We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,430: English reviews
Cool, California
Reviewed 18 November 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave... classy! Spend the money for an oceanview tower room. Amazing beds, beautiful views, wonderful staff! Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed hanging out on the back patio.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nannielle
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. Our credo for the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is “First Lady, First Class” and we’re happy to hear that our guests are experiencing this first-hand. From our Heavenly beds, beautiful views of Waikiki Beach and associates filled with the Aloha spirit, we strive to help our guests create Moana memories they...

Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewed 16 November 2012

First off, let me say that our bed was the most comfortable bed the wife and I have ever slept in. Without a doubt. Period. We stayed in room 232 and had heard that these 'city-facing' rooms could make sleeping at night an issue due to the street noise. We were overlooking the front of the hotel, right where everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NHAnimator
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for being our guest and sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on your new life together as a married couple! So pleased to know you’ve enjoyed the treats provided in celebration of your honeymoon. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Heavenly beds and received a restful sleep each evening. The beachhouse at the moana...

arnold, md
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We are staying here for our honeymoon. I booked an oceanfront room...which is vey small but the views are beautiful. The decor is meh, but the bed is very comfortable. My major complaint is the service. It has been horrible. We sat at the pool for 1 hour and no one came to ask if we would like to order...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank poolegrl
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear that you have loved the breathtaking views. It is regrettable to hear of your concerns pertaining to the service provided while dining at the Beach Bar. Our Beach Bar and Guest Services managers have advised our office that messages were left for you so that we could follow-up immediately. Should...

Rayne, Louisiana
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My husband and I were there November 5-10. Our arrival was perfect, we received lei's, there was water and tea to accommodate us. The feel of Hawaii was definitely in everyone that helped us. The first 3 nights we stayed in the Diamond Wing Oceanfront room, it was lovely! Then 2 nights we switched to the Tower Partial Ocean room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara D
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Barbara, Mahalo for your review. We’re delighted to hear you had such a “great” stay! From our lei greeting to our heavenly beds and amazing dining options, it’s hard not to enjoy your stay at the Moana Surfrider. We hope to welcome you back to the “First Lady of Waikiki” on your next visit to Hawai’i. Mahalo!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights, overall very pleased, but it didn't start off too well. Upon check-in, we were given a city view room, which is what we booked. Do not book a city view room because they are loud (historic building, old windows), we thought the windows were open but they were closed, and the street...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank itrvl4work
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that your booked category did not meet your needs, but am very happy to hear that Keola at the Front Desk was able to arrange a room move the next morning. Here at the Moana Surfrider, we strive to ensure we provide services and amenities that...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

I love this restored hotel. The lobby kept its old world Hawaiian feel and banyan tree. Tower rooms have generic Westin decor but are huge, all have balcony and are quiet. The old wing is restored and rooms are decorated in traditional Hawaiian style but rooms are small and so is bathroom. So that's the trade off. The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luvtosafari
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. Yes, we have been experiencing extremely high occupancies since summer, which has continued into the fall. We are so pleased that the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is such a favorite of many of our guests. Thank you for your comment pertaining to our Front Desk....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Good: A grand old hotel on Waikiki Beach. What more can you say? The common spaces in this hotel are everything you expect from an historic property like this. It's decorated in style and built to impress. It's just a gorgeous place to be. Breakfast on the veranda looking out over the Pacific is one of those things you...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Big B
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Big, Mahalo for being our guest and for taking the time to detail your stay with us. We are disappointed to hear of your feedback regarding our check-in process and thoughts on the Banyan Courtyard entertainment. We receive so many compliments about our daily entertainment, so am sorry that you had not enjoyed a similar experience. Your candid feedback...

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 6 November 2012

It's the historic grand dame of Waikiki and I'm glad I got a chance to stay here, but I'm not sure I would stay here again. The location is outstanding - smack dab in the center of everything, beachfront with convenience being a great asset. You are welcomed by the bell staff with a fresh lei. The common areas of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank OpEd
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here on our honeymoon trip to Hawaii. Hotel is old, very classy, and has a great lobby and pool area. Located right on Waikiki Beach, with a great view of Diamond Head. Easy walk to everything on the beach front. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkb01
los angeles
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Let me start by saying, I love this hotel. The location, the views, the old Hawaii feel. We have been staying here for 11 years! Unfortunately, since it became a "Westin", their customer service leaves LOTS to be desired. Check-in... always busy and being a gold SPG didn't mean anything, no one at the desk. We use to have some...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank minimikey

3,677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (710)
Viewed
View from Room (292)
Viewed
Dining (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (427)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,511 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
2,350 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: ₹ 23,021 - ₹ 45,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1465 partial view of the ocean, however can be loud due to the Duke restaurant live bands every night. We like music so did not mind”
 of 5 bubbles ssengthavy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get an oceanview if you want it to be extra special”
 of 5 bubbles 234paulap, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view on the side away from the Outrigger Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles SDLHK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A little bit more for ocean view, but it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles noncorteccia, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think most of the rooms here would be more than acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterYensen, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay