We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Zanzibar

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 591: English reviews
London
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Melia Zanzibar is a beautiful hotel with an excellent position near Kiwengwa on the east coast of Zanzibar looking out to the Indian Ocean. The rooms are very spacious, light and bright, with a huge bedroom and either a balcony (first floor) or terrace (ground floor). They do have villas and pavilions (thatched cottages perched on the cliff looking out...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Graham79
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Graham, First of all, thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review about your recent stay in Melia Zanzibar. We are really glad to see how much you enjoyed our rooms, our restaurants and bars, and our stunning location. We are also touched by your kind words about our service and your compliments have...

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel. The views are great . Many workers for willing to bring you what you wish for . Take only all include because ther is nothing to do there only to be at the hotel . Staff very nice . Not expect to s club like turkey but for Zanzibar its above expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadav C
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Nadav, First of all, thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel in TripAdvisor. We are always thrilled to hear how much our guests enjoyed their time with us, and as we can see in your comment, we are really glad to learn that the whole experience with us, exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome was done by the friendly and really helpful staff.Rooms are huge clean and very comfortable with amenities such as toiletries etc! Big variety of meal options and drinks at the restaurants. There is more than one pool around the resort to chill with also friendly staff offering 5* service and 5* smile ! Quality products ! Last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos P
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Konstantinos, First of all, thank you for the time taken to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to know that your experience with us was beyond your expectations, and you enjoyed our rooms, our restaurants, and our facilities. We are touched by your kind words about our service and your compliments have been shared with our entire...

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Travelled all over the world, and this resort was far beyond what was advertised. Staff go above and beyond. Wifi excellent!! Food choices devine, and Gabi beach was breathtaking, Will definitely be back.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariocN7869BO
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Mario, First of all, thank you for sharing your experience with us in TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that after travelling all over the world you had such a wonderful experience with us and our services, our staff, our WiFi and Gabi Beach exceed your expectations. We really hope to welcome you back for another "WOW" experience in...

Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Melia for our business trip and i can say i will definitely come here for leisure with my family. The rooms were beautiful, service was great, staff were friendly and ready to help. The resort is huge and the beAch is breath taking. The only negative thing i can say is the internet doesn't work very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamlvg001
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for the whole team to read your comments about your experience at the hotel. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience, even the points you may feel are small, so thank...

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Melia for 4 nights after 9 days camping safari. On arrival we felt dusty, hot and a little bit misplaced, but Patrick made us feel welcome. The room was big, air conditioned and clean. The bathroom was as big as the room. I especially loved the shower. It was the first shower in Tanzania where I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lonneke M
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Lonneke, Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review about your recent stay with us. Moreover, we are delighted that you had such a good experience of the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have! I...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We passed by for a coffee, to see the place and find out, if it is worth of booking it next time. The bungalows, beach, pools, restaurant is wonderful. Once we met a manager, who told us that "we probably couĺd not afford to stay there", everything has changed!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenajkenaj
M-Zanzibar, Director General at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Such communication only serve to damage the hotel reputation especially from someone who never been a guest and experienced our hospitality. My team clearly remember you, as you were arguing with one of my manager about rate per person you mistakenly assume it was for the room (2 persons). Knowing the manager involve, I sincerely doubt about your statement. Never...

Reviewed 12 January 2016

We stayed at Melia during the xmas and New Year period and we had a wonderful time. The management went beyond the call of duty to make sure or stay was enjoyable. Rooms are well appoints with a mix of food to suit your choice. We hope to do it again for New Year eve 2017. Special thanks to managers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience of Melia Zanzibar and that your expectations were exceeded. We will take into consideration your comment. We are touched by your kind words about our service and our management team, and your compliments have been shared with all of them. But...

Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 5 wonderful days at Meliã Zanzibar. We have never experienced such great service and smiling staff. Our room was beautiful (especially the outdoor shower) and the staff even pulled down the mosquito net over our bed and put cold bottles of water at our nightstand every night. Gabi beach was a real treat and the food was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
M-Zanzibar, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Therese, First of all, we want to thank you for having the time and sharing your experience in our hotel. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed our rooms with the outdoor shower. But also, we are glad to read that you loved our Gabi Beach and you felt like a queen between us. We look forward...

Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We are in the hotel now. I have to say that Zazibar generaly is ok, but humidity is killing. I dont know is it like that the whole year. All inclusive concert is someting I don't like, because you never get what you really like. A'lacard restaurant are with poor food and wine offer. We have a romantic pavilion and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ministar

2,371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1764)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (359)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (200)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Dining (128)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:56
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (855)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (568)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Anantara Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Romance Pavillion (76)
Viewed
Standard Room (81)
Viewed
The Hotel (100)
Viewed
Villa with Private Pool (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
21.2 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
405 reviews
26.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
24.8 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
556 reviews
26.2 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
999 reviews
25.6 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melia Hotel and Resort is the Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Price Range: ₹ 17,802 - ₹ 53,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Jovago.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Zanzibar staff and other travellers.
97 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (97)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Zanzibar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No comments”
 of 5 bubbles 883hemann, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I've enjoyed every corner!”
 of 5 bubbles lauraa774, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best view of the Indian ocean from the rooms,”
 of 5 bubbles meazim, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It is absolutely worth paying the extra for a Pavillion for a view directly over the ocean and complete privacy and seclusion.”
  • Morning view from Pavillion 31
 of 5 bubbles Lyndsay73, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Terrace View Rooms have great views of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles TarynC677, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay