We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Talbot Hotel

0.3 km from Stourbridge centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
High Street, Stourbridge DY8 1DW, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Talbot Hotel
 Click to rate
Birmingham
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We invited family to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Had to phone twice to find someone who could understand our needs, one coeliac menu and disabled facilities for my terminally ill husband. Told no problem for gluten free and they could provide a ramp for hubby's motorised scooter. Room absolutely freezing cold, my son offered to go and buy a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan J
Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in room 19 last night which is reputed to be the most haunted in England. Perhaps it was the whisky, but I never noticed a thing. Very old, very worn but exceptionally clean.....bed linen exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had always wanted to try The Talbot so this evening we decided to do just that - what a mistake! We arrived early evening and headed to the bar for drinks and food. Browsed the menu and ordered, the bar area was very quiet with a handful of people in there. After some 40 mins I went to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KDavis211
Ostend, Belgium
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The plus - the building has a lot of character, looks like its been built in the 1600's - the beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean - the full english breakfast was great - staff does their best to help you The bad -the furniture in the rooms looks like it was taken out of a thriftshop at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GandulfCharpentier
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We visited NYE and I must say the hot and cold buffet was very good. I had Lamb Shank with potatoes it was so lovely compliments to the Chef ! the desserts were out of this world and disco £12.99 a ticket is a fab price we all had a glass of champagne at midnight. The staff worked very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liv_69
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely evening at the Talbot hotel on New Year's Eve. The food was varied and delicious..shank of lamb, muscles, fish,beef,pork...plus all salad items and various sweets...all very good ..Tickets for this evening were £12.99 which was amazing plus there was a very good disco...It was a family oriented evening...everyone was given a glass of bubbly at midnight to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michlemas
manchester
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Just back from a 2 night New Year Break. It was excellent value for money with a first class buffet hot and cold something for everyone and a very good disco. As a general review, the hotel is clean and tidy The food is well presented and of good quality. We had room 30 on the 2nd floor -It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derek k
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you next year

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We booked in 31st asked to see room first as so many bad reviews. But our room no 15 was small but very clean full of character it had beams and a uneven floor All tables were decorated ready for news year celebrations also had a disco but the food on the buffet was the best I had ever tasted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edna899
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We spent a night here over the Christmas period to meet family. The Talbot isn't expensive and has lots of character (built mid 1600s in places). However the whole place is rather tired & the gent's urinals off the bar are the dirtiest I've been into for several years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigAnnII
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review the hotel is always being updated and decorated modernised but keeping its character the mens toilet is on the list to be decorated

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. It's cluttered with furniture that belongs in a skip, carpets are either worn or stained and it smells most odd. To top off my visit, and to my horror, I have bed bug bites on my arms. I contacted the hotel to complain and they asked me to email them - how this will...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dee P
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel has no problems with bed bugs, part of our health and safety policy we have a contracted pest control company to ensure we have no problems.

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourbridge
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
3.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
11.5 km away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Himley House Hotel
Himley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himley
341 reviews
7.9 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
215 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Hagley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: High Street, Stourbridge DY8 1DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Price Range: ₹ 3,555 - ₹ 6,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talbot Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Talbot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have fun in room 19”
 of 5 bubbles AlanL13, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't go to stourbridge, horrible weather, bad food and even worse people”
 of 5 bubbles GandulfCharpentier, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are not so mobile ask for a first floor room”
 of 5 bubbles derekk94, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose one in a different hotel!”
  • Even the fake flowers had black spots. Marks for consistency, I guess
  • Bathroom ceiling
  • Window, which was right behind the head of the bed
 of 5 bubbles 472philippaf, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 19 was fantastic but the customer service is not”
 of 5 bubbles bandgirlsue, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5