We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel

0.0 km from Jambiani centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Kibigija Beach, Jambiani, Tanzania
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived to Sea view lodge at noon after a sleepless night at a different hotel. We asked if they had a room, since we had heard good things from friends. It was actually fully booked, but Farouk, the owner, made the effort and arranged so that we could stay in an extra room by the reception for a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikteolindholm
Sea View Lodge Z, Front Office Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erik, We have done nothing but our duty after all its guests like you that keep us going. We sincerely thank you for your wonderful feedback and hpoe to welcome you and your friends yet again. We wish you happy travels. Kind regards, Sea View Team.

Paris
Reviewed 13 January 2017

So where to start from? The good or dark side? Just for info I managed a 10 rooms lodge for 6 years in Africa so I do think I am able to have a pertinent and objective critic regarding the industry. So here I am a holiday week in the small island of Zanzibar all inclusive: beautiful sandy sunny beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magali V
Sea View Lodge Z, Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your 3-day stay (and not four as you mentioned) in Oct 2016.( 4 months ago ) Talk about "pole pole"?. Kindly be informed, we did not, do not and do not even intend to do an all inclusive offer, you seem to have some confusion in your feedback. I wish you happier holidays for...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We had 7 wonderfull days in Sea View Lodge! The staff was very friendly and helpfull! The food was great! We stayed in the Dodoji room and had the terrace with the best ocean view! It was probably one of the most appealing places in Jambiani. Great swimmingpool with a beautiful and perfectly maintained garden and a lot of cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liesbethjohan
Sea View Lodge Z, Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liesbeth Johan, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure to have the chance to welcome and serve you at Sea View Lodge. We hope to see you in not too distant a future. Wishing you happy travels. Sea View Team.

Lardos, Greece
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I have stayed for 2 nights with my family . The place is great. Farouk and Esther and all the staff are polite and always want to help you. The room is big with a small terrace opposite to the swimming pool. Great for kids to play all day. IN The restaurant THE sea food are fresh. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MngsmartlineEllia
Sea View Lodge Z, Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ellia for your kind feedback. It was a great pleasure having you and your family at Sea View Lodge, we hope to see you soon in Rhodes Island. Sea View Lodge Team.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This has been the worst experience of any hotel I have ever stayed in. First, the toilet was broken, then the lock to the room fell off, followed by the air conditioning not working and all this at $145 USD a night. It took 6 hours for them to fix the toilet and lock. They finally gave up on fixing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HikerJo
Sea View Lodge Z, Owner at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I, the owner would simply like to state the following points. Hiker Jo, due to a minor loose door knob, which (was tightened) and a stuck floater in the flush ( which was seen to within 10 minutes )you kept consulting 1) the restaurant barman, 2 ) the gardener, 3) my maintenance man etc. At this point, Yes, I found...

Avigliana, Italy
Reviewed 25 December 2016

I stayed at the Sea View for 12 days between the end of October and the beginning of November. It was a solo trip and it has been amazing. The staff was really kind, a special thanks to Mr. Farouk, the owner, who has been really friendly! The place is perfect both for relax and adventurous travellers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lodoblack
Sea View Lodge Z, Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lodovica, Thank you very much for your kind words, its such a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us at Sea View Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you, your family or friends in not too distant a future. Thanking you again. Kind regards, SVL Team

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Took a lunch during our walk down the beach. The setting is ok, you are almost sitting on the beach with your feet in the sand. Food is not so good though. Fish was overcooked and the calimari where fried to long. Friendly staff. The pizza did look and smell good but we didn't eat that since we are in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Femke Z
Sea View Lodge Z, Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your incomprehensible feedback. Never can understand why the meal is totally eaten and despite having been asked is not complained about ; so as to put us in the condition to rectify if is not unto standard. As for Pizza's I believe it is now an international dish and YES even Zanzibaris appreciate Pizza. Wishing you happy...

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed 5 nights at the sea front room Kima. WE WOULD NEVER COME BACK!!! go somewhere else nearby: OysterBlue or Mwezi (excellent resturant, we went three times and could use the pool for free). We were very badly welcomed at the reception, they asked for the confirmation print out or proof for 15 minutes without which they hesitated to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vic0538
Sea View Lodge Z, Owner at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Victoria, Please be informed of the following: 1) you did not have to wait for 15 minutes but were simply requested to bring us the proof of reservation as we are instructed by Expedia to do so.We however let you in the room without the confirmation risking not to get paid. infect you kept saying you could not...

Hogland
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We did not stay here, but only had lunch. Nice location on the beach. Menu a bit limited. Prices are high compared to other spots close by. Staff nice, but "Big boss" was strange, not wanting us around

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Big_Red_C
Sea View Lodge Z, Manager at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would however like to clarify that our menu is not by any means limited, we have 3 cuisines- Zanzibarian, Italian and Indian, the menu is divided in 5 categories- seafood dishes, beef and chicken, vegetarian, pasta, sandwiches and burgers. All of which amounting to some 60 different dishes. Hardly limited for fresh cooking. As...

Covington, Georgia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Sea View Lodge is a hidden treasure. This was my very first trip to Africa. I was in awe of the beautiful beach and weather. The ocean view is amazing! The lodge has only about 11 units, which made it more personable. The staff made you feel right at home. Beautiful and clean accomodations both in and outdoors. The weather...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaM23716
Farouk S, Owner at Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Nothing could make our day nicer than reading your wonderful feed back to start of the day. Thank you, we hope to well come you or / and your friends in the near future. Hopefully we will succeed in bettering our small hotel and its services. wishing you happy travels, Kind regards, Farouk and the SVL Team

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.7 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
536 reviews
3.8 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
220 reviews
2.0 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,432 reviews
0.0 km away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
3.6 km away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small privately owned and run lodge which has had a further three bungalows built this year. Totalling eleven bungalows with five facing the Indian Ocean; and six by the poolside. Home cooking which includes Italian cuisine, Indian cuisine ( prepared by our resident Chef Sanjay from Dehli ) besides local Zanzibarian cooking. Ideal place for a totally relaxing holiday . Clean, quiet and peaceful. No request is out of place; please ask and we will endeavour our best to comply. Perfect place to relax to and detox. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel

Address: Kibigija Beach, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Sea View Lodge)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Price Range: ₹ 6,636 - ₹ 11,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dodoji has the best terrace overlooking the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles Liesbethjohan, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“good view of the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles vic0538, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the beach side rooms, very musty and worn out!”
 of 5 bubbles MarNL, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Couples can enjoy the SeeView, Families have Pool View - both are perfect”
 of 5 bubbles V8206LVthomass, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms are bigger but two bed rooms have ocean's view and of course smaller”
 of 5 bubbles 142haleh, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5