We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location on the beach & ideal for surfing. Place feel more like a backpacker than a $100 US for one night. The room was spacious but the shower is not worth what we paid for. Shower & toilet smell like sewage & hot water does not flow. Mixed emotions about the place as some of the staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddy742015
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Worst place i have stayed! We have been travelling for the last three months staying in budget accommodation in india and sri lanka and thought we would splash out on this place for a Christmas treat. BIG MISTAKE. We stayed in apparently the 'best room' at £85 a night and it was dirtier than any of the budget places we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hollytree3
JohnyGOODSTORY, Управляющий at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

First of all thank you for your review. Definitely it will be useful for us. We gonna pay more attention to room cleaning and client service. We are very sorry that our price was too high by your opinion, but you should understand that price consists not only of quality of rooms and bathrooms. It's also includes other very important...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Been traveling around India for 2 1/2 month so we was use to some grotty bathrooms but this place tops the lot The shower was no more than a drip!! We have paid 8th of the price in Sri lanka and got better standards. we was paying 16000 Sri Lanka ruppes per night joke!! There was a real cold atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
JohnyGOODSTORY, Управляющий at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

First of all thank you for your review. Definitely it will be useful for us. We gonna pay more attention to room cleaning and client service. We are very sorry that our price was too high by your opinion, but you should understand that price consists not only of quality of rooms and bathrooms. It's also includes other very important...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Nice sun beds, good beach bar with amazing mango/ maracuya juice. One of the western type places in Weligama. There are rooms, pool, restaurant inside. The atmosphere is cool. The most of the guests are 20+

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
JohnyGOODSTORY, Владелец at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Alex, thank you so much for coming to GoodStory place. The atmosphere is really important for us and I am glad you liked it. You are always welcome and we will be happy to see you here once again!

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

This is not the hotels fault but Weligama beach is full of rubbish plastic bag's and the water is generally dirty from local pollution. When you're walking around in the water you're constantly hitting rubbish on the seabed, it's such a shame. You only have to drive to neighbouring beaches to get clearwater and nice clean beaches

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
JohnyGOODSTORY, Управляющий at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Andrew, thank you for leaving a review and sorry for the inconvenience you faced. We did had a period when there were not much waves. That is why there was a lot of trash in the ocean. However, now in Weligama we have a good waves and much less trash. We are doing anything to make the beach clean. Ecological...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Visited this place already twice this year (July and October). This is the Hotel + Surf camp + Restaurant area. This is the great place to start surf, meet interesting people, travel and relax. The staff is so friendly and can help you to solve any problem. Surf program and spot is very good for beginners. You can practice twice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zadorskaya
JohnyGOODSTORY, Управляющий at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! You are always welcome in our place and we will be really happy to see returning to us guests!

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We came for one night and stayed for two more nights. Such a great location, friendly staff and bar by the beach. Rooms are clean, food in restaurant delicious, nice selection of drinks at the beach bar. Strongly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iwona Z
JohnyGOODSTORY, Владелец at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Dear Iwona ! Thank you for such a great comment and time, that you spend in our hotel! We really apriciate that! Hope to see you again, with all of your friends! With best wishes, Good Story team!

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Actually it was my second time at Good Story Place, and I'm sure not the last one. As for me, it is one of the best places on the south coast of Sri Lanka due to many advantages. The hotel has perfect location, it is situated directly on the ocean side, in front of beach break, which is perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aliautdinova
JohnyGOODSTORY, Управляющий at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are really glad you liked the place! GoodStory is a big family and you are always welcome here! We will be glad to see you here once again!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Such friendly and welcoming people that really make you feel at home. Nothing is too much effort for them. Great location and right on the beach. really good value for money and cheap drinks. The restaurant is modern and has a decent menu with something for everyone. Lots of friendly people to chat too and have a good time with.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hawagner
JohnyGOODSTORY, Владелец at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Hawagner! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for that kind words, waiting for you again ! Will try to do all the best ! Good Story team!

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice location. Feel almost on sea if stay on Bangalow room. As beach is private we felt very comfortable there. Even can walk along few meters on sea which is an unforgetting experience. One of best places for Surfing. Well worth for the payment. We were delighted..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SahanMarasinghe
JohnyGOODSTORY, Управляющий at GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort), responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are really glad you liked GoodStory and we invite you back to us! You are always welcome!

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
1.0 km away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
104 reviews
0.3 km away
We Escape
We Escape
#7 of 12 in Weligama
27 reviews
2.4 km away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
192 reviews
3.5 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
328 reviews
4.9 km away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 8 in Mirissa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Good Story Hotel is located in the south of the island, right on the beach in the village of "Weligama." This is one of the best places in the world for learning to surf. Sandy bottom and not fast waves provide security for beginners. Its also popular among longboarders for long right and lelt rides . In a 10-minute drive away there are good reef spots such as Mirissa, Matara, Cabalana, Plantation and Lazy Left. The variety of waves suitable for both beginners and advanced surfers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)

Address: 484, New Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: ₹ 2,425 - ₹ 7,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best if you can get an upper floor room”
 of 5 bubbles piyuminr, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Most of the rooms are not ON the beach but rather near the beach (only 20 meters or so). most of the rooms have view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 980idana, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Book away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles Blueskies240989, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask for a bungalow!”
  • view just from the room balcony
 of 5 bubbles dmitryp849, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Choose the surflanka apartments or hotel i can´t remember but it´s right next to plantation surf spot.”
 of 5 bubbles Henni85, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5