We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heartland Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Heartland Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a family stay here for a night on our way from a Christchurch to Queenstown. We booked the Residence which is has 4 singles and a queen bed. The kids were all freezing overnight even though it was the middle of summer. The hosts were lovely and very accommodating and helpful. I don't think that this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
Leeuwarden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had an amazing stay at the B&B from Jim and Mary. Although we arrived late we were welcomed with warmth, tea, wine and home made cookies. They took the time to chat with us which gave such a personal touch to our stay. Heartland Lodge is a beautiful house with a wonderful garden. The B&B provides the guests a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dian W
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

- Delicious homemade food along with a heartful welcoming from the host will defenitely make us pay a visit again in the future. 따뜻한 환대와 노부부가 직접 만드신 영국식 음식을 맛보실 수 있습니다. 서양 스타일의 가정모습을 그대로 보여 주고 있어 구경 하는 재미도 쏠쏠 합니다 기대 이상으로 좋은 곳으로 꼭 추천 드립니다 :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JiMin L
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay.

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very obliging hosts, great breakfast and extremely clean and tidy premises and quite well maintained. Although no TV in room there is a shared TV in the common lounge room. No fridge in the room but a shared bar fridge available in the linen storage room where the tea and coffee making facilities are also located. Neither are available in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saandra701
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Sandra, for your positive comments. We have no television in the rooms because we would like our guests to enjoy a more inclusive experience. The rooms are not locked and we are always present when guests are in residence, the house is secured when not. We the standard wifi system generally used by hospitality providers

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 July 2016

This review is long overdue. My wife and I stayed with Mary and Jim in December while touring New Zealand on our honeymoon. Twizel is a lovely place to visit on the South Island. We decided to spend two nights there in order to break up our drive from Queenstown to Christchurch. Twizel is close to Mt. Cook National Park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uebermaedel
Lincoln
Reviewed 20 May 2016

To be greeted by a board welcoming you by name is a lovely touch. Mary and Jim are very welcoming and we were promptly supplied with tea and biscuits. The room was spacious and comfortable. Free straightforward wifi and tea & coffe making facilities with proper milk. Breakfast was superb - Mary's 'legendary' scrambled eggs certainly lived up to their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lemmus
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We do take a pride in the cooking and presentation of our food and are passionate about the facilities of the area. We are blessed with excellent restaurants locally and their food quality stands with the best.

Melbourne
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Our hosts Mary & Jim, were very welcoming us on arrival, they were warm/helpful hosts who wanted us to feel comfortable and at home right from our arrival. They showed us around the B&B guest facilities and ensued we were happy with our bedroom, en suite bathroom and addressed any preferences. We were introduced to and enjoyed the company of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlfaRomeoSpider76
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review us. The "Welcome Board" ensures that our guests are expected and there is no confusion. Later in the season, we have more time to spend with our guests and enjoy their own stories.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 23 March 2016

If there were a higher rating than five stars I would have given them even more. What a delightful experience staying with hosts Mary and Jim. Our accommodations were gorgeous, no detail missed. They thought of everything, with special touches throughout our stay. The rooms were spacious, pretty, bright and quiet. The bathroom was supplied with everything one could possibly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TehdeeBear
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us so positively. We are so fortunate having great guests.

Warin, Germany
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We had very nice hosts there. Thank you Mary and Jim for the warm welcome and the feeling to be at home. The lodge is located absolutely quiet. The rooms have a high standard and the breakfast is excellent. Beside this the hosts baked very good cookies. You have a view to a beautiful landscape. We were sad to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudiM59
heartlandlodge, Owner at Heartland Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Sandra, for such a wonderful review. We love our work and have the privilege of hosting wonderful people.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We spent five nights with Mary & Jim at their beautifully appointed home when we were visiting our son in Twizel in Feb. This was our first visit to NZ and we certainly weren't disappointed..this magnificent South Island has rich and diverse landforms that are quite simply breathtaking, and the mountain views from Heartland Lodge complimented that perfectly. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twizel hotels
1.8 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.2 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.8 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
2.3 km away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 7 in Twizel
263 reviews
9.4 km away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heartland Lodge is purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms in the lodge are all spacious, with full sized ensuite bathrooms with spa baths. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heartland Lodge

Address: 19 North West Arch, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Price Range: ₹ 8,710 - ₹ 16,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Heartland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms part of main house if you want something private/intimate/quiet book somewhere else: if you want company then this would be ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles Saandra701, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles AlfaRomeoSpider76, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are eloquently appointed and lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles sandrae698, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“we had upstairs- it was fine!”
 of 5 bubbles rodgerr539, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Every room has great views however it is worth the extra money for Aoraki or Pukaki as the Mount Cook views are spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles keryns_13, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay