We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Buena Onda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
La Buena Onda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Beautiful hostel with a great view! We loved the hostel as it was very clean and had a very comfortable big bed! The owner is very helpful and friendly and u get free good coffee. The only thing u might need is some earplugs as the wildlife around is very noisy :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve O
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mother and I stayed in private room D and loved it! The breakfast (included for private rooms) was delicious--pancakes, fruit, and honey. They have free coffee and purified water all day, and sell bottles of water and other drinks at the front desk. All the staff were very friendly, the common areas were pleasant, the wifi was fast, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Kristi K, We feel very proud after receiving your review. It is wonderful to see our guests being so happy during their stay with us. The water our guests have access to all day is not purified but is filtered by a clay filter. Thank you a lot for this review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the dorm room after booking online through the website. We got a quick response which was great as we were coming the same day! We were warned via email the dorm rooms were noisy and they were due to the main road outside so slept with ear plugs and an eye mask. The dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Hayley H, Thank you a lot for writing this review. It's nice to hear that you find our hostel comfortable and clean,most important for a hostel. We very much appreciate the sincerity of your review. Of course, all our guests are welcome in both buildings. Our apologies for not being clear enough about that. Have a great rest of...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a good hostel for a short stop. The breakfast was amazing in the morning and staff were super helpful and attentive. The hostel has a great view of the hills surrounding Matagalpa and the hostel is in a reasonable location to the sights of Matagalpa. They have a relaxing balcony and court yard for your enjoyment, plus an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Jamie S, Thank you a lot for this great review. Reading your review it looks like you had a very good time in Matagalpa, using La Buena Onda as your base. You are definitely right about the missing piece of wood in the bathroom ceiling. It's still a mystery for us how that peace of ceiling got lost but...

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Very good value and conveniently located. La Buena Onda is both a hostel and hotel with private rooms. Make sure you confirm which you want. Our room (second floor, back of hotel) was a bit noisy with dogs barking and roosters crowing, but that is fairly typical in Nicaragua. We have stayed at two other hotels in Matagalpa and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krminor
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Krminor, Thank you for this great review. It is good to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately dogs and roosters are unavoidable in Nicaragua. Please let us know in an e-mail what you think we should change according to our breakfast, we are open to any suggestion! Thank you again, and we hope to have you...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The place is a little more expensive than the other, but we didn't encounter any problems when we stayed over. Staff was friendly and accommodating as we arrived unannounced at 11:00 pm (very late in Matagalpa). Rooms are nice, clean and fresh. And there is a rabbit that runs free

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javier C
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Javier C, Thank you for writing this great review. 11pm is a little late indeed, but we always have someone to welcome you, day and night. We hope to see you again anytime soon.

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I actually stayed at Buena Onda for four nights in a private room. I liked it. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Overall, I recommend to use it. You have access to fast wifi and filtered water. It's well located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knocr
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hola Knocr, Thank you for this short but sweet review. We hope to have you back again soon!

netherlands
Reviewed 8 August 2016

You find La Buena Onda 5 minutes walking to the west of the Cathedral. We had a spacieus double room with bathroom and breakfast for $30. From the busstation, when you arrive from Leon or Managua its C$ 30 by taxi ( 2 persons with backpacks).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berendino
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Brendon, Thank you for this review. We are indeed only 3 blocks away from the cathedral. Have a good rest of your trip.

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We are travelling with young kids and found this place to be really friendly. The breakfasts were excellent, location close to good food and the resident bunny super cute. They stored our luggage and provided helpful advice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camjonsam
LaBuenaOnda, General Manager at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hi Camjonsam, Thank you a lot for your review. It's very good to great that you guys enjoyed your stay with us and the info we provide.

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the annex section of the hostel for 3 nights and had two private rooms with a shared bath. I felt secure there and enjoyed the free coffee and water as well as the breakfast daily. There is also a living area to hang out in with a tv and some DVDs if the mood strikes you. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank playa4ever
LaBuenaOnda, Gerente at La Buena Onda, responded to this review

Hello Playa4ever, It is good to hear that you felt secure during your stay with us. This is one of our main objectives. Thank you a lot for this review.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matagalpa
0.4 km away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
31 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
104 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel La Estancia de Don Roberto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
68 reviews
2.1 km away
Hostal Ulap Yasica
Hostal Ulap Yasica
#2 of 25 in Matagalpa
69 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Hermosa
Hotel Villa Hermosa
#4 of 25 in Matagalpa
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to La Buena Onda, Matagalpa's first Hostel! Use us as a base to explore the beautiful city of Matagalpa and it's surrounding mountains and coffee farms, or just come relax with us and enjoy some amazing coffee and food from our cafe. Come swing in a hammock in our patio or on our balcony, take advantage of our free internet, cable TV or a DVD, or grab a book from our extensive library. We have dormitories and private rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Buena Onda

Address: Matagalpa 61000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Price Range: ₹ 1,080 - ₹ 2,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Buena Onda staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Buena Onda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room D was very nice and included breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles KristiK616, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The double room D was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles berendino, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a family it was nice to be on the first floor close to the common space.”
 of 5 bubbles scheidrews, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Know what you are getting before you book. Private rooms are the "hotel" category.”
 of 5 bubbles jcrew7, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ask for a room in the first floor ?”
 of 5 bubbles jerome_53000, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay