We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!EARLY BOOKING!
US$ 387
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$ 387
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3861)
360
Panoramas (3)
Pool & Beach (897)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Zanzibar
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 20 hotels in Kiwengwa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
Languages Spoken
French, Afrikaans
Hotel links
Special Offer:EARLY BOOKING!
2587Reviews258Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,953
  • 430
  • 131
  • 40
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dhaval P wrote a review 16 Sep
New Jersey, United States6 contributions2 helpful votes
phenomenal resort with exceptional customer service. our trip threw a lot of curveballs at us but the resort staff including management went above and beyond to make sure our stay was nothing short of perfect. the food and bev manager went out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of. reception staff was very accommodating with us. Our ocean front pavilion was an amazing room with perfect ocean views. gabi beach is clean and beautiful, seeing the tide disappear in the afternoon was a cool experience. all restaurants served delicious food with plenty of options. resort is approx 45 mins from stone town but we enjoyed but being close to the hustle
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Stevan Cochennec, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 6 days ago
Dear dhaval36, We would like to start thanking you for taking the time to write such a complete review on TripAdvisor. It is utmost pleasant to see that you really enjoyed your stay and that you noticed how implicated were our associates in making it special for you, like Mr. Daniel the F&B Manager did. We hope to welcome you back at any Meliá again. Kind Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
rcmcsariah wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
This place is awesome! We stayed in the level section which I would highly recommend doing! We were supposed to stay at another resort and once we got there it was terrible! We booked Meliá that day and from that moment on it was the best decision we made of the whole trip! The staff I will tell you is amazing! Flothea at gabby beach was so amazing, Boniphace is the best for pool side service, he was always making sure you were taken care of. Paul was also amazing at helping out at the pool. Of course Javier the manager and Silima at the front made sure our stay was amazing!! If your coming to Zanzibar and stay at the level I promise you will not be disappointed!! Make sure you get a pizza from Rashid at Gabby beach!! He is the best and always made sure we were happy! We also can not forget Mosses the security guard, he helped my husband take out the needles when he stepped on a See urchin. The BEST STAff ever!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stevan Cochennec, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 20 Jun 2021
Dear rcmcsariah, It is amazing to read such great feedback from our staff! We are very thankful that you have taken the time to write and post it on TripAdvisor. Of course we have shared it with the entire team, and they were thrilled to see their names! Thank you and best regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Kevin G wrote a review 9 Sep
Geulle, The Netherlands920 contributions226 helpful votes
We had a magical stay during our time at the Melia Zanzibar resort. We cannot think of anything negative to say. Nice room with everything you need. Incredibly helpful staff, with our special thanks to Daudi and Msanifu. Very good food, breakfast and dinner. Very well and clean hotel grounds. They will help you with any request you can have. Magical beach part to which they will bring you using a small shuttle bus. The only thing we can say is that the cleaning ladies kept on ignoring our do not disturb light, but that is all. And the only annoying bit are the beach boys at the Gabi beach constantly trying to get your attention for selling stuff or tours. But that is just how it is.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stevan Cochennec, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kevin, Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience with the rest of the Tridvisor users. It is highly rewarding for all of us the fact that you mention our staff like Daudi and Msanifu and of course we have forwarded your message to them, thank you for that. We are proud to have made your stay a magical one and we take well note of your feedback about the cleaning process in order to keep it up to our standards. Thank you and we hope to welcome you again. Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
dclint904688 wrote a review 7 Sep
1 contribution
Amazing stay from start to finish, facilities, food and location could not have been better. What gave it a personal touch was the level of service from every member of staff, thanks for a wonderful experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Stevan Cochennec, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear dclint904688, Thank you very much for choosing Meliá Zanzibar on your recent trip to Tanzania. Our entire team is delighted to receive such positive feedback, especially when it comes to the level of service and the personal touch that give every one of our staff. We all sincerely look forward to welcoming you again to any other Meliá property, so that you can enjoy another wonderful experience with us. Kind Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Dotts0908 wrote a review 5 Sep
Nairobi, Kenya1281 contributions179 helpful votes
This is truly paradise! I strongly advise the all Premium or the Premium Exclusive to truly enjoy the paradise, otherwise you pay for every other meal. There are 5 restaurants and 4 of them are à la carte with great food. There are 2 pools, a well-equipped gym, sauna and other activities; there is plenty to do and diverse activities at night. The beach is great and the restaurant there is delightful whatever your preference, fish of the day or pizza from the oven. Everyone is friendly and helpful and nothing is overlooked here. The shuttle bus is actually a 7-seater van and they keep time. One word of caution: if you want to visit many places, then consider that it is 40km from Stone Town and this might make trips costly. If you want R&R, this is the best place to be.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Stevan Cochennec, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dorothy , Firstly, thank you very much for your review on the social media. It is a great honor to read that you found paradise at Meliá Zanzibar! We were all extremely happy to welcome you and to take care of all your needs during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you again soon at Melib. Kindest Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$333 - US$474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia zanzibar hotel kiwengwa, zamani zanzibar kempinski kiwengwa
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandKiwengwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Zanzibar
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Zanzibar?
Nearby attractions include Kiwengwa Beach (3.8 km), Kiwengwa Caves (4.7 km), and Cannibal Party (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Zanzibar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Zanzibar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Zanzibar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Zanzibar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Zanzibar?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Base JungleKite, Papaya Restaurant & Beach Bar, and Zan View Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Zanzibar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Zanzibar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Zanzibar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Zanzibar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Zanzibar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Zanzibar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French and Afrikaans.