We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wanaka Bakpaka

    117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (102)
          Room & Suite (45)
          Dining (10)
          YHA Wanaka
          336 reviews
          #2 of 45 Speciality lodging in Wanaka
           
          Edgewater
          760 reviews
          #4 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          The Moorings
          423 reviews
          #2 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          Lakeside Apartments
          500 reviews
          #1 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          Overview
          • Excellent67%
          • Very good26%
          • Average4%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “the kitchen” (63 reviews)
          “twin room” (14 reviews)
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Family Rooms
          Kitchenette
          Laundry Service
          Self-Serve Laundry
          All hotel details
          {"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
          YHA Wanaka
          336 reviews
          #2 of 45 Speciality lodging in Wanaka
           
          Edgewater
          760 reviews
          #4 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          The Moorings
          423 reviews
          #2 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          Lakeside Apartments
          500 reviews
          #1 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          • More languages
          Reviewed 2 weeks ago

          this accomodation is ideally situated for maximum scenic value. The view from the lounge area is stunning and so inviting by the fireplace , you really need to make an effort to go out and be active. The facilities are spotless, have ample items for...More

          Helpful?
          Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka

          Hi there Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We to agree that the view from our living room is stunning. It's great to hear you found all the facilities well stocked and staff helpful. Wanaka Bakpaka :...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago

          Collection of buildings on hillside above lake - about 10 minutes walk from CBD. Wonderful views across lake. Hostel itself was clean and comfortable. Room was fine, as were bathroom facilities - good shower. Modern decent sized and well equiped kitchen. Large lounge / dining...More

          Helpful?
          Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka

          Hi Dean Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, its awesome to hear you enjoyed your stay. Six nights is a great amount of time to explore Wanaka and its surrounds. We appreciate your comments about our staff and have...More

          Reviewed 19 April 2017

          Although the views are incredible from the lounge/dining area of the lake and the room was pretty decent, the ensuite bathroom was pretty bad. No soap (even asked for some but still none was put in) and the shower was awful - you can either...More

          Helpful?
          Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka

          Hi Emma Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wanaka Bakpaka. It is sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would hope. We do not provide soap in the bathrooms as this is over to...More

          Reviewed 29 March 2017

          We found this hostel to be friendly and welcoming. We had a private double room, unfortunately not en-suite. The room was not that big, but was clean and nicely decorated. No TV anywhere, but free access to computers. Common kitchen well equipped. Stunning views from...More

          Helpful?
          Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka

          Hi Bernard It's great to hear you found your room clean and tidy, unfortunately we only have two en suited rooms and they do book out very fast. We are a T.V free hostel but feel there is plenty to do in Wanaka day or...More

          Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

          I stayed here 2 nights with a friend. Our dorm had an amazing view of the lake and was clean and warm. Kitchen had everything you needed. Limited free wifi but was more than enough. The dining/lounge area was the best part. After a long...More

          Helpful?
          Response from WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka

          Hi Rinee Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We do offer 500mb of free Wifi and then guests can purchase more but agree that amount is plenty. There are so many great walks in and around Wanaka...More

          YHA Wanaka
          336 reviews
          #2 of 45 Speciality lodging in Wanaka
           
          Edgewater
          760 reviews
          #4 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          The Moorings
          423 reviews
          #2 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          Lakeside Apartments
          500 reviews
          #1 of 20 hotels in Wanaka
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Internet
          • Free Parking
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 16 - US$ 48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Family Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 21
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • South Island >
          • Otago Region >
          • Wanaka
          • Also Known As
          • Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (102)
          Room & Suite (45)
          Dining (10)
          Pool & Beach (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (66)
          Bathroom (1)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Nearby
          Lakeside Apartments
          500 reviews
          .54 km away
           
          Wanaka Hotel
          520 reviews
          .68 km away
           
          Lakeview Motel
          260 reviews
          .26 km away
           
          Manuka Crescent Motel
          177 reviews
          .84 km away
           
          The Moorings
          423 reviews
          .50 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
          384 reviews
          .67 km away
          Big Fig Wanaka
          253 reviews
          .65 km away
          Kai Whakapai Cafe and Bar
          672 reviews
          .66 km away
          Francesca's Kitchen
          1,055 reviews
          .66 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Wanaka
          970 reviews
          .70 km away
          Deep Canyon
          173 reviews
          .58 km away
          Lake Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
          172 reviews
          .62 km away
          Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
          6 reviews
          .65 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          kellybell23
          Is this place appropriate for a family of four. Two kids ages 9&11. Thanks
          21 April 2015|
          What is your answer?
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Great kitchen facilities, Great view, Comfortable common areas."
          Read review
          "4 bed dorm nr. 1"
          Read review
          "Try to get a room with a view."
          Read review
          "Well located, nice views"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing