 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media, Marketing at Out of the Blue Resort
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Dear Lucie, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with you room and that you enjoyed the food and drinks offered at the hotel! On the other hand, we are sorry about the difficulties you encountered regarding the sunbeds and restaurant reservation, we have forwarded your observations to the teams in charge in order to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, ONP Social Media Team
Read more
Ay B wrote a review Aug 2021
The Hague, The Netherlands3 contributions12 helpful votes
the location of the hotel is great, close to the village with beautiful views. But with most (75%) of the facilities being closed the hotel is more a sleeping beauty than a gem. There is a lot of overdue maintenance, which does not help the experience you expect from a 5 star hotel. The service level is far from what I would call 5 stars! At the bars which where open, the service level is really bad, employees not being friendly at all expect when they get big tips. most bars close at 11 pm, the staff start to clean up 30 mins prior to closing, which means even slower service than usual, and some times ending up with no ice or some drinks being unavailable. There is some variation in food at the buffet restaurant, but the quality is poor. I expected more fresh veggies from this hotel, who say to grow their own veggies. Also most restaurants where closed. Not shared if and how guests can book in the one and only ‘a la cart’ or Kosher restaurant? The rosemary has a great view, but most of the food is for extra pay (€40 for a steak!!!) and very poor quality of food (to oily, uncooked fish etc). We gave up on the food at the hotel and went to the boulevard, where is a great variation of restaurants. Almyra was the best, with very friendly staff and the best fresh fish! Don’t forget the cocktails and wines at Almyra! Gardens are good maintained, rest of the facilities are not clean (such as toilets and showers at beach area). Rooms are cleaned, but not dusted properly and under the bed, dusty and dirty. Very poor and unfriendly service especially at the reception, one of the gentlemen being rude to guests, others arguing behind the desk while guests waiting . The guest relations lady (Tania) is great and knows her work and does what she can to help guest! Service at bars and restaurant is really bad, poor and unfriendly even sometimes grumpy staff. Wellness Closed for most of the services and the one at the beach area did not look very inviting. Just 2 (of the promised 7!) pools were open. Never (in my two weeks visit) been able to use a sunbed! As mentioned at the start. Great location but not a 5 star hotel at all!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ask for a room in lifestyle building and skip all inclusive, eat at boulevard, worth the money!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media, Marketing at Out of the Blue Resort
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Dear aygunb2014, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at our hotel. While we are happy that you enjoyed our location and environment, we are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the other aspects of your holiday with us. Many of the issues you describe stem from the Covid requirements placed by the Greek government, but some show that you did not experience the 5-star service that we strive to provide. We would like to assure you that your comments will be passed on to the respective teams to check and discuss improvements. We do hope to have the opportunity to change your experience for the better by welcoming you back at a future time Kind Regards, ONP Social Media Team
Read more
Jason G wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very happy with the service and location of this hotel. Staff were helpful. They helped us book activities around the area and were always pleasant. Many souvenir shops around the area and tavernas, bars cafeterias. Look for something to do outside the village.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media, Marketing at Out of the Blue Resort
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Dear Jason, Thank you for the lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed our staff's service and were happy with our location. We hope you had a great time in Crete and enjoyed the activities you booked! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, ONP Social Media Team
Read more
Stavr0sO wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Incredible resort at a unique location. Had a family villa for me, my wife and our son. Genuine hospitality offered by everyone in the hotel. The villa was spacious, at a quiet and semi private location in the resort, with a large swimming pool overlooking Agia Pelagia village and beach. All facilities and kids facilities were great and the personnel made our visit count! Fantastic private beach and a great a la carte option at the Seasalt and Rosemary tavern!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Katerina Chryssikopoulou, Marketing at Out of the Blue Resort
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about your holiday at our resort! We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and that you were satisfied with your accommodation. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and found the Seasalt & Rosemary cuisine great! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon! In the meantime, if you are so inclined, please find us on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter for all the latest news and events happening in our resort. Kind Regards, ONP Social Media Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$44 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
out of the blue, capsis elite hotel agia pelagia, hilton garden inn malia, sofitel agia pelagia, agia pelagia sofitel
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureAgia Pelagia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
465
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Out of the Blue Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Out of the Blue Resort?
Nearby attractions include Nefeli Bar (0.2 km), Agia Pelagia Beach (0.3 km), and Venus Shop (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Out of the Blue Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Out of the Blue Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Out of the Blue Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Out of the Blue Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Out of the Blue Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bravo Seafood Restaurant, Mythos taverna, and O Nikolas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Out of the Blue Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Out of the Blue Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Out of the Blue Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Out of the Blue Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Out of the Blue Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Out of the Blue Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Enetiki Epavli ton Monidon (4.9 km).