We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

1,506 reviews
Save
Traveller (2575)
Pool & Beach (778)
Room & Suite (500)
Other hotels you may like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“double bath”(22 reviews)
“coco bar”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
4.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Other hotels you may like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,506)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
325
120
32
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
325
120
32
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bathsamaki restaurantcoco baranimation teamcaptain marcorooms are hugemain restaurantitalian chefpool barhakuna matatalocal spiritsstone townmasai guardsbuffet styleall inclusive packageour honeymoonlounge area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks. So relaxing. Staff are so friendly. Place is massive and so many pools to choose from. Great service all round. Can't fault this resort. Still in its baby years as its only starting to gain the tourists to the country,...More

1  Thank Laura E M
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach ResortResponded 5 days ago

Dear Laura, Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we loved hearing that your vacation was "relaxing", our favourite thing!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room overlooked the sea it was beautiful,fabulous room huge with everything you could wish for .The staff were so friendly and always helpful and obliging .The food in the hotel was excellent and we loved our lunches overlooking the sea where Gloria gave us...More

1  Thank Thea B
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach ResortResponded 1 week ago

Dear Thea, Thank you so much for your lovely review and generous recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I know that Gloria will be particularly pleased to have been mentioned so...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Previous to our trip to Zanzibar we were at a safari trip and were really looked forward to get some rest. We stayed in this resort 6 years ago and had great memories. Everything was just as good and even better. Our ocean room suite...More

1  Thank Balázs F
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Balázs, Thank you so much for returning to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for a second visit and for posting such a terrific review! We're delighted to hear that your second stay was even better than your first and the Chef and his team were...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sometimes it’s just a matter of bad luck of getting the wrong room in the hotel... I arrived with my wife yesterday to celebrate her birthday (the hotel was informed) Unfortunately we probably got the room with the worst location in the hotel - on...More

1  Thank Dan B
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. I'm so sorry that you have been disappointed by the location of your room. Unfortunately we receive requests for the same few rooms from virtually every agent and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A totally relaxed stay in an very well designed beach resort. Most memorable must be the amazing position on the edge of the Indian Ocean. All the staff are so welcoming and friendly and rooms are spacious, clean and well laid out. We had an...More

Thank Helen S
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Helen, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. We love hearing that guests were able to relax during their stay with us and we completely agree with you that the view and position of the property are amazing!...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456102
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Beachfront
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 265 - US$ 613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 265 - US$ 613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2575)
Pool & Beach (778)
Room & Suite (500)
Dining (227)
Amenities (50)
Family and Play Areas (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beverley w
27 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lucia A | Reviewed this property |
We was in december 2.-11.12 it was first 4 days sunny, then sunny + storms, then one all day rainy, and 3 last days sunny and really windy. So.... I think this answer was really helpful, ehm.... :))) btw it can be cold... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
khattabz
15 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from S P | Reviewed this property |
I would say 5-7 days will be enough. Depends on the holiday type you like anyway:active or just catching the sun on the beach.
0
Votes
Sharon B
26 August 2017|
Answer
Response from GM-RZBR | Property representative |
Yes they are! You can collect and sign for your towels next to the Beach Bar. Looking forward to welcoming you!
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345659
Room Tips
"no comment. They all seem to be nice"
Read review
"All rooms have a nice view. Choose any room."
Read review
"Block A - Ocean Front View."
Read review
"Choose Superior Deluxe (view + mosquito net). Avoid the E and F buildings: just in front of a bar, where they..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing