We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stonefield Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Stonefield Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stonefield Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 856: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a quirky place, but lovely in its own way. It's a slightly run down, slightly shabby affair, spotless clean. The views from the rooms and restaurant are spectacular and the grounds extensive. It's a long way from the main road, so only owls to keep you awake. Food's pretty good, nicely presented. The staff are great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bertie B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed on two previous occasions we were looking forward very much to returning. However it was such a disappointment. Beautiful location, Stonefield is a gorgeous old castle. Since our last visit the chef had obviously changed, plates served cold, soup was luke warm, main course which was Monkfish was almost inedible, somehow even the sweet which had a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex1645
HotelGM644370, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex1645 Thank you for your review of Stonefield castle. We appreciate and welcome all comments from our guests in order to improve our overall standards. I am disapointed you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us and hope that if you return you will see and taste the best quality produce our restaurant has to offer.

Oldbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel and location were beautiful. We had a double room with lake view which was amazing over looking Loch Fyne. The staff were nice and friendly and the facilities were good, could of done with an iron and a hairdryer in the room. 7 minutes drive is Tarbert town centre which has a few shops, tourist information, a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisawhitmore
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a one night stay here en route to Islay.Good value,room was excellent,restaurant and waiting staff very good.Nice lounge areas.Would definitely recommend if you can secure a good rate.I have to add a bit more apparently(review wasn't long enough).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beejay493
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a night on our way to Islay just to be near to the ferry. Wow next time we will be booking just for the holiday. Opted just for the standard room as the view wasn't important to us it was fantastic. Greeted by very friendly staff member who showed us to our room (wasn't expecting too much as normally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet P
HotelGM644370, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet P Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Stonefield Castle. We're very happy to hear you and your canine companion enjoyed your time at the castle. Indeed we have extensive grounds for our 4 legged (and 2 legged) friends to enjoy. Hope to see you back at Stonefield soon.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Booked a top room in the castle were shown to a room but not what we expected after some negotiating with the receptionist finally got the room I was under the impression I had booked. This was the only negative on our stay. The room had a four poster bed, good bathroom, & lovely view of the loch. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilkinson_akela
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stonefield Castle hotel is a great use of a historic building. Stonefield was built around 1837 as an estate home. It has spectacular views of Loch Fyne and even Arran, not to mention the gardens which are beautiful in their own right. The rooms are nice, well appointed and the bathrooms are very modern. WiFi is free and does have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NBass
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Great weekend back visiting this lovely hotel. Rooms have been done up since we last visited and were lovely and comfortable. Fantastic views over the loch and the food was even better than we remembered. We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morag F
Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, great staff, great stay. Service was excellent and the food in the restaurant was of a very high quality. The surroundings make for a very relaxing stay. Our only small issue was with the smokey hallway fireplace which gave a pleasant wood fire aroma at best but could become an irritant at worse.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grumpeyoleman
Bellbrae, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Our family have spent 3 Christmas breaks at Stonefield over the years and have loved every minute, from the beautiful architecture, big roaring fires, stunning views and world class sofisticated menus. We always stay at least 4 days to really soak up the atmosphere and join in the feasts and activities. Firm family favourite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M

454 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (450)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
3.0 km away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
383 reviews
4.2 km away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
234 reviews
11.0 km away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
249 reviews
37.1 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.4 km away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Price Range: ₹ 5,450 - ₹ 14,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stonefield Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stonefield Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best for couples and those who want a quiet getaway”
 of 5 bubbles 667desireeh, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“many rooms have been refurbished although our friends room had the tap on the bath hanging off.”
 of 5 bubbles Alex1645, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Insist on getting the room you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles wilkinson_akela, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Backside rooms have a view of Loch Fyne”
 of 5 bubbles NBass, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“had room 38 - spacious and lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles detlef_10, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay