We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Traveller (3095)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (563)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
1,693Reviews
3,497Photos
231Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 990
  • 488
  • 125
  • 48
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spent 8 nights at this gorgeous resort, including New Year´s. The hotel is located on the nicest stretch of sand of the island. The west coast is not really affected by the tide so you can go for a swim anytime. Our room was really spacious, on the upper floor of Block B.
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Jambo Adriana, Thank you very much for your very kind review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, spacious room and our wonderful staff. I appreciate your remarks about the bottles and cigarette butts, we will ensure that we do a better job of cleaning the areas around the beach chairs in the morning. I'm also very sorry to hear that the beer at the beach bar wasn't cold. We'll check on how and when we're stocking the bar to ensure this is not the case. We will take a look at the snacks but I'm surprised to hear you felt the drink offer was limited. With all the standard alcohols and mixers, a choice of beer and wine options, this is not a concern that has come up previously. But we'll take a look and ensure that everything that should be available is in place. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Considering that this is Africa and abviously one can not expect North American customer service standard, I would say that everyone is trying to do their best to make you happy. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are beautiful as well. I will not complain that we didn’t
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Raluca, Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. It's a pleasure to hear that there were so many things you enjoyed about the resort and the gardeners appreciated your remark about the beautiful grounds. We would also agree that the beach is spectacular and were truly delighted that you were so pleased with our New Year's Eve Buffet. The Kitchen did a great job, didn't they? I am very sorry that no one explained to you about Block A. You were booked for Superior and Superior Deluxe rooms and Block A consists entirely of Ocean Suites, there are no rooms of the type you booked in Block A. We will do our best to be clear about this with future guests. I was even more sorry to hear about your experience at Samaki and would like to assure you that this is not the normal offering in that restaurant. I wish that you had spoken to management about it, we would have been pleased to ensure that you had the meal you had been dreaming of. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort to finish your vacation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and assure you we will do everything we can to ensure the stay is all you imagined. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
+1
Nice hotel, clean and spacious rooms. Beach is beautiful and not crowded. Rise and low tide let to swim all day. Lots of activities for those who doesn’t want just lay and swim. Staff and animators (especially Marco) were really friendly and fun, all our children (between 10
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay and our Animation Team was particularly pleased to be mentioned so positively! Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Book this hotel. You simply will not regret it. Its truly a Royal resort. I could not rate the hotel highly enough. The room was kept clean and kempt. Very simple and relaxing. Stayed in in both normal and then upgraded luxury suite which were both amazing. Room service on
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Adam, Thank you so very much for a wonderful review and a terrific recommendation! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciated your kind remarks about your rooms, housekeeping, food, beach and our lovely staff. I was also pleased to hear that you were happy about the lack of mosquitoes and bugs, it's not always as good in the wet season, but really has been good so far this season, thank you for mentioning it! We were also glad to hear that you were able to practice your assertion skills, although very sorry you had to do any kind of work on your vacation. We keep speaking to the beach boys in an effort to calm them down and some guests seem to find them quite manageable, unfortunately not all. I was also sorry to hear about the mocktails. We'll sample a few (tough job, I know!) and see if there are adjustments we can make. Thank you for mentioning it. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your vacation in Nungwi. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
We came here on our honeymoon and were given an upgrade to a beach front suite. It was an amazing room. Huge bathroom etc. We couldn’t have been looked after better with the room. The food in the main restaurant (buffet) is quite nice and offers variety. The food at the beach
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jonathon, Thank you so much for your great review and generous recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're thrilled to hear that your honeymoon was relaxed and that you enjoyed one of our beautiful Ocean Suites. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food at Samaki, we continue working on the menu there to ensure the offering is as varied as possible. But we do have to agree that the view is amazing! Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your honeymoon. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, perhaps for a special anniversary? Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
PreviousNext
123456112
What brand beers are available on the all inclusive rate?
What nights is bbq night on the beach?
Ours changed as it raine5
0 votes
Show all answers
Our Superior Deluxe rooms were newly built in 2016 and our Ocean Suites completely renovated in 2017. Our Superior rooms have been refreshed but not renovated. If you prefer to pay for the upgrade to a Superior Deluxe or Ocean Suite, please contact our reservations team. I'm not allowed to post their email here but it can be found on our website. We look forward to welcoming you!
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes all the meat is halal. Zanzibar is a Muslim Island. They are extremely vigilant with cross contamination. Please be made aware prior to reaching the resort you will see a lot of poverty. Their road conditions are extremely poor. If you can take clothes, books, pens, sweets please take them to gift the people. They will not ask or hound you. I am a Muslim and avid travellers. From over 50 countries I have visited Zanzibar has to be my favourite. They have a 24 hour bar but make Mocktails on request. Predominantly all the staff in the resort are Muslims.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345647
"Higher floors have a weaker wifi connection"
"deluxe room"
"5 star quality"
"All the rooms seemed to have a nice view, either of the sea or the gardens. Sea view suite was amazing though. We had A21."
"rooms were clean and well maintained."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 278 - US$ 727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal zanzibar beach hotel nungwiseaclub royal zanzibar beach hotel
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing