We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waitomo Caves Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Waitomo Caves Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Bernalillo NM
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This hotel is old and rather down at it's heels, but very clean and with friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant is really good. I had a seafood linguini that was really wonderful and the service superb. Really worth having a meal (or two) here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deweyboy
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to experience our restaurant and love it! Thank you for your feedback.

Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is definitely has an old time 'charm'. The room was very tired looking however suited out need a for the night. Could walk to the caves and to all the food venues close by. Good if you are there for a night. Not sure how it would be for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crayzeefox
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. Great that you found the room suited your need for the night and that you enjoyed the close proximity to Waitomo Village. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 3 February 2016

Stayed on Boxing Night 2015, pre- booked, Expedia had messed up our booking but the great Front Person sorted that as best she could[Joanne?]. The good stuff ended there, room was barely "staff" level, poor dinner with terrible service & same at Breakfast! Receptionist not remotely interested about service or lack of, state of room et al!Ive written to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter I
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and found our service was lacking. Your comments have been passed onto our Front Office and Food & Beverage Managers. Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed in the Waitomo Hotel for one night. We read several reviews before our trip detailing the old/tired state of the hotel - so our expectations weren't high, however the historic charm and stories of hauntings attracted us to give it a try despite this. First impressions - the hotel is on top of a hill and is very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dmitry Y
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel is well located, close to almost every Waitomo activity. The rooms are a bit old but still very cozy, we cannot complain. It has a picturesque style, we enjoyed it. The staff is really friendly. The rooms are clean, so are the bathrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucas M
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Waitomo Caves Hotel. We are thrilled you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting the Waitomo caves and it's a bit of a mixed bag. The hotel is over a hundred years old, was clean enough (at least in our room) and was pretty cheap. The exterior of the hotel shows it to be in need of a bit of time and money spending (actually fits in with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryW1970
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities good value for money. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, however, Hotel was out dated, requires cosmetic TLC as with gardens. Good cooked breakfast. Coffee was not great. Suggest they offer Nespresso pods rather than current brew. Priced appropriately for accommodation and location. Overall a conformable stay but it's more of a Motel experience than a Hotel experience. Yes, I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gkokosavory
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Waitomo Caves Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel was priced appropriately for accommodation and location. We have noted your comments about the gardens and coffee. We look forward to your next visit!

Perth, WA
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

The epitome of faded glory - old fashioned grandeur that people are no longer prepared to pay for. The result is a strange mix of grand public rooms and rather sad bedrooms. We were in a 'refurbished' room, but it was still a bit sad and lacking in facilities (no fridge, hairdryer or kettle). On the positive side, the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen_in_Perth
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your recent stay with us. We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We offer a range of different bedrooms priced accordingly. You might have found that a different room type might have been more suitable to your needs. Nevertheless it is good to hear you had...

Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We had the family suit room 5 in the Victorian wing of the hotel. 2 bedrooms, a bath room and joining dressing room. Whilst the room is a bit rough around the edges and showing its age, it was still clean and comfortable and good value for money, with comfortable beds, linen, basic tea and coffee facilities, TV etc. can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FamilyTraveller2627
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and thought we offered good value for money and clean and comfortable facilities.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We booked in for one night and overall, I was happy. The location is fantastic, very close by to the village and the caves. The staff that we saw - the French receptionist and bar man were both fantastic- friendly, helpful, and genuinely cared about the customers and their job. Well done to them! The main staircase is cool, as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew M
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fair review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have started upgrading parts of the hotel. This process will take time. Thank you for your comments about our staff and restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future.

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
4.0 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
206 reviews
7.3 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
67 reviews
1.4 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
72 reviews
1.4 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
288 reviews
7.7 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: ₹ 4,303 - ₹ 5,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waitomo Caves Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Waitomo Caves Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do a little research first before you stay”
 of 5 bubbles hotelstgeorge67, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
  • It Stunk of Sewage
 of 5 bubbles KaneNim, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe check out the bathroom size on booking our was very small for a king room”
 of 5 bubbles Jack102013, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want to drag bags up a flight of stairs take a bottom floor don't think there was a lift”
 of 5 bubbles 574katelyns, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 12A but apparently this room is haunted must have slept through it”
 of 5 bubbles timb0nney, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay