We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hill Top Country Guest House

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hill Top Country Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Start your review of Hill Top Country Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Unclean. Outdated. Smelly rooms, stained floors. Hair in thr sink. To begin the manager is obnoxious and refuses to admit faults. This hotel is very dated and horribly furnished. Very uncomfortable beds. Extremely unclean throughout. We were missold on the website and this place is run more like a hostel than a hotel. Shared bathrooms are not ideal for anyone....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki C
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed in one of the Villa's, which included a King sized bed, spa bath and kitchenette. The kitchenette was basic; with toaster, kettle, microwave and bar fridge but suitable for what we needed. The spa bath has a shower over it but no screen so there was a bit of splash. We had a couple of concerns with what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

A lovely rustic feel, off the beaten track but totally worth it for the country experience. Kangaroos hopping around on site. Place could do with a bit of an update but perfectly good condition and facilities. Friendly hostess. There were lots of activities although we didn't use these cos of other arrangements. Great for the peace and quiet!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

First we made booking only for one night but place was so nice that we desided to stay other night. Hotel is perfect if you love horses and horseback riding. Our room was big and clean and we had nice big teras where we ate breakfast with birds and kangaroos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Togo2011
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

It was not only my birthday but our first family holiday with our 4 month old baby. Upon booking the manager/owner knew we had a baby. After a long day we turned up exhausted and our baby crying as it was past his bed time. The owner was extremely rude and informed us that our room was no longer available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
Margaret B, Manager at Hill Top Country Guest House, responded to this review

HI Nikki Your experience dose not warrant to state Do not stay there. You made an online booking which was not confirmed and payment had not been taken.Between your screams and tears you said that you had phoned me and was told that there was availability and you went on line and booked.However obviously while you was on the phone...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I've travelled all over the world from high end hotels to AirBNB rentals and NEVER had a poor experience like this. Never have I had amenities and lack of transparency as this accomodation. As this was last minute, I made the mistake of using a third party site to book. Turns out the room we booked was for a shared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 160AdamH160
Margaret B, Manager at Hill Top Country Guest House, responded to this review

HI Adam Upon arriving you made the statement that every thing was beautiful and wonderful. You had booked a standard room on line.You state that the facilities are not mentioned before you actually make the booking. This seems very odd to me and would you not do more research if this was the case. Is this the fault of the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

A positive experience. Very cosy, clean and welcoming. We went horse riding and did the tractor ride which, was very scenic. Cameron took us to feed all the animals and the children had a fun time. The horse riding was professional with great views along the way. The leaders were looking out for all the riders continuously and as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susasarah
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Please check that this place has the facilities you need before you book. The Owner means well but this place is dated and no cooking facilities in our room. When questioned about this we were offered a BBQ across the road and even then the bottle was almost empty, no utensils to cook with and the wind blew us away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheCritic24-7
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We stayed in a self-contained apartment with a double bed, bunks and single bed. All very clean. The owner was kind to allow us a last-minute change of dates due to an unforeseen issue on our side, and arranged a driver for a vineyard tour and a sunset horseback ride. Beautiful scenery and plenty of paddocks with cattle, kangaroos and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjbabe
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I have been horse riding at many places and this place is by far the best !!! the property you ride on is so beautiful and the horses are amazing and very well trained. We had plenty of opportunity to canter which is a must for me. The staff were so lovely. I highly recommend this place and will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bech849

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.8 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.1 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
9.2 km away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
696 reviews
3.3 km away
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
#5 of 8 in Rothbury
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hill Top Country Guest House

Address: 288 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Price Range: ₹ 5,425 - ₹ 47,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill Top Country Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hill Top Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Country Guest House Greater Newcastle/Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hill Top Country Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at any other property in the Hunter Valley; this isn't worth the headache.”
160AdamH160, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the Kookaburra lodge with fire place and spa”
  • Dinner in front of the fire
Thutd, 16 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Crowne Plaza is unbelievable value, great sized rooms and great facilities especially for kids.”
LouiseW120, 8 Jul 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates