We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Archway Motels

Show Prices
#15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Archway Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Archway Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The location is great. Very central. The whole unit is generous size especially the living room and the kitchen area (we booked the 2 bedrooms unit). But I think the bed is very old, and when you lie on it, it dips very low. Not good if you have any back problem. The wifi is a bit on the stingy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy_Houtami
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank You Kathy for your constructive feedback we always take our guests views seriously. We are sorry to hear you found the bed dipping as you are the first to comment- but we appreciate it. That bed we want to upgrade to a new king bed like 75% of the units already. The bed currently does have a $140 luxury...

Banbury
Reviewed 9 February 2016

When planning our trip we tried to find accommodation in Queenstown but availability was nil. Found this spot instead and I'm so thrilled that we did. Lake Wanaka, 5 mins walk is stunning. Bars and eateries abound in lakefront locations. Really laid back feel to the place and nowhere near as busy as Queenstown Archway Motels provided a beautifully equipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you John, We appreciate your comments. We are so pleased you made the most of Wanaka & staying at Archway Motel. We are finding that many visitors have stayed in Wanaka because they cannot get accommodation in Wanaka. They also experience the same thing. Wanaka has always been a very special place- got everything you need - as they...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016

We stayed in one of the chalets, well equipped and comfortable and within easy reach of the town. Quiet and we had a good night's rest. Owners knew the area well and were able to recommend good places to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mag1
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the quiet yet handy location of the motels and especially the chalets set up the back. We hope you enjoyed your whole trip and that 2016 is a memorable and happy one for you. Warm regards Your Archway Hosts - Bridgit & Paul

UK
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Great location, just on the edge of town means its easy to get to by car, nice and quiet setting but still only 10 minutes walk to the edge of the lake. There is a small supermarket just 5 minutes walk away too. The rooms are a good size, clean and have a good shower. There was also a well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmyt7
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Accommodation in this area can get pretty pricey but this was very nice. The rooms were clean, tidy, and spacious, with parking right outside. I would say the location is great, but every location in Wanaka is fairly central. Walking distance to the town is always easy. Very friendly service there as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank You for your feedback & positive comments- always appreciated. You are correct- in Wanaka there are very few Motels actually right in the middle of the township- which is actually quite nice as it is quieter & only a short walk anyway. We have tried to keep our 2 acre property as natural and as environmentally eco-friendly as possible...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

We were somewhat disappointed on arrival. We had a 'superior' two bedroom unit booked for three of us, a couple and a friend from overseas. After travelling for some time we have plenty of experience with other places. This one has lots of positives. The unit has plenty of space including another two beds in a curtained off area in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reynard1
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments and we rally appreciate your feedback. Yes our original older units in the main complex are 20 years old- even older and we are planning upgrades to both our extra spacious family units- they are next to have the bathrooms our focus. We do not have superior family units only standard & extra spacious- superior...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

A lovely owner-operated motel in Wanaka. Conveniently located close to the town centre, coffee strip, and the lake. Although very quiet. Everything is within walking distance. We were welcomed by the owners and introduced to available amenities. The room was cozy and comfortable with a large bed and a fully set up kitchen. The only thing that we didn't like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PPerth
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Our family of 6 pulled into the darkened Archway Motel after 9pm expecting, once again, to be told there were no rooms available (why hadn't we booked?). However, we were lucky! Someone had booked on the wrong day and we were given their 2 bedroom chalet! It was like walking into a palace....so much room! The bathroom was basic, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeBirch
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Nice rooms within walking distance of town (5 min). We stayed in one of the Chalets. Paul and Bridget were wonderful, they made us feel welcome and helped find things to do with our 12 yr old son. He spent a bit of time playing with their cat Archie ;-) Wanaka is a calmer version of Queenstown, we would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you Christian, We really enjoyed having you stay at Archway and to get to know you all. We really appreciate your feedback and it is always a highlight to have very happy and satisfied guests whom have had some great experiences. We know you loved Wanaka and heard from Jill that you absolutely loved the Helicopter trip to Mt...

Thika, Kenya
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Home away from home. Excellent facillities, walking distance to town, biking and hiking tracks. Charming owners who are very helpful. Nice ladscaping, electric blankets for the cold, great cooking facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanika P
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback & comments. We really enjoyed getting to meet you all and spend time over 2 days. It's lovely guests such as yourselves that make our hosting so worthwhile. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas & New Year 2016.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.4 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.3 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
656 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
159 reviews
2.6 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.4 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: ₹ 6,145 - ₹ 10,549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Archway Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Archway Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was towards the back and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you check that the wifi key works first before the owners settle in for the night.”
 of 5 bubbles manic_cornflakes, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are perfect for large families or groups.”
 of 5 bubbles kimdes0956, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Superior Chalet Rooms are very good value and totally problem-free accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosella19, 22 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Chalets away from road are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles avoca063, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay