We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rhydspence Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rhydspence Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rhydspence Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Welwyn garden city
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Really lovely inn in a beautiful area. Landlord is very welcoming and charming, had a great overnight stay before a weekend off roading. Cannot fault anything and would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Swindon
Reviewed 5 October 2014

This is a lovely old country inn with wibbly wobbly floors and doorways to duck through. We were met by our friendly host, ( and owner), and shown to our a big room with comfy bed with adjoining similarly generously sized bathroom. He recommended a nearby pub for our evening meal, (The Boat - food very good with view of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hlodge1
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014

An amazing 14th century building which has been an inn for the large part of its life. Now no longer an inn but a B&B. No meals other than an excellent breakfast but there are plenty of places roundabout. Our room was very comfortable with a good modern bathroom, the dreaded Wi-Fi if you need it, a beautiful view and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAilliwN
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked as we were visiting Hay and wanted an old country inn to stay in. When we received a letter to say that the property had been sold and would no longer do evening meals, we were disappointed but thought we would go anyway. The building is very interesting and characterful, but need some maintenance. We had booked the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lolo1408
Wales
Reviewed 11 August 2014

To start with its 15 minutes from Hay on Wye in the car along a busy A road with occasional pavements, I would guess at least 45 minutes at a good pace to walk. The current owner serves only breakfast and NO other meals at all. The bar does not open until 6.30 pm and to be honest the lager...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank airbuster
UK
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very old and attractive building just a few minutes from Hay on Wye and just off the road. Although the decoration was a little tired looking, the room was large and the bed comfortable – I slept like a log! There were nice touches, such as complimentary bottled water in the room, nice biscuits with the tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johanna75
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for the 2nd time last night and it is now on the best place to stay when I am visiting Hay which is only 10 minutes away. Hosts Gerry (Geraldine) and Paul are very welcoming and will bend over backwards to ensure your stay is perfect. Firstly the building is just amazing, it is so old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, For a very busy lady, it is so kind of you to take the time to write such a comprehensive review. Thank you for the kind words, also for your help in your room , you really didn't need to, but it made me smile to see you stripped your own bed,( I always change the mattress covers...

St Albans
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were originally attracted to the hotel because, unlike many establishments we viewed, the single person in our small group was not penalised by a heavy single supplement and/or less attractive accommodation. All three of us found the hotel service, accommodation and food excellent. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed, with fine views across the Wye valley. The enormous, well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2CV
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, it is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay, you did an awful lot of walking in the days you were here, so I'm glad the breakfasts set you up for the day. We both enjoy sharing the plans that our guests have and the days experiences told over on their return, you covered...

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We arrived at 1pm to book in and go on a day out to Hereford.The log fire and the wonderful company of paul and Gerry,was to much and we stayed in this beautiful pub until dinner at 6pm and finally went to bed at 10pm.The room was large and everything was just so,even down to the shoeshine in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank crispmeister
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with, we try to ensure that our guests feel cared for and are able to relax, it was a lovely compliment to us that you chose to stay and not venture out, when I come up from the kitchen and see guests, like yourselves, comfy in front of the fire...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Book for one night stay in January. Lovely room- we stayed in room 1 - plenty of room with a 4 poster. We thoroughly enjoyed our short visit, lovely food, and beer .We chose the 'burns night ' menu. We had the venison casserole - hearty and tasty as was the breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay - A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acmorris29
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review

Thank you both for the lovely review, you must have just arrived home and put the kettle on. It is so nice to have our guests take time to let us know how we did. Remember, when you come back, to ring for our special deals for returning guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Our very best wishes...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney-on-Wye
5.8 km away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
401 reviews
15.0 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
567 reviews
12.4 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
190 reviews
36.6 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
129 reviews
27.4 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Rhydspence Inn

Address: Brynafal Bridge Ct | Hay-on-wye, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Whitney-on-Wye
Price Range: ₹ 5,882 - ₹ 9,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhydspence Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Rhydspence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhydspence Hotel Whitney-On-Wye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rhydspence Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 8.”
 of 5 bubbles TransponderMan, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles RichardK47, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Found twin room 4 (used as a single) and double room 7 very comfortable with good views”
 of 5 bubbles Bruce2CV, 18 Mar 2014 | Read review
“All rooms face the mountains so you get the sun streaming in first thing.We had room 16 which overlooked the geese that are supposedly the biggest breed in the world,and watching them washing in the pond after being let out from there night confine was a good laugh.”
 of 5 bubbles crispmeister, 6 Mar 2014 | Read review
“I had the 4 poster bed. But all the guys in my group of 5 had a good time too.”
 of 5 bubbles David281164, 8 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5