We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Save $10/room/night!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$140
View deal
Expedia.com$157
Hotels.com$157
Priceline$152
Travelocity$157
StayForLong
Orbitz.com$157
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (513)
Pool & Beach (164)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 59 hotels in Nungwi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Aluna is a lovely quaint personalized holiday accommodation at the most northerly point of the island in Nungwi village, just near the mesmerizing lighthouse. Get the experience of an authentic local feel of Zanzibari living. Located just outside the center in the more secluded part of Nungwi, it is a calm haven where you can put your feet up and relax in the beautiful garden or lounge around the pool while enjoying the friendly service provided by our young and energetic team of locals. Take advantage of our hammocks and wooden terrace to sip on a cocktail or order your meals for an unforgettable dining experience. We are located a 20-minute walk from Nungwi’s vibrant nightlife which makes it easily accessible by foot along the beach or by taxi, which our reception desk can easily arrange. Aluna’s newly renovated rooms equipped with hot water and air-conditioning makes it ideal for travelers to discover this charming area that most refer to as the hidden gem of Nungwi!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Darts
Fishing
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Electric kettle
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Afrikaans and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Save $10/room/night!
341Reviews17Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 286
  • 36
  • 10
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Climber752800 wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
+1
We stayed at Aluna for 5 nights and had the most incredible time. It made our Zanzibar experience so much better being in a nice little boutique hotel. The staff at both the hotel and the beach bar were so friendly and helpful they made us feel at home. The food was amazing, rooms were lovely, the whole place is just a vibe! We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Monika M wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Amazing hotel in Nungwi,can only rexommend this place! From first moment of arrival to our last good bye we felt super welcomed. Feels like you are staying in a family hotel in a secret garden somewhere hidden from the rest of the world. The tropical plants around the pools and the entire design of the place is excellent. The restaurant has a great breakfast selection (you can choose 3 items,like an a la carte menu) and their a la carte all-day restaurant has a variety for everyone. (We are vegans and had amazing food there) The beach is 1 minute walk. Recently opened their beach bar,which has the best spot for sunset with lounge music, is a must. The staff is super nice and can assist you with tours,tuktuk and recommendations. If you are around Nungwi,dont consider other places for your stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roland Dingemans, Owner at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words, Monika. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your good experience with us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pako88 wrote a review Nov 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions
+1
We had a really great vacation at the Aluna. The staff is outstandingly nice and cheerful - we are thrilled. The food was exceptionally good. I definitely recommend booking half board - it's worth it. Clear recommendation for anyone who wants to have a great time in Zanzibar. Tip: instead of only visiting the beach on the left, you should definitely walk once to the right to the sandbank at low tide!!! From Alina, you walk 1 min to the beach, a really quite one. But from there you can walk the complete beach to the bigger restaurants. Also, you can get a tuktuk ride directly from around for 5$ to the bigger part of the nungwi beach or to Kendwa. For food we can also recommend the restaurant “Fishermarket local) direct on the beach, not far from Aluna, very cheap but great seafood. But as I say, the food at aluna is also fantastic, but also a bit more expensive than outside.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guests, Thank you for your review and recommendation - and for taking time to give some more insightful tips. We appreciate very much your mentioning our friendly staff and exceptional food we serve. Our menu consists of special dishes that require always to be fresh and the highest quality - matching the price. That coupled with the perfect spot for relaxing is priceless :) You are welcome to visit again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kci wrote a review Nov 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands5 contributions
This was our first stay in Zanzibar and definitely not the last one. The resort was like Paradise. Everything was clean and very nice. Marien, Rosy and Eva (From the beach club) were amazing people!! The breakfast was so nice and also the pools were very delightful. We are coming back next year guy’s. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guests, Thank you for your lovely review on us. The whole team is delighted to know you fully enjoyed your stay. We will be waiting for your next visit to welcome you back to Aluna Paradise!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BendyBones wrote a review Nov 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom737 contributions127 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed for six nights on a B&B basis. The first night was spent in a ground floor room with a private garden to the rear housing a jacuzzi. The shower was outside too; the novelty of this quickly wore off and we moved to an upper floor room for the remaining five nights. This room was superb - decking to two sides with an outdoor covered jacuzzi. We were lucky enough to have monkeys visiting us several times on the balcony. The rooms were spacious with adequate storage including a safe. There was never any problems with hot water, air con or housekeeping. Towels were changed daily although some were quite threadbare. There were two pools to choose from. Pool towels were provided. The gardeners do a tremendous job of tending to all the plants on the property. Breakfast was a choice of menu items which were all served together on a wooden board - different but not practical in my opinion. All the staff were friendly and the management team were visible. The location was great for us, plenty of restaurants within walking distance along the beach. The property also had its own tuktuk available to prebook for a minimal charge. All in all, we had a relaxing stay at this tropical oasis and would recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guests, Thank you for taking your time to review us and for sharing helpful details. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and could choose the jacuzzi room you preferred. We are proud of our genuinely friendly staff delivering the excellent service they do for our guests. Your feedback is very valuable. We are already in the process of replacing our towels with new ones. Our breakfast appeals to many guests for being served fresh in a unique way,. We are also continuously improving the choice and the ways of serving it. Thank you for choosing us and welcome back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maciej W wrote a review Oct 2022
Wroclaw, Poland13 contributions
+1
Beautiful hotel area - small alleys among shrubs, swing beds, swimming pool with deckchairs, restaurant - all in tasty aesthetic and tidy. Lots of plants and related attractions - for example a hummingbird sucking the nectar out of flowers :D Nice and helpful staff. I guess the kitchen was led by a local Gordon Ramsay because the food was brilliant. Nice room, not huge but equipped with everything you need. A mattress of adequate hardness - spine was not aching in the morning. At night, birds sung somewhere outside the window, but in a rather moderate and polite manner. It did not disturb our sleep :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guests, We are very happy tor read your review telling more details about how special your stay was with us. I have extended your appreciative remarks to our head chef - indeed we have a special team here at your service, and the food is always super fresh prepared with love. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J-P B wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions
The hotel is well placed. People who work there are simply amzaing. Thanks to Mariam, Princess and to Neema for the stay, you made everyday special. The cleaning staff are doing a very good job to make our room perfect each and everyday. The food is very good. They also have a restaurant near the beach where you can enjoy a drink and the view. Looking forward to our next stay. Asante sana Chep. Kubwa !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guests, Thank you for your kind words on us. We are happy we made your stay special everyday! You are most welcome back - karibu tena!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel Said wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Qe stayed here for 5 nights. Environment is very nice and food was delightful. Staff is helpful and friendly. Great location, just 1min away from the beautiful nungwi beach, with their own beachclub on the shore. Highly recommended. Only downside is poor lighting in the room, similar to most other hotel rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to review us and your recommendation. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take your valuable feedback into account when renewing the lights of the rooms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Estela R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Aluna beach is a beatiful place. Is so funny . The People is magnific, the food is very good and the music is increíble. The sunset is very nice. Yuga is the Best waiter of aluna beach and Nungui is the best and beatiful place of Zanzibar. We hope come back in the futuro.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thanks for your kind words on us - we love to hear your feedback especially when you have enjoyed your stay so much. Our genuinely friendly staff is here waiting for you to visit us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katharina wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions
The hotel are very beautiful with lots of plants. It looks great. The Aluna Beach Restaurant on the beach invites you to a great sunset. The food and the staff are great there. However, I think that the hotel could do more with it, it is very old. The mattresses on the sunbeds are broken, some chairs at the restaurant are broken. Unfortuanetely we had really bad luck with our bathroom. The bathroom was damp and not at all the standard I want and am used to and it was very stinky. There is a taxi service to the surrounding beaches, which is very great. All in all I can say that it was really ok and we only sleep there but at the end of the day it doesnt matter how much you paid or how many stars it has, hygiene and cleanliness are top priorities for me and for this reason I would not recommend the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kaneli Pellikka, General Manager at Aluna Nungwi
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guests, Thank you for your review on us. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our tropical gardens, beach bar sunsets, excellent food and our genuinely friendly service. However, very sorry to read you did not find our hotel bathroom to be the standard you expected. Your feedback is valuable, and in the meanwhile we have already taken care of the problem mentioned with dampness in that particular room. Our guests are also happy not to find any broken sun-bed mattresses or chairs anymore!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$93 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALUNA NUNGWI - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aluna Nungwi
Which popular attractions are close to Aluna Nungwi?
Nearby attractions include Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond (0.1 km), Zanzibar Kilosas Conservation (0.3 km), and Dr Bulugu Gallery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aluna Nungwi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aluna Nungwi?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a dining area, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Aluna Nungwi?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aluna Nungwi?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aluna Nungwi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zee-Bar, Aluna Beach, and Fisherman's Seafood & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aluna Nungwi?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Aluna Nungwi have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aluna Nungwi offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Aluna Nungwi have airport transportation?
Yes, Aluna Nungwi offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aluna Nungwi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Dutch, Afrikaans, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Aluna Nungwi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fukuchani Ruins (5.7 km).