We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hosteria Nantu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hosteria Nantu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2015

I spent 10 days at the Nantu in room# 10. The property is family run and I totally appreciated their genuine friendliness and their attention to making my stay very pleasant. My breakfast was served upstairs overlooking the ocean each morning. My room was clean and quiet. The owners are hands on and know the town like the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jbthai1952
NantuHotel, Gerente at Hotel Hosteria Nantu, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review, it was a pleasure to have you at Nantu. Hope you can visit Us some day again.

Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I traveled for three months in Ecuador, we stayed at nantu in the beginning of our trip then went all over Ecuador and ended up coming back to nantu and staying for an entire month. Mauritz and Andrea were extremely friendly and helpful, as well as fluent English speakers which was a huge plus. They have worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Q
NantuHosteria, Gerente at Hotel Hosteria Nantu, responded to this review

Thanks Anthony. It was a pleasure for Us to met you. Hope to see you some day again. We really enjoy your visit at Nantu. There are lots of good changes at the hotel now with rooms and decoration. And the boat is ready to be use as a room. Thanks for the review.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The location of this hotel is right off of the beach; however, between the hotel and the beach the town is constructing a malecon. The noise was horrendous when we arrived; it was so bad the main building was shaking as we sat and tried to find alternative accommodation on our ipad. The hotel had not warned us of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J M
Aalst, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My partner Silvie L wrote a review. Unfortunately the hosteria relied by saying that we were not honest. Yes it was true that we tried to book something else in advance which happend to be fully booked. So we booked at Nantu. And the truth is that if it would have been fine, we would have stayed. But it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruud P
NantuHosteria, Gerente at Hotel Hosteria Nantu, responded to this review

Thanks again for the comment about Hosteria Nantu, and also for the pictures you provide. We never argue about construction at the malecon it is known by everyone that Puerto Lopez is under construction because the goverment is making some improvements in the area (MALECON), you can look over newspapers about Ecuador and Machalilla National Park and read all the...

Reviewed 13 July 2015

We arrived at Nantu after an eight hour journey. When we walked in we first saw the builders in front of the hotel. Next we saw the woman in the reception. She didn't smile and asked several times who we were. After she found our booking she gave us the key, the remote controls for airco and tv and poined...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvie L
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Location -a few short blocks from Puerto Lopez center-makes all the difference as far as noise factor, especially weekends or holidays.Not only Nantu is clean and charming, but also the only hostel with its own generator -back up for power outages, which are common in the area. During this past Easter weekend we had full lights, AC and music, while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awa909
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Wonderful place to stay, despite construction right out front. There is construction happening on the beach that strechtes for quite aways with barriers between the beach road, so no view of beach, which is OK as the beach is very trashy. You come to Putero Lopez to go out to the islands to see the birds. Nantu is very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind B
Reviewed 22 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed four nights at Nantu and I really enjoyed it. It is a relaxed, clean and friendly place. At the time of my stay Michelle gave free yoga lessons in the morning. I absolutely loved it! Unfortunately she will not stay there for a long time, but if you visit within January 2015 you might be able to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anette T
Reviewed 15 December 2014 via mobile

Great Energy, Charm and Beauty..We just loved it here was so comfortable. Room #1 your pool, hot tub (hot) just out your front door. We used all the time quiet and relaxing. Free Yoga classes each morning Pool Side, Great Instructor...Fabulous Massages...Great Food...Nice Clean Room...Friendly Staff.. We enjoyed our 4 day stay, will definitely come back..Best Place to Stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ookelly
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Walking through the gates of Nantu is like entering another world. The friendly owners, Mauritz and Andrea, are constantly maintaining and making custom enhancements to this magical property. The entire staff is cheerful and go out of their way to make sure everyone is comfortable and happy. Every room has it's own unique charm, is very clean and complete with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank universalangel

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
122 reviews
0.7 km away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
112 reviews
0.5 km away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#3 of 22 in Puerto Lopez
109 reviews
1.3 km away
Hostal Monte Libano
Hostal Monte Libano
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
95 reviews
0.9 km away
Maremonti B&B
Maremonti B&B
#6 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nantu hosteria is located in front of the beach in puerto lopez, we have confortable rooms with a/c, private bathroom, hot water, cable tv. Our cafeteria offers gourmet and local coffee for espressos and more options, our restaurant offers local seafood & steaks as our specialty, we have pool, jacussi, bar, wi-fi in all areas, parking & many details that will make you feel like home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hosteria Nantu

Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta | Frente al Mar, Puerto Lopez 130315, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Price Range: ₹ 2,750 - ₹ 5,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hosteria Nantu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hosteria Nantu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hosteria Nantu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hosteria Nantu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Nantu suite, up front, was great. Wonderful view of the beach, and you could hear the waves while you sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles lynn258, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's a small propert and there are lots of special rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Jbthai1952, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The rooms in back are better value, with a/c.”
 of 5 bubbles rosalindb651, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“While you might be able to get a room just dropping by, more likely you will need reservations due to Nantu's popularity. If you prefer a certain room, definitely make your reservations as far in advance as possible. You can also request rooms with an a/c ( a few have comfortable fans which has always been fine for me).”
 of 5 bubbles universalangel, 6 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The cabins were cozy”
 of 5 bubbles Jo-Granados, 22 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5