We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edgewater

Show Prices
#4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edgewater
Edgewater
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Stayed at Edgewater over Easter 2016 weekend to attend the Warbirds Over Wanaka Airshow. Beautifully manicured lawns, a peaceful pond which makes great foreground for photo shots of the unobstructed views of the lake and mountains beyond. Easy, relaxing 20 minute walk along the water's edge to town. We hired mountain bikes from reception and explored the lakeside trails right...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skram2016
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Sounds like you had a fabulous time with us over the busy Easter 'Warbirds over Wanaka' weekend. Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

The property itself is beautiful with perfectly manicured lawns and stunning views of the lake. Per se the room and the bathroom are not bad but they could seriously be renovated - that carpet is at least 20 years old and so are the amenities - for instance the hair dryer and hot water flask could definitely be upgraded. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Riddhi M
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thanks for your feedback on Edgewater. The hotels is in the final phase of upgrading the guest rooms. It sounds like you may have been located in a room that is yet to be upgraded. Those rooms will be upgraded April - June completing the refurbishment programme. We hope you may be in a position to come back...

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Hotel is situated just beside Lake Wanaka with access to the lakeside just within doorstep. We stayed at ground unit which can open the balcony and stroll through the lawn towards the lakeside, just amazing! Rooms were clean and comfy with basic amenities. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with decent options. Strongly recommended to rent a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chuamy99
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed description of Edgewater. Pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards Trish

Jakarta
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We stayed here in a family room complete with kitchen to cook and living room. All of us love this hotel because our room is connected to green backyard where you can enjoy the view of Lake Wanaka. There is also small terrace where you can sit down while admiring the beautiful sunset. After some of small lodges we spent...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cheerful71
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thanks so much for your accolades of Wanaka and comments on Edgewater. Wanaka is certainly a 'not-to-be-missed' destination. We appreciate your comments on the hotel. Safe travels. Trish

Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

The room was great with fantastic views to the mountains and overlooked the lake We stayed for 2 nights, the first night we had dinner which was poor (better food locally) The staff we friendly and helpful and suggested were in town we could eat !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny H
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Jenny H Thanks so much for your time to share your experiences. So pleased you enjoyed our lakefront location though we fell short with regards to dinner. If you have any specific details on this, please do make contact directly on bd@edgewater.co.nz. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We had a great time at this Hotel. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable . The staff we extremely helpful especially the Concierge George with his friendly demeanor , I would highly recommend this Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda B
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Hi Linda B Thanks so much for your comments, especially with regards to lovely George. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed for 2 nights. Had checked the feedback on TripAdvisor before we came and was very excited. But after check-in it was not as we have expected. Wifi and hot water was limited. Really weird for a up class hotel. Our room was non smoking room but the next door was smoking and I have smell it many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quyen D
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Quyen D We're sorry your stay with us wasn't up to expectations. I can assure that the entire hotel is smoke free so I can only assume the neigbouring guests were smoking outside. With regards to wi-fi I am not sure if you mean it was limited in daily capacity or limited due to disruptions. We changed providers some...

Baldivis, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

The room was truly amazing,awesome views to the mountains over lake Wanaka Had a meal in the in house restaurant,the food spectacular,the wife and I had a truly special night .Thanks guys it was a blast. Truly amazing accomodation for all types of people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Stephen S Many thanks for your super comments and so pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 19 March 2016

The rooms are just gorgeous with stunning views over Lake Wanaka.mthe beds are extremely comfortable, the amenities fantastic and the in house restaurant is superb with brilliant service. We wished we could have stayed longer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delma D
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Delma D We appreciate you comments and hopefully you may be able to come back in the future and stay longer. Kind regards Trish

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2016

The location of this property is truly amazing, right on the lakefront with spectacular lake views. Less than 5 minutes drive into town makes it extremely convenient. Bathrooms are a bit dated but none of us really had an issue with it. Staff at reception were a mixed bunch - some friendly and warm while others were quite curt. Restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saazeel2016
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia ora Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Trish

536 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (302)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Hotel Studio Room (38)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
466 reviews
1.9 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
394 reviews
2.8 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
2.0 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
1.9 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: ₹ 9,519 - ₹ 17,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edgewater staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a lake side room with a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles WellTraveled3, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor quieter and to the side good views of lake suites to the side of restaurant noisier when wedding parties on”
 of 5 bubbles S6975VJelizabeths, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to suit family groups or just for couples”
 of 5 bubbles ronandjackg, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Think this would be a great place to bring kids. Tennis courts, swimming, hiking & other water sports! Fun!”
 of 5 bubbles 177leslieg, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view and second floor (no lift)”
 of 5 bubbles billsellicks, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5