We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Melia Zanzibar

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 568: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Melia Zanzibar was a beautiful resort and well maintained. Unfortunately, the service standards did not match. For an all-inclusive resort, many food items (including a whole restaurant) required additional payment, the bartender in the main bar disappeared for 20 minutes at a time at night when it was the only place to get a drink, and the staff unfortunately found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a H
M-Zanzibar, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a comment on this platform. Please allow me to clarify some points of miss understanding in your remarks. Among our 5 restaurants within the hotel, only the fine dinning restaurant is with supplement (but not for the Premium All Inclusive guests). Obviously something want wrong regarding the drink sequence you are referring...

Timisoara, Romania
Reviewed 19 October 2015

It is very difficult to describe in words the experiences lived at Melia Zanzibar ...the most appropriate word is fabulous ! I traveled a lot and I have been in many 5 star resorts, but Melia Zanzibar detached exceeds them all at all categories ! I try to exemplify point by point why I say that: - at check in,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Razvan S
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Razvan, Thank you so much for having the time to write such a nice and detail review in tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice comments about our hotel and our services, but the most important things is that we really made a difference on your holidays and you will never forget your experience with...

Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Such a great vacation we had on the beautiful island Zanzibar! Spectacular views, perfect weather, reach Nature and great people! Also hotel is amazing with the best personnel (starting with management and ending with waiters and cleaners) we ever met - so attentive, calm and polite people - thank you, you made our vacation perfect! Hotel room we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elina R
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Elina, Thank you for posting such a nice review in Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us in Melia Zanzibar. It means a lot to us that you have started to love our beautiful island but also our brand Melia and our hotel. Thank you also, for pointing out the nice job of our staff members from the first...

Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is worth it and I recommend it, although not perfect. It is located on the west coast. The check in was fast and passed the necessary informations. The resort is very wide, so some bungalows are far from the main building. The room is large (wooden). The bedding is confortable. The food is good, but not enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonardorios
M-Zanzibar, General Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Greetings from Unguja Island alias Zanzibar. Thank you for your kind review. I need to better investigate your room number as we have changed all AC recently! Regarding the smokers I am surprise by your comment as most of the restaurants have very large open air terrace, never the less I do agree about the discomfort. We are looking to...

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Wow!!! What a stunning view from the pool!! What a friendly staff...... We had an all inclusive arrangement and it is worth it. You can have lunch and dinner in several places on the resort as well on their restaurant on the beach. The staff takes great care of you and just enjoy this beautiful place!! Melia will be definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Bernard, Thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor; your feedback was a delight to read! It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a "WOW" one and the hotel facilities, our location, the stunning views from the main pool, as well as our staff services exceed your expectations. So, Asante sana!, once more....

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

I was more than impressed about this resort... it's simply amazing. No matter how much I would describe it you need to see it for yourself. It's paradise... The rooms are huge and very well groomed and maintained. The staff are very professionals and always smiling asking " how are you?" Always say "hello" or "jumbo". Various restaurants to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oana B
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Oana, Thank you for sharing such a nice comment in TripAdvisor! We are glad to see that our rooms, swimming pool, restaurants and our "always smiling" staff impressed you so much that you simply had an amazing time with us. We really hope to have the oportunity to welcome you again in Melia Zanzibar, meanwhile you can follow us...

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Melia has great style but poor substance. Style is apparent in beautifully presented common areas, perfectly manicured gardens and straight-from-paradise huts. Poor substance manifests inside rooms and in service. For example: - Perfect maintenance of beautiful common areas and gardens, but poor room upkeep (e.g. broken shower door) and lack of timely transport to/from the beach - Turndown service at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3KL
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear 3KL, Thank you for posting your comment about your recent stay in Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to see that your experience with us was not as expected. The management team, we are always looking around and visible for every guest, because we try to know every guests needs and take good care of their comments about their stay...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I had stayed at the Melia Zanzibar on honemoon with my wife. It was the first time in my adult hood that I had fallen asleep on New Years eve prior to midnight. We had come down with a bout of stomach flue from our safari trip. But regardless of the 'health challenges'we faced, hotel was great - clean, spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roko_K77
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Roko, Many thanks for sharing your comments about your stay with us last year, on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to see that you had a great time with us, but also that you enjoy your time in our island. But we are sorry to learn that new years eve was not as expected. It will be a pleasure...

Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

A beautiful hotel! The grounds are wonderful, allowing one to forget the outside world and relax. Pool is amazing with stunning view over the Indian Ocean and the jetty. Can't fault the room, the service or the food. Gold cars will drive you to the beach where you can simply relax all day or loose yourself in the many activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tariq M
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Tariq, First of all we want to thank you for having the time and sharing your experience in our hotel. It is great to read that your stay with us was a wonderful one and that our rooms and grounds, our beach, and the amazing views of our infinty pool, exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back...

Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I have stayed with friends in Melia Zanzibar for three nights, when we have first arrived the team there was amazing with a warm welcome and we were given all the information about the hotel and its activities. our rooms were a part of heaven spacious, elegant and comfortable and they made sure to spray every night against mosquitoes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gehan M
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Gehan, Thank you for share your comments in Tripadvisor; your feedback was a delight to read! It has been a pleasure for our whole team to read your comments about your experience in our hotel along with your friends. Just remember that here in Melia Zanzibar, you have a place to stay if you ever decide to come back...

2,305 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1695)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (357)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (199)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (792)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (568)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Anantara Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Romance Pavillion (76)
Viewed
Standard Room (81)
Viewed
The Hotel (100)
Viewed
Villa with Private Pool (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
21.2 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
394 reviews
26.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
26.2 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
536 reviews
25.6 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
597 reviews
24.8 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melia Hotel and Resort is the Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Price Range: ₹ 20,093 - ₹ 53,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Zanzibar staff and other travellers.
87 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (87)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Zanzibar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a suite facing the ocean. The view of the pavillion and the bathroom were simple the best. The bed although comfortable squeaked a lot.”
 of 5 bubbles NunoSilva1976, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ don't miss it. it worthAmazing”
 of 5 bubbles Menakaren, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get the rooms closer to the dinning hall and pool”
 of 5 bubbles tfu555, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles 599leratos, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book with guest services if you want to eat at the Jetty restaurant - it's well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles elmigous, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay