We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
I have been to Wanaka 5 times now and have stayed here for two of those stays. The Purple Cow is in a fantastic location so very close to town and shops, but not to noisy. We went a double ensuite self contained private. It...More
View from main lounge is amazing. Excellent well supplied kitchen. Everything very clean.
Great central location with supermarket, bars, restaurants and the lake all within easy walking distance and yet it's quiet.
We stayed in a Twin Ensuite Private room. The Ensuite bathroom, kitchenette and...More
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA WanakaResponded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your outstanding review!
We are always happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. Thanks for explaining the layout of our standard Double and Twin rooms.
We have 2-bedroom units, each containing a double and a twin room. A...More
This was my first dorm experience of staying in a hostel but in an actual dorm- eased myself in by staying with my friend in a 4 bed female room. was perfect, wide bunk beds, all with plugs near your head and a big shelving...More
Thank Fran S
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA WanakaResponded 4 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your excellent review!! I am thrilled to hear that your first dorm experience turned out be perfect. Thanks for commenting positive about the room facilities such as power plugs, shelving and secure lockers for...More
First,...it's a very nice hostel, but to charge for tidy rooms over $100 , sorry, not again. Wi-Fi doesn't work, tv remote control doesn't work, after changing room, tv works but always a annoying background sound. For that money better a motel !
PLENTY OF HEAT. toilet door slides instead of opens. Nice kitchen/living area arrangement. Good hearty fire. Spacious rooms with lockers. Large toilet/shower area, clean. Central location. Good car parking and nice touch of a herb garden. Kitchen is large and well stocked. Good WiFi and...More
Thank Alistair M
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA WanakaResponded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to leave this excellent review!
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the cosy fire and all the facilities we have on offer. I hope you had a chance to help yourself to...More
TripAdvisor gives a Certificate of Excellence to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers.
US$ 42 - US$ 94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Non-Smoking Rooms ,
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.