We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Uhuru Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Uhuru Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Uhuru Beach
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel/lodge set up is great and it is ideal for a person looking for a budget room. However, they will have to live with the cold water only. I requested for a sea facing bangalore and upon my arrival I received a bangalore which is in the corner and the room was smelling. The friendly stuff assisted cleaning up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tariqsulemana
Lula M, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review

Yes your room was on the corner but I had not promised a room sea facing. It's difficult because we have only three family rooms and the other two were booked. The room is still side facing the sea and garden and is meters from the sea.We found you quite a difficult guest with demands that were hard for us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The owner Anna is a very passionate woman who puts her customers needs first, she is very flexible, helpful and kind! Furthermore the food is amazing and the place is perfect for a relaxing holiday but you can also go exploring the area on your own or on guided tours (diving, surfing, caves, markets, partying etc.) if you desire. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
Sibiu
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a mixed group of people and we booked the rooms online. Likes: management was helpful and friendly; payment was flexible in USD, TSH, EUR, Paypal at very fair rates; common area of restaurant, bar were beautiful; dive centre and kite school right there; beautiful setting directly by the beach. Dislikes: serious need of deep cleaning of the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razvan S
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The location is great and the bungalows are nice, but it needs rethinking and renovation asap. There was no running water in our room, while the employees were watering the plants... The electricity went down often as well, but this is a problem of the island in general. Breakfast was really poor (only eggs and jam), but the food for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andradraghiciu
Lula M, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review

Hi I am surprised at your review as you were in a newly renovated room. Our guests have really loved the new rooms. Yes we had a problem with water in the morning in your room which you brought to my attention we have now fixed that problem. You had no water for about one hour each morning when they...

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Anna is the lovely manager at this beautiful spot. Great food, lovely people and Kite school and diving school on the spot and there the teachers are very pro and kind. , Thanks everyone for making our stay amazing Iris and Co

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at Uhuru Beach. I had fantastic sea food for lunch and I have to say that the staff is very friendly and helpful. En-suite basic rooms are functional, comfortable and right in front of the beach. Transfers were nicely organised. I would totally recommend this high value-for-money place. Excellent location. Tip: if they have chocolate cake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 February 2017

2 weeks was not enough. We had the most fantastic relaxing holiday ever. The location is beautiful....... the staff wonderful....... cottages were beautiful and clean with sea view..........Anna is very accommodating.............. Don't hesitate to book this venue for your divine holiday............. Really and truly recommend this resort. A wonderful experience with plenty of unbelievable memories. Book now before its too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coleen2017
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This hotel is perfect if you want to have some privacy and a place where you can relax, without noisy clubs or hotels nearby. It offers free breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking. The beds are ample and comfortable. You can choose to eat at the restaurant of the hotel where the food is delicious or other restaurants nearby. The bar on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olga T
Etterbeek, Belgium
Reviewed 16 January 2017

2 weeks in paradise. This hotel is perfect if you want to have some privacy but want to be close to some action as well. The beds are comfortable. If you want quiet and privacy ask for a room in the back of the property far from the main building. You can choose to eat at the restaurant of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judineni
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Perfect beach with emerald sea, good for swimming and sailing with traditional dhow. Cottages are beautiful with sea view. Definitely zen place. Even if you are not a 'beach' kind of person, this place is absolutely must see in Zanzibar. Food is delicious. All aerea is stylish and nice decorated (bathroom is very interesting).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anja K

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.9 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
223 reviews
0.7 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
542 reviews
5.0 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
4.3 km away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.8 km away
Villaggio Seconda Stella a Destra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Uhuru Beach (formerly Shehe Bungalows) is situated on the lovely coastlines of Zanzibar island at Jambiani village on the east coast of the island. It is a beautiful, intimate place, is perfect for those looking for relaxation on an idyllic tropical island, based in whitewashed, thatched beach bungalows, the spacious, airy rooms are decorated in traditional Zanzibar design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Uhuru Beach

Address: | East Coast of Zanzibar, Fishing Village of Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Shehe Bungalows)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Price Range: ₹ 2,291 - ₹ 4,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Uhuru Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shehe Bungalows Hotel Jambiani
Uhuru Beach Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Uhuru Beach staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Uhuru Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid room 8”
 of 5 bubbles andradraghiciu, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No. 6 for a couple.............. excellent............newly renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles coleen2017, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 995olgat, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“best sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 242anjak, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“maybe just say the room kevin and his kids stayed in”
 of 5 bubbles THETRUTHCornwall, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5