We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amara Ocean Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amara Ocean Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Amara Ocean Resort
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel location is separate from hotel zone, which is perfect for quiet, peaceful. The Bagalo are very nice with ocean view for each one. The meals are wonderful. Very beautiful beach, committed staffs who are very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweetpig98
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear sweetpig98, Very sweet of you and thank you so much for your kind message. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our pristine environment and had a wonderful stay with us. We shall definitely enhance our services to provide better quality standard and preserve our ambiance. We look forward to having an opportunity to serving you again soon...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've read through some of the other reviews, and I have to say that I really disagree with the majority of the negative points that people have stated here (so much that I will attempt to rebut them where I can in this review). I stayed at AOR for three glorious nights, and I am convinced that people who had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin M
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear Martin M, We highly appreciate your very kind comments and thank you so much for taking your precious time in putting up a great review. All these important facts that you mentioned shows how much you had enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing holiday at AOR. Besides, the positive points, we definitely will try to amend the negative points to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For the third time we have come to Amara Ocean Resort! And seriously it is still paradise on earth! We love the beautiful quiet beach, we love the ocean front houses with a superb bed and great decoration + a luxurious bathroom, we love the delicious breakfeast with a little guy who makes great runny scrambled eggs, the plentiful buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamitanl
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear mamitani, Thank you very much for letting us know that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable relaxing stay at Amara. I shall convey your kind message to our little cook who made your delicious scrambled eggs the way you liked it and had a delightful breakfast. Also same to all the staff, your compliments shall be contributed. We...

Weston CT
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very beautiful place, and is probably on the most beautiful stretch of beach in Ngapali. But there is a definite downside to staying here. While the rooms and grounds are gorgeous, we felt it was not a great value for the price. Here's why. The hotel is all by itself down a very bumpy dirt road that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kassie w
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear kassie w, We are delighted to know that you highly appreciated the resort's accommodation and the comfort provided. We shall take note of the inconveniences which has caused and occurred during your stay. We assure you that all the services will be improved and hope to have you here again in the near future. Thanking you in anticipation. Kindest...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The setting is beautiful. Fantastic villas on a wonderful beach. A bit isolated but that meant very few people using the beach, selling things etc. The BIG disappointment was the food. Breakfast very good but lunch and dinner very ordinary and completely the wrong price. Try the beach shack 5 minutes walk from the hotel (turn right on the beach)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank friendsonholiday50
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this is by far the most beautiful place i have ever been to and i've seen more than 30 countreis.The setting and the beach are superb. the hotel has nice big rooms, quite above average for the underdeveloped country. The only reason i did not give five star is because the food is horrendous. The problem is they try to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas R
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nicolas R. , We are delighted to receive your comments and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know that you had a wonderful experience besides the culinary taste that you disagreed which we would definitely take attention for certain alteration that we need to do so. Most grateful for your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We arrived at the Amara having been five days cruising on the Ananda from Mandalay to Bagan where we had experienced wonderful cuisine ,superlative service and extremely comfortable accommodation. We were hoping for more of the same when we arrived at the Amara for the beach section of the holiday. We were to be sorely disappointed. First the positives-the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william h
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. William H. , We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the AOR. Would like to thank you for the comments and suggestions that we will gladly take attention for our betterment. Much appreciated. M.H. / Gm

Reviewed 20 December 2016

This resort could potentially be the best hidden gem in Asia, however, the management keeps it from truly being a diamond in the rough. This hotel was on one of the most pristine and private beaches I've seen, we had our own beachfront villa. However, there were rodent holes throughout the property. Additionally, this hotel was ridiculously expensive. Considering it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eskimo_expat
aorngapali, Director of Sales at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Seasonal Greetings from Amara Ocean Resort, Ngapali! First of all, thank you very much for taking time to share about us especially atmoshpehere and your excellent experiences in some ponts and sorry to hearing about few points which make you un-happy. All in all, we would like to say thank you very for choosing us and we wish...

Switzerland
Reviewed 11 December 2016

After a ten days roundtrip in Myanmar we stayed for 4 days in the Amara Ocean Resort. The hotel, the service, the employees and the environment exceeded our expectations by far. From the very first minute we felt very warm welcome by the senior receptionist (her name is Ei Ei). She had a very competent and professinal behaviour with good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter_Senta
aorngapali, Director of Sales at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Peter_Senta, Greetings from Amara Ocean Resort! First and foremost, thank you very much for taking time and writing the beautiful comments of all single points during your stay. Your happiness flew into us while we read your experiences, we would much appreciate for sharing here on this page. We are so glad that you had a very perfect...

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

It is absolutely beautiful. So lovely and remote. The rooms are gorgeous and the waves and sea lovely - we loved swimming in the sea. The staff could not do more to help. A real gem location. Having traveled around Myanmar for two weeks the prices in the hotel did seem high for drinks and for food and it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonjane_11
aorngapali, Director of Sales at Amara Ocean Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Alison Jane, Greetings from Amara Ocean Resort, Ngapali! First and foremost, thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences about our resort, services and atmosphere. Sounds as you had a very splendid time during your stayed with us. Please do let us know your next travel date in mind that we would like to keep...

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
2.0 km away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
7.3 km away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
9.1 km away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 17 in Ngapali
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
6.5 km away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
10.3 km away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#8 of 17 in Ngapali
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amara Ocean Resort offers an exceptional stay for all guests by sharing the local culture while preserving the pristine environment. Carefully integrated within its nearby villages, this is the perfect hideaway at one of the most beautiful places at Ngapali beach. ACCOMMODATION: The resort features 28 bungalows including two twin bungalows (Duplex Bungalow), purposely built all by hand in wood to provide unique accommodation this is in harmony with its surrounding, the beach, the many palm trees on the white sand beach and its nearby villages. The bungalows cater up to 70 square meter inside and 40 square meter private terrace overlooking the seaside. ACTIVITIES: Mountain hiking is available which is nearby the Resort of Gaut Mountain. Snorkeling is available at the resort as well as fishing with wooden boat to the Elephant Bay which will take about 55 minutes from the Resort to the fishing village. TOURS: Sightseeing to the villages and Long beach of Ngapali, visiting to the Three Pagodas, scuba diving is available on the other side of Guat Ward. Sunrise up trip at Nandaw Pagoda, riding hot air balloon is available during your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amara Ocean Resort

Address: Gaut Village, Ngapali 120401, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Price Range: ₹ 14,820 - ₹ 32,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Amara Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ngapali
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ngapali
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ngapali
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ngapali
#8 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amara Ocean Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Billericay, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Amara Ocean Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beach front bungalow”
 of 5 bubbles Eskimo_expat , 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The teak chalets are either beach front or one row back, but all chalets have views over the beach to the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles BAugur, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a 'second row' villa - cheaper but with great sea views & direct beach access - no real need to spend extra to be 'first row'!”
 of 5 bubbles OneGirlAndHerDog, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are separate units and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 579geoffreyw, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“sea view is the best”
 of 5 bubbles mmguy87, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5