We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Zanzibar

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We stayed at Melia during the xmas and New Year period and we had a wonderful time. The management went beyond the call of duty to make sure or stay was enjoyable. Rooms are well appoints with a mix of food to suit your choice. We hope to do it again for New Year eve 2017. Special thanks to managers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience of Melia Zanzibar and that your expectations were exceeded. We will take into consideration your comment. We are touched by your kind words about our service and our management team, and your compliments have been shared with all of them. But...

Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 5 wonderful days at Meliã Zanzibar. We have never experienced such great service and smiling staff. Our room was beautiful (especially the outdoor shower) and the staff even pulled down the mosquito net over our bed and put cold bottles of water at our nightstand every night. Gabi beach was a real treat and the food was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Therese, First of all, we want to thank you for having the time and sharing your experience in our hotel. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed our rooms with the outdoor shower. But also, we are glad to read that you loved our Gabi Beach and you felt like a queen between us. We look forward...

Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We are in the hotel now. I have to say that Zazibar generaly is ok, but humidity is killing. I dont know is it like that the whole year. All inclusive concert is someting I don't like, because you never get what you really like. A'lacard restaurant are with poor food and wine offer. We have a romantic pavilion and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ministar
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2016

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Melia in Zanzibar. What a beautiful resort! All amenities included, the friendliest staff, fantastic food, and all-round the best time of my life! There are many activities to keep you busy, or if you prefer to keep to yourself and laze by the beach under a bungalo, there's that too! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindamorton06
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Linda, First of all, thank you for choosing us to spend your honeymoon and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. We are really glad to see that you spend the best time of your life, here wih us, in Melia Zanzibar, enjoying all of our facilities and services. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The Melia resort located in Tanzania, on the beautiful island of Zanzibar is by far one of the most luxurious resorts located in Eastern Africa. With its beautiful tropical atmosphere, surrounding beaches and island feel its no wonder this destination is so well known, the resort itself is located a 45 minute drive away from the local airport in Zanzibar,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aussie_Blonde_Abroad
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor; your feedback was a delight to read! It is great to read that our facilities, our services, our beach, the amazing views over the Indian ocean, as well as our staff services exceed your expectations. Getting to hear all of your kind comments definitely is a big...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2016

After having experienced an amazing new years vacation last year at Melia Zanzibar, we decided that we enjoyed it so much that we would do it again this year. Frankly, the entire experience was comparatively quite disappointing. Prior to arrival it took more than 20 iterations of emails, many going un-responded, simply to have the resort process our credit card...

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P6764HWalexr
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rivera, First of all, thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. We were really happy to read that it was the second time you visited us, but we are really sorry to learn that this second stay with us was not what you expected. Our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we deeply...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I spent a good few days going through all the hotels available in Zanzibar on TripAdvisor, looking at all the pictures and reading all the comments. Eventually I decided to give Melià Zanzibar a go but being my first time to this hotel I was still a bit tentative as what to expect. It surpassed my expectations! From the day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dale_Horne
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Dale, Many thanks for taking the time to post such a nice and detailed review about your stay in Melia Zanzibar. We are delighted that you had such a good experience with us and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have! We...

Zanzibar Archipelago, Tanzania
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The staff were very friendly and courteous which more than compensated for the lack of hast. The kids club was a big hit with my son . Alex the manager made his holiday very special. It would be hard to criticise the rooms we were very pleased with ours, but we did hear a full refurbishment was in process( our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skopelos444
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

First of all we want to thank you for having the time and sharing your experience in Melia Zanzibar. We are glad to read that you and your family had a wonderful 10 days with us enjoying our services and facilities. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family, specially your son, and make sure that we will take...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending New Year at this wonderful African beach resort! We took an all inclusive package for 4 nights and it was certainly worth it! The management team and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and service was exceptional. A huge thank to Jose for our upgrade to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evie2702
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Evie, Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor! We are really happy to know that you had a wonderful stain Melia Zanzibar, and you enjoyed every second of your 4 days with us. Thank you for your comments about our team and our service, I have taken great pleasure to share your review with them and passed on...

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We just spent the day ere. A piece of paradise for sure. Beautiful place. Amazing service. The staff is very friendly and will go out of They way to make you comfortable. The views are amazing, very relaxing atmosphere ,Spa was mind blowing. Good food. A place to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabill I
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your comments about your experience with us, on Tripadvisor! We are really glad to see that you had such a nice time with us, even if it was during a short period of time, but enought to experience the beauty of our place. We are thrilled to read your comments about our entire team...

2,436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1825)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (368)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Dining (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (205)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:56
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (897)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (568)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Anantara Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Romance Pavillion (76)
Viewed
Standard Room (81)
Viewed
The Hotel (100)
Viewed
Villa with Private Pool (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
21.2 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
446 reviews
26.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
26.6 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,438 reviews
24.7 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
3.2 km away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Price Range: ₹ 15,420 - ₹ 30,385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Zanzibar staff and other travellers.
113 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (113)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Zanzibar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best views, closer to hotel, patio room”
Dalawi, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Perfect hotel.Kindly staff.Amazing view”
263ebrua, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“most of the rooms, suits and Villas comes with sea view”
Ge0geS, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front pavilions are perfect.. next time I would ask for room with swing in the balcony overlooking the ocean”
AmiTara, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Tip for who's going to take a vaction in Melia Hotel, Zanzibar. Do not forget to cancel the "DND" (Do Not Disturb) button. for room cleaning. In the morning and in the evening, for arranging the bed for sleeping.”
Amit22c, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5