We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crane Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crane Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,287: English reviews
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location on the east coast, lots of cooling winds, fantastic beach. The ocean view rooms are amazing. Great on site restaurants. Great service. If you want to relax it is a great spot in Barbados but, you have to tour the island as well, it has lots of history and scenic places to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank algee80791
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear algee80791, Thank you for sharing this lovely review of The Crane. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities and offerings, as we always aim to meet our guests' expectations. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to do so again in the future. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne General Manager

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to say I was a bit hesitant after booking. The resort was farther away from the St. Lawrence Gap area than I thought. I also worried about the comments about the wind. We rented a car so it turns out the distance wasn't an issue. The first two nights we spent in a 1 bdrm/2 bath ocean view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenora M
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lenora M, Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review of your recent Crane experience! We are especially thrilled that you enjoyed your room upgrade to our One Bedroom Deluxe Suite with Roof Top Pool. Regarding the AC charge you referred to, I must clarify here that this only applies to a specific category of guest...

Belleville, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This year we had a deluxe one bedroom with a roof top plunge pool and outdoor kitchen. Very clean and well looked after unit with all the amenities you could ask for. The only thing that was disappointing for such a high end property like this was the fee of $2.00 per hour to use the air conditioning! After spending...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rick D, Thank you for taking the time to review your Crane experience. We are delighted you enjoyed yet another relaxing stay with us. However, I must clarify here that the AC charge you referred to only applies to a specific category of guest - our Fractional Owners and their guests. This charge is based on usage as per...

Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been Crane Members since 2001 and now return every other year. It was good to find the resort in pristine condition, gardens were looking great. As soon as we drive through the front gate we feel we are coming home. And the beach was looking stunning this year - clean, pink sand, very little weed - so good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie202020
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear annie202020, Thank you for sharing this lovely review. We are thrilled that you continue to enjoy our facilities and offerings as Crane Owners. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back home and we look forward to welcoming you again when you return! Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel needs to be updated a bit for meet the price tag, rooms in particular. The location is great. Out of the way of the main touristy areas, beautiful beach and pools. Tries to feel smaller but is still a pretty sprawling resort. Beds and balconies are nice. Rooms are spacious. Main lunch restaurant needs to be updated. Feels like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole h
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear nicole h, Thank you for your review of your stay at The Crane. We are pleased to note the areas of the resort which you enjoyed. Thank you for your feedback on suggested areas for improvement. These will be discussed with the team. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the...

Mission Viejo, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a hotel closer to the airport after staying on the other side of Barbados, well when we arrived we kicked ourselves for not staying here the whole time. it was absolutely wonderful. the different areas are fabulous, pool areas are lovely and relaxing, the elevator down to the beautiful beach is awesome and the rooms are very high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzsimpsonusa
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear nzsimpsonusa, Thank you for sharing this review of your stay with us at The Crane. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was certainly our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future, to experience more of what The Crane offers. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne General Manager

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have traveled to most of the Caribbean islands over the years, and Barbados left a special mark on my heart! This resort was amazing: The pictures are totally accurate! Can't wait to return here! Few things to note: This resort is on the South East Side of the island: While the beach here was outstanding, getting to it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda N
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lynda N, Thank you for sharing this review of your stay at The Crane. We are pleased to note that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and offerings. Our main aim is to always meet and even surpass our guests' expectations. Thank you for choosing The Crane. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Since we got married we won this vacation and we decided to use it as our second honeymoon because we have eight children together and we never had a chance to enjoy time alone and this was a fabulous trip for us to reconnect with each other and bond and enjoy the sunshine and the Beautiful Barbados my hometown where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your second honeymoon at The Crane. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy another Crane experience. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The experience was great , it was a wonderful vacation, the room and the service was excellent. The room was spacious, the view is breathtaking. Staff is helpful and very friendly. Having a private adult pool was nice and family pools were well kept. We will definitely return N. Wiltshire

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nadine W, Thank you for sharing this short but sweet review of your stay at The Crane. We are happy to note that you enjoyed our offerings and facilities during your weekend stay with us. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again upon your return. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne General...

New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was lovely - spacious rooms and beautiful vistas. Some rooms had better cross breeze than others - building 5 always has a cool wind blowing through it. The staff were amazing - super friendly. The beach at the resort has big waves and swimming in the ocean is not suitable for small children, but teenagers and adults with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kris768
CraneBarbados, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear kris768, Thank you for your review of your stay at The Crane. We are happy to note that you enjoyed our facilities and offerings. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Warmest regards, Sean Alleyne General Manager

2,588 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2261)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (515)
Viewed
Room/Suite (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (478)
Viewed
View from Room (190)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Dining (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:46
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (607)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Crane Beach Pool (18)
Viewed
One Bedroom Oceanview Suite with Plunge Pool (81)
Viewed
Pool Complex (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
18.3 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,436 reviews
13.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,954 reviews
21.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
21.9 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
13.7 km away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: ₹ 14,639 - ₹ 36,987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crane Resort staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from The Crane Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view a must.”
nancymV7556RF, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
954gina, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try for an Ocean view in Residence 1 2 3 4 or 5”
katebG6299EN, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All ocean view rooms in building 8 and 9 are spectacular.”
JamesC864, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor. Nice breeze and no bugs.”
lenoram22, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5