We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I fell in love with the inn the second I walked in the door. Beautifully decorated with twinkle lights, shells, and various tapestries and wood carvings. I loved how it felt like a home and not a sterile motel/hotel. We stayed in room 5 which has it's own entrance and exit. I look forward to a return visit. Bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cat C
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us!:) Kara

Pierre, South Dakota
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Though this place appears to be quaint and charming, it is a wreck! Maintenance is practically non-existent. If something is not working when you arrive or goes out while you are there, don't plan on seeing it fixed anytime soon (ie: tv, cable, plumbing, etc). Some rooms often have a foul smell (mold or sewer gas?). Internet is weak. And,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R L
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

The FlatIron Inn is a historic sandstone building, built in 1911, over 105 years ago! It has been completely refurbished; new plumbing, electric, heat, most upper level windows, new parking, new sidewalks, new courtyard, new fencing, new flooring, new paint, furniture, furnishings, etc... Although the property is refurbished, it is not a contemporary, cookie cutter hotel. In each of our...

Marshall, Texas
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

You may wish to skip this place. No one was at the property when we tried to check in. I had to call and was told they would be there in a few minutes but was actually 20. We were then told that they had not cleaned the room we reserved because they "just didn't get around to it. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mike r
RoadKarma, Manager at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

The situation of this matter was a little exaggerated, in my opinion. A phone call earlier that day was received stating they may or may not make it to Hot Springs, but wanted to see if we had availability just in case. The customer was told yes, we did had availability but nothing was confirmed because they were unsure whether...

vöcklamarkt
Reviewed 1 September 2015

First of all, the garden is pretty, and many photos are seen of it, but guests are not allowed! 1. My room/suite was large enough, but air conditioning only in the bedroom. The kitchen/living room and bath had no air conditioning, and it was not possible to exist in those rooms. 2. Extremely poor condition of the room. I opened...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lynda w
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

The FlatIron Inn is a historic sandstone building, built in 1911, over 105 years ago! The property has been completely refurbished; new plumbing, electric, heat, new upper level windows, new parking, new sidewalks, new courtyard, new fencing, new flooring, new paint, furniture, furnishings, etc... Although the property is refurbished, it is not a contemporary, cookie cutter hotel. Being a historic...

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Be prepared to stay on your own. There is no one on the premises. It was difficult to enter the building. And find the right door that was open. Make sure you understand this before you book this hotel. On the bright side the hotel is clean reasonably priced, in a good location, & a historic 1907 building. Everything is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECWashington
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

We are just a phone call away! 1-877-548-2822 call or 605-890-1321 *text Our housekeeping is on site typically each day, 6 days a week. There is a card in each room with housekeeping contact # as well as management contact # (as above). We are a small Inn and are just a phone call away! (not a bed and breakfast)

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Nice historic building with lots of potential but in need of maintenance and upgrades starting with the handle on the entrance door which is about to fall off and the exterior lights that are broken. After you get by that the interior is quite dated and in need of general maintenance (shower was moldy, bathroom ceiling was peeling, sink did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
RoadKarma, Manager at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

The FlatIron Inn is a historic sandstone building, built in 1911, over 105 years ago! It has been completely refurbished; new plumbing, electric, heat, most upper level windows, new parking, new sidewalks, new courtyard, new fencing, new flooring, new paint, furniture, furnishings, etc... We were notified by our housekeeping regarding maintenance issues in reference to the above comment, unfortunately this...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

We had room 1 and loved it. Very roomy unit and great decor. The apartment was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Comfy beds. Quiet at night. Only negative is location is not really near anything. We had a quiet walk in the evening but you need a car there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are just down the street from several restaurants; Bourbon County, JP's dining, Sunshine's Coffee Shop, Gus' Ice Cream, China Buffet, The Vault, Earth Goods, with many retail shops in between. It's about a 15 minute walk from the FlatIron to Earth Goods;) *A few may not have been open during this...

Draper, Utah
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We had a wonderful experience. The owner, Kara, helped us book at the last minute. We were lucky and excited to snag a room! We stayed in Suite #7 which used to be an actual coffee shop. It's warm, inviting and very cozy. We loved it!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walela64
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return!:) Kara

Sioux Falls
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We have stayed at two Hagen Properties in the last year and have not been let down at all. Our first stay was July 2014, yes I am ashamed it took until now to post this. We stay at The Casa house. It was perfect for our family of four. It had everything you needed. Like moving into a house,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SouthDakotaLee
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and look forward to your return!!! Kara

Reviewed 19 December 2014

This inn was really quaint, rustic, and full of charm. Town is quiet and really nice, hope to explore some more one day. Stayed 3 nights on the last leg of my "Great American Road Trip" here, and it was the perfect ending to a whirlwind tour of the west (rockies, tetons, yellowstone, mt rushmore and the badlands). Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nudels67
RoadKarma, Owner at FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your business! Hope to see you again sometime:)

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
1.6 km away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
233 reviews
1.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
1.9 km away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
2.1 km away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
170 reviews
0.6 km away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#8 of 9 in Hot Springs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn is 1 hour away from ALL the best attractions the Black Hills of South Dakota has to offer and is now open year 'round! Make us your home base for your vacation! The FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn is beautifully decorated with it's own unique style for each Suite. The FlatIron was built in 1911 and has been renovated with a unique European Flair. There are 4 Guest Suites in the building each with full kitchens and private baths. We also have 2 Massage Therapists on the main level and a Yoga Studio! Make the FlatIron Inn your Black Hills Destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn

Address: 745 N River St, Hot Springs, SD 57747-1412
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Price Range: ₹ 2,629 - ₹ 9,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Flatiron Hotel Hot Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from FlatIron Historic Sandstone Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 has it's own entrance”
 of 5 bubbles 790catc, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“not sure there is a good room”
 of 5 bubbles lyndaw506, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The master suite is beautiful. Or if you are wanting to rent a whole house, the guest house is a great place for a number of people to stay together under one roof, comfortably.”
 of 5 bubbles OlawaR, 13 Apr 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in Suite number 1. It has 2 big bedrooms and one bathroom. The couch also doubles as a sleeper sofa so you could sleep 6 here. The balcony is a big extra!!”
 of 5 bubbles kathysanford1, 25 Feb 2013 | Read review
“The web-site was pretty accurate as to what the rooms look like--maybe a little more wear and tear. I liked the historic renovation. No noise problem and the air conditioning worked.”
 of 5 bubbles nativedakotan, 8 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5