We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schloss Seggau

1.2 km from Leibnitz centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Seggauberg 1, Leibnitz 8430, Austria
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Schloss Seggau
 Click to rate
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This venue gets 5/5 for the views and architecture. Brilliant for a business meeting, meeting rooms good, bedrooms fantastic. My wife was happy enough there for 2 days, but a longer stay would push someone not happy walking/painting/reading.

Thank Fitzsy
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 4 June 2016

This is a very special and nice hotel. It combines modern design and comfort with the medieval flair of a monastery. The staff is very friendly and competent. The view from the room over the landscape was great. The restaurant has very nice offerings.

Thank swimmingp00l
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Extremely astonished to end up with bed bugs from one night stay in this place. We arrived late in the evening and we were overcharged with 160 euro for a double room . Then next day we realised we have bed bugs Room 311 in main building More upsetting as we have a 6 months old who bed shares

1Thank CG2015new
Helmut K, Manager at Schloss Seggau, responded to this review

We are extremely disconcerted by your statement as we never got any complaint about „bed bugs“ before. Besides you didn´t report that to our reception or to any other department during your stay! We strictly deny this claim and state this as a false accusation.

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2015

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location in the hills above Leibnitz was peaceful and relaxing. Very close to lots of local points of interest, especially local Buschenschank (wine tavern). Wonderful historic castle with great photo opportunities. Very modern hotel rooms and facilities.

Thank Brandon S
Helmut K, Manager at Schloss Seggau, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback! We are glad, that you`ve had a enjoyable stay in our castle. We hope we will see us again!

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I visited Schloss Seggau for my Austrian friend's wedding and it was incredible. This place has so much to offer. The castle itself is an old historical building that dates back to the 13th century. There is a vineyard on the grounds and guests have great opportunities to taste local wine. The food in the restaurant as well as the...

Thank Danuta2812
Helmut K, Manager at Schloss Seggau, responded to this review

Dear Danuta2812, thank you for your nice comment. I am glad, that you have enjoyed your stay in the castle! We hope, we will see you again! Georg Tscheppe hotel- and congressmanager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Beautifully located and tucked away between the hilly area within Styria - the castle is scenically complemented by the ample vineyards that are within a stones throw from the castle itself. I spent 4 days here as part of a conference and lived in one of the apartment units in the secondary building. It was clean, the service was friendly...

Thank gregrrr
Helmut K, General Manager at Schloss Seggau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. gregrr, thank you for your nice feedback. Yes, it is right, that we have no W-LAN in the appartments. But that is also the only place in the hole hotel. All other rooms are equipped with W-LAN.

Reviewed 30 July 2015

A former bishop's castle, Schloss Seggau sits on a hill above the (slightly dull) town of Leibniz. Take the tour into the bishop's rooms and you'll see an amazing baroque chapel and portraits of the bishops dating back to the 1400s. Book a 'superior' room and you'll be in the modern addition to the Schloss, finished to a very high...

Thank londonberlin
Helmut K, General Manager at Schloss Seggau, responded to this review

Dear londonberlin, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy, that it absolutly fitted the bill for you. We will change something at our website, that we don´t untersell our hotel in future :-)! Your sincerly Helmut Kirchengast

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have spent two weeks in the castle which is actually a very nice milieu for conferences and meetings. I saw people organized weddings and other events as well. Indeed, the structure has been recently restored and it combines classic elements of medieval architecture with modern, classy ones. They have a restauant, food is eccellent, and a cafeteria, a little...

1Thank LNVoyageuse
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for meetings and conference. My room was very simply furnished but with everything I needed. Good atmosphere in lovely surroundings! The location is fantastic! Farms, forests and hills surrounded the hotel.

1Thank HanneMari
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at Schloss Seggau for a conference. The room was nice and spacious and the surroundings lovely. The castle grounds would be covered in mist during the mornings creating a special atmosphere. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was good. The restaurant and bar serves local wine.

1Thank gremlina

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (29)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leibnitz
1.5 km away
#1 of 5 in Leibnitz
44 reviews
8.4 km away
LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark
1.4 km away
Hotel Restaurant Roemerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
#1 of 5 in Gamlitz
34 reviews
9.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Gollner
1.1 km away
Zur Alten Post Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Schloss Seggau

Address: Seggauberg 1, Leibnitz 8430, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Leibnitz
Price Range: ₹ 10,457 - ₹ 11,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Schloss Seggau 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Schloss Seggau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Schloss Seggau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose superior rooms in modern block”
 of 5 bubbles londonberlin, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“To avoid noise, choose a room looking out rather than in over the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 507AndrewM507, 1 Aug 2013 | Read review
“You will find the bigger rooms in the new building”
 of 5 bubbles knabberbox, 8 Jun 2011 | Read review
3 of 3