We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Wanaka

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our fifth place to stay on our three week trip through the South Island. We were traveling with our three 20-year-old children. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment. It was the least serviced of any place we'd been. We stayed for five nights and the first two there was no service. The last few days someone did...

Thank ACD100
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

After a bumpy start, the Hotel did a great job in service recovery. Our last 2 nights in NZ, we really wanted to enjoy it and the Hotel with their great customer service, allowed this to happen. Located about 25 minute walk from the town, this Property is ideally located for breathtaking views. Good games room, a little too windy...

Thank cookie077
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of Distinction Wanaka's two bedroom apartments for three nights. Overall our stay was near perfect; the apartment was incredibly spacious, modern and well kitted out. We also had fantastic views of Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains. The only let down was that our apartment was not serviced after the first day, we alerted reception to...

Thank HonestReviewsRC
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place. I have ensured that all housekeeping servicing staff have been reissued with the list of daily service requirements.

Tauranga New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 3 bedroom , 2 bathroom apartment looking out across the lake to snow capped mountains. A few things could be improved within the apartments but nothing major. The kitchen is well equipped. It did appear that full Sky TV was provided. The beds were very comfortable and the whole apartment was very clean. When leaving I tried...

Thank McLeodnz
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As we don't use the vacuum cleaners in the apartments for cleaning, would you possibly be able to advise direct to our email which apartment this was, so that we can replace the head. Wifi unfortunately is very slow in Wanaka, no fibre and also of course a huge influx of summer visitors puts a...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location - the signs on Anderson road leading to Distinction Wanaka wasn't really clear. It was still marked as the old landmark which was Alphine Resort Wanaka with Distinction Wanaka sign near it. Does take a careful eye to look out for the turn into the property. the location is about 5 min drive into wanaka city centre, but not...

Thank rockjunkiez
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are presently in transition to a new management company, therefore the rather jumbled signage that is in place presently. New signage is due soon. Travel safely and hope to have you return.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled on this place after several visits to the Wanaka area. First visit we got an unexpected upgrade to a 2 bed apartment we had already booked for a future visit. Simply stunning views, great location, great apartments, great facilities, garage for storage. Faultless really. Kids loved it, adults loved it. We will now be regulars!!!

Thank MrEverest
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we look forward to welcoming you again

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of slef contained apartments around the country. I find that this place has all the amenities including a pool, a small rec room and a tennis court within the complex. Yet, they missed out on the really important bits. To start, all the bedside lights and even the alarm clock were unplugged. It was...

DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - it is appreciated to know where we can 'up' our service to our guests. Kind regards

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We spent three nights at Distinction apartments and found the complex very good. It is lovely and quiet and the apartments are positioned to give privacy. The amenities were good and views out to the lake was worth the extra dollars. Staff were very helpful and obliging. We would happily to stay here again

Thank Kiwigolfer2011
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you! Feedback is important to us.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Distinction Wanaka. We had booked a two-bedroom unit but we were upgraded to a three-bedroom unit that was huge with a large balcony and sweeping mountain views. It is a fair distance from the lake and all of the restaurants but as a family with small children, we appreciated all of the space. The hosts...

Thank iplayazi
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I will note your comment about the swimming pools.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We stayed here for three nights in an upstairs three bedroom/ two bathroom apartment. As we were just a couple, 2 beds and a bathroom were locked off but that still left a generous living/kitchen area, master bedroom, en suite and laundry. Whilst some of the furniture was a bit knocked-around and the mountain/lake view was limited, we were very...

Thank PollardHackett
DistinctionWanaka, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you!

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (71)
View from Room (6)
Room/Suite (19)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Videos (1)
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (10)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.0 km away
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
679 reviews
3.5 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.4 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
459 reviews
3.6 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 km away
Fairway Motel
Fairway Motel
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: ₹ 6,903 - ₹ 17,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Wanaka staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs apartment with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles McLeodnz, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Having a lake view is worth it”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwigolfer2011, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view and avoid upstairs if mobility is an issue as the stairs are steep”
 of 5 bubbles PollardHackett, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look great”
 of 5 bubbles Kathy265134, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upstairs apartments with a view over the lake. The downstairs ones are OK but upstairs is the bomb.”
 of 5 bubbles CaptainVegetable, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay