We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

TravelocityUS$ 161*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 161*
US$ 161*
US$ 161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 874: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked a "special" for one Sunday night and when we arrived were directed to The Perigrine Room in "The Annex" . This is a separate building from the main hotel. The room was tiny with barely room to get around the bed, looked out on the parking lot, and had an unpleasant "musty" smell. On returning to the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Onx23mm
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however we are not too happy with the way some of your comments have gone. By your own admission you booked a "special deal" which was a standard at a reduced price. Your comments regarding the room in the lodge house were obviously made to gain an upgrade at no extra charge which you were...

Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and our 8 month old daughter I stayed at the Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel for two nights on our whistle-stop tour of the highlands and we are so grateful that we did!!! From the warm and friendly welcome we received on arrival, to the generously proportioned and beautifully designed room and the exceptional quality of food available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeandLornaZ
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our large superior rooms. Our staff really appreciate positive feedback and makes their job feel worthwhile during a busy summer season. Please return at any time. Kind regards

Melbourne
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a comfortable three-star lodge with an exciting surprise - the restaurant. Knowing we'd be sight-seeing all day, we opted for space over views when booking, and we were very happy with our adjoining rooms with shower in the main building. Initially, a bit worried by the poky and fusty reception area (now undergoing renovation), but our rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hiekh
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very happy with the majority of it! Pokey and fusty reception area?? Are you sure you are reviewing Letterfinlay and not another establishment! Kind regards

Paris, France
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel provides an outstanding view over loch Lochy & a direct access to the loch. Select a view room of you want to enjoy the panorama, otherwise your room will be directly over the road (which is very close to the hotel). The major concern was about the temperature of the room (very hot specially this summer) even if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brice M
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your summer stay, we are sorry of you found the room warm however we did experience some very hot weather during your stay which unfortunately we have no control over that's why we provided you with a private air conditioning unit! The shower has since been repaired after a guest brought it to our...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Calling every B&B between Fort William and Isle of Skye this was the only place with rooms vacant. A bit uncertain at first we found this place next to the main road, but in the countryside, quiet and with a beautiful view. We ended up in an external part of the hotel, a separate house, for three nights, in two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graabein
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay at Letterfinlay and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Just to clarify we provide shampoo and bodywash in every room and should you have required any more than the 30ml bottle of each provided you only had to ask. With regards to your statement...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent too days at this hotel with my wife and two kids at the end of July. Room overlooked a spectacular view. Hotel was spotless and staff were always at hand to assist. Apart from a peaceful evening drink on the Osprey Terrace admiring the views across the Loch, the private beach was an added bonus for those looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank richard_ocarroll
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and it means a lot to our management and staff to have guests appreciate the great service we provide, please return at anytime. Kind regards

Invergordon
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for two nights in a wonderful room overlooking the Loch. Peaceful location ideal for touring the area which we did. We were made very welcome by the D/Manager. Nothing was too much trouble. We had afternoon tea on the Osprey Terrace bathed in glorious sunshine. Unfortunately there was a noisy and very rude group on the terrace who later...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lindsay33invergordon
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and service. We are very sorry regarding the group of rude people that were dining at the same as yourselves, they had caused a problem for several guests and were dealt with appropriately. You will see that they have posted a bad review of...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Little things like providing binoculars to see the ospreys from the Osprey restaurant, pouring the wine for guests at dinner, making the toast at breakfast would make a big difference to this hotel. Somewhat lacking in character and investment, but compensated by the lovely loch side setting

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Donald M
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you found so many things to complain about. Most hotels now adopt self service regarding toast including the 5 star Marriot chain. Our waiting staff always ask if customers would like their wine poured, some guests do and some guests don't. With regards to the provision of binoculars to watch the...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights at the end of June. From the minute we arrived the the staff made us feel most welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a room overlooking Loch Lochy which was simply breathtaking. We ate in the hotel on the first night - and very good it was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Greg M
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments regarding our staff as well as our beautiful hotel and it is so nice for people to appreciate all the hard work it takes to provide such a friendly and relaxing atmosphere at Letterfinlay, unfortunately our staff do have to put with problem guests from time to time however it was our pleasure to...

South Wales
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely staff, very helpful and really welcoming. Breakfast was good but the evening meals are better. Our room was lovely, very clean with a huge 1970's bathroom. The communal areas were really nice especially the deck looking over the Loch, amazing views a great spot anytime of day. We would stay again and I highly recommend your give it a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joerad
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you like our original Art Deco bathroom, we only have two in the whole hotel and many of our guests appreciate the fact that we have left them original. We also really appreciate the fantastic comments you have made re our staff and hotel, thank you very much and please return at any time.

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (441)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
11.9 km away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
677 reviews
2.0 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
166 reviews
18.2 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
447 reviews
22.0 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,157 reviews
11.2 km away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 9,171 - ₹ 23,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lochy Lodge or superior room”
KirkmuirhillBilly, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
422maureens, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“another hotel!”
ianm643, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try and get one with a Loch View.”
munlochy, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For the price it was expensive for me, but wanted that little bit extra, so let down”
  • Mould on both sides of the cistern
  • Shower mould, this is after they
, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 161* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 161
TripAdvisorUS$ 161
Booking.comUS$ 161
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates