We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,624: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Overall the experience at this resort was best in class. So many neat touches that creat a luxury feel. Don't let post about Japanese weddings sway you. .... they are somewhat entertaining yet not in the way. The beach view was classic and the lounging areas in the outside porch and dining areas are spot on. For a first timer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank praise36
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing with us and for being our guest. Our company credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we pride ourselves in having first class service. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your “experience…was best in class.” There are so many charming aspects of the Moana Surfrider that...

California
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel provides excellent service. From the morning buffet breakfast, to the bar near the pool to the spa services this hotel provides top notch service. My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights and 7 days for her 50th birthday and from the moment we arrived we experienced what we call is our BEST HAWAII VACATION. Two hours...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johncgoldrush
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” was your “best Hawai’i vacation!” Our company credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are overjoyed to hear you were treated like royalty. As you mentioned, the Moana Lani Spa is the only beachfront spa...

Hawthorne, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 September 2013

some rooms, like ours had a less than great view, BUT this place reeks of class. top shelf service and attention. location is a bit congested (downtown honolulu (waikiki)) but a great great place. the beach bar has very good pub like food and the bar itself is fun. good attractions close by, like dukes, and a great view of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ken and karen r
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your inquiry and for being our guest. As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and continue to convey a sense of old world charm in this modern day in age. We are located directly on Waikiki Beach with the ocean’s edge just a few steps from the hotel lobby. Many local attractions...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 3 September 2013

You'll like EVERYTHING! Go just for the cocktails in the Banyon Courtyard. Great location~! Premier facility. The perfect stopover on your way to Kauai. Excellent hotel dining. Service and all Hotel amenities are first rate. No disappointments here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RCMills05
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, So happy to hear you enjoyed the Beach Bar nestled underneath our iconic banyan tree. Our Banyan Courtyard has been a treasured spot for entertainers and visitors for over a hundred years and it is no wonder why. With shade from the canopy of leaves above and fresh ocean breezes, the ambiance and overall character is unparalleled. We offer...

South Jersey, NJ
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Food was really good and well prepared for breakfast. Don't miss the afternoon tea, it was relaxing and fun. The accommodations were very well kept and the room was very large. We had a pool and ocean view. The one negative is the chair situation for the beach. I have been to many beach resort areas and I can not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevins2ndMom
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you mentioned, we offer a daily Afternoon Tea service where guests can enjoy fine teas and pastries and relish in the elegant surroundings. Our tea service has been a tradition...

Santa Rosa
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was very small but quaint... quiet... but the nightlife was great! the grounds were to die for and the view... what can I say about the view... breathtaking!!! being able to have a cup of coffee on the beach, then swim with turtles... doesn't get any better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelley M
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and offer historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing that are most representative of “old Hawai’i.” Our historical guestrooms are intimately sized...

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is very central and closely located to shops. It's in the heart of Waikiki beach, the hotel is located on the beach. Service was great, rooms where very clean. The pool area is a bit small but with the beach right at our door step you don't need the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jouj77
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. As you know, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with many great shops and restaurants on one side of the hotel and Waikiki Beach on the other. The Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium are both about a mile away and Diamond Head Crater is only...

Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 4 days at the Surfrider and it is a grand old hotel, the contrast of walking out the back onto the beach and walking out the front is amazing! The front leads to 24 hour non stop pace of traffic both vehicle and foot, the world market and more shops than can be imagined. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drumming333
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we try to remain a calming oasis amongst our surroundings. As you mentioned, bustling Kalakaua Avenue is on one side of “The First Lady of Waikiki” while the calming waters of Waikiki are on the other. Many shops and restaurants are...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My mum and I stayed there in 2008 as part of our World Trip. As soon as we arrived we were treated like royalty. We were welcomed into the Hotel with beautiful Leis and refreshing drinks. The Hotel room was absolutely immaculate, and the view was spectacular overlooking the beach and the pool. The bed was so comfy is was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steph W
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The customer service was amazing and the hotel was beautiful. The ocean view rooms were stunning and very large with the most comforting bed ever! You can also rent out beach chairs on the prime beach location which can get very crowded. They also have a lovely terrace that I ate breakfast every morning while over looking the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmac791
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for sharing with us. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and we are pleased to hear you experienced amazing service. As you mentioned, we offer daily beach umbrella rentals where guests can...

3,901 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3341)
Viewed
View from Room (305)
Viewed
Room/Suite (447)
Viewed
Dining (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (758)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (279)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1329)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,731 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: ₹ 21,728 - ₹ 40,903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
87 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (87)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Diamond Ocean View room we have is fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles V311BFjackw, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Unless you want access to the beach club and are going to use it, go in the tower wing”
 of 5 bubbles A_R0wley, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“City view can be loud but not outrageous”
 of 5 bubbles 129vut, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Free wifi for reward members”
 of 5 bubbles wendycU6320SB, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose Diamond Head side. The other side looks directly at Outrigger/city. Afterall you're in Waikiki for the beach views.”
 of 5 bubbles NMxxxxx, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5