We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Buena Onda

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 35*
US$ 18*
Great Deal
US$ 21*
US$ 35*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
La Buena Onda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Buena Onda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 December 2016

What a great place! Clean and comfortable, great location! Go there!! The hostel is central located and close to great restaurants. The staff was great and super knowledgeable, ready to help with all my questions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzied372
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello lizzied372, Many thanks for this review. It was great to have your as our guests. We hope to have you back some day!

Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a private room. The room was spacious and clean with a large comfortable bed. It had a water heater on the shower head so we could have hot showers - which in december was necessary as it can get quite chilly. Service was friendly. Location was good. We had our clothes washed which was done quickly and for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn M
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hi LeeAnn M, Thank you for this great review. We are happy you've enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact us via e-mail so we can talk about how to improve our breakfast. Have a very nice rest of your trip.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel was nice enough. tv with English channels and movies. Decent kitchen. The disappointment came with the customer service confusion. When arriving we were told there was hot water in the room. When I went to have a shower there was none. I then asked the receptionist and she told me to use the other shower. I went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie4094
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We already expected this review after your threatening. Our dorm rooms has never had a hot shower, this has never been advertised and our staff knows this. We want all readers of this review to know that you actually went into the private rooms shared bathroom to make it dirty on purpose, and...

Costa Rica
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

This was my third stay and again it was great. The receptionists were wonderful as was housekeeping. My private room D was wonderful. The bed was huge and comfortable and when I opened the windows I got a great refreshing breeze. It was rainy during my stay and the sound of the rain helped me sleep every night. A great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertoB2112
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello RobertoB2112, Once again it's been a pleasure to host you. Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon RobertoB2112!

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My mother and I stayed in private room D and loved it! The breakfast (included for private rooms) was delicious--pancakes, fruit, and honey. They have free coffee and purified water all day, and sell bottles of water and other drinks at the front desk. All the staff were very friendly, the common areas were pleasant, the wifi was fast, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Kristi K, We feel very proud after receiving your review. It is wonderful to see our guests being so happy during their stay with us. The water our guests have access to all day is not purified but is filtered by a clay filter. Thank you a lot for this review.

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the dorm room after booking online through the website. We got a quick response which was great as we were coming the same day! We were warned via email the dorm rooms were noisy and they were due to the main road outside so slept with ear plugs and an eye mask. The dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Hayley H, Thank you a lot for writing this review. It's nice to hear that you find our hostel comfortable and clean,most important for a hostel. We very much appreciate the sincerity of your review. Of course, all our guests are welcome in both buildings. Our apologies for not being clear enough about that. Have a great rest of...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This was a good hostel for a short stop. The breakfast was amazing in the morning and staff were super helpful and attentive. The hostel has a great view of the hills surrounding Matagalpa and the hostel is in a reasonable location to the sights of Matagalpa. They have a relaxing balcony and court yard for your enjoyment, plus an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Jamie S, Thank you a lot for this great review. Reading your review it looks like you had a very good time in Matagalpa, using La Buena Onda as your base. You are definitely right about the missing piece of wood in the bathroom ceiling. It's still a mystery for us how that peace of ceiling got lost but...

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Very good value and conveniently located. La Buena Onda is both a hostel and hotel with private rooms. Make sure you confirm which you want. Our room (second floor, back of hotel) was a bit noisy with dogs barking and roosters crowing, but that is fairly typical in Nicaragua. We have stayed at two other hotels in Matagalpa and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krminor
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Krminor, Thank you for this great review. It is good to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately dogs and roosters are unavoidable in Nicaragua. Please let us know in an e-mail what you think we should change according to our breakfast, we are open to any suggestion! Thank you again, and we hope to have you...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The place is a little more expensive than the other, but we didn't encounter any problems when we stayed over. Staff was friendly and accommodating as we arrived unannounced at 11:00 pm (very late in Matagalpa). Rooms are nice, clean and fresh. And there is a rabbit that runs free

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javier C
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Javier C, Thank you for writing this great review. 11pm is a little late indeed, but we always have someone to welcome you, day and night. We hope to see you again anytime soon.

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I actually stayed at Buena Onda for four nights in a private room. I liked it. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Overall, I recommend to use it. You have access to fast wifi and filtered water. It's well located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knocr
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hola Knocr, Thank you for this short but sweet review. We hope to have you back again soon!

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.4 km away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
120 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel La Estancia de Don Roberto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
75 reviews
2.1 km away
Hostal Ulap Yasica
Hostal Ulap Yasica
#3 of 26 in Matagalpa
73 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#2 of 15 in Matagalpa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to La Buena Onda, Matagalpa's first Hostel! Use us as a base to explore the beautiful city of Matagalpa and it's surrounding mountains and coffee farms, or just come relax with us and enjoy some amazing coffee and food from our cafe. Come swing in a hammock in our patio or on our balcony, take advantage of our free internet, cable TV or a DVD, or grab a book from our extensive library. We have dormitories and private rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Buena Onda

Address: Avenida El Brigadista, Matagalpa 61000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Price Range: ₹ 1,037 - ₹ 2,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Buena Onda staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Buena Onda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor near the back”
worldwoman, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't hesitate to ask for a blanket; only a sheet is provided in the dorms and it gets chilly in the night.”
jessicabQ5776XC, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Private room D was very nice and included breakfast.”
KristiK616, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The double room D was very good.”
berendino, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a family it was nice to be on the first floor close to the common space.”
scheidrews, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 18* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 21
PricelineUS$ 35
Agoda.comUS$ 35
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates